Art Book Review, Color & Light by James Gurney - review Jason Morgan Wildlife Art

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 10, 2015
  • Thursday book review - Color & Light by James Gurney (the Dinotopia artist) - review by Jason Morgan Wildlife Art
    James has a great blog here - gurneyjourney.blogspot.co.uk/
    Find me HERE -
    Wildlife art FACEBOOK - jason.morgan.9231
    My - how to paint fur and animals - RU-clip Channel - ru-clip.com/user/wildlifeartjm
    Learn to paint wildlife - www.jasonmorgan.co.uk
    Wildlife art gallery - www.onlineartdemos.co.uk
    My latest how to paint fur art video - ru-clip.com/video/YAU-WnG-9gw/video.html
    -~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
    Please watch: "Pastel Pencil Lesson - Wolf part 4"
    ru-clip.com/video/IwzcYuxg4EY/video.html
    -~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
  • Howto & StyleHowto & Style

Comments • 65

  • 🧕🏽₲ɾɑղԵ
    🧕🏽₲ɾɑղԵ 7 days ago

    What's your Facebook?

  • ancient child
    ancient child 15 days ago

    I love how dinotopia mixes the looks of different ages and cultures.

  • KingFluffs
    KingFluffs 19 days ago

    Would you say it was useful for digital art too?

  • daisy3690
    daisy3690 Month ago

    TY!

  • Martin Vestergaard Portraits

    Nice presentation thx

  • ERIS
    ERIS 3 months ago

    Thank you!

  • Adam Flynn
    Adam Flynn 3 months ago

    I’m very excited about getting it in the mail. Will be a great reference for visual effects as well. Thanks so much for the review

  • Diana Augustine
    Diana Augustine 10 months ago +2

    I just ordered mine! I'm so excited! I graduated art school 6 months ago and while I did learn and grow a lot in school, I just felt like something was missing from my art education. I would look at plein air paintings in galleries and wonder why their lighting looked so much better than mine. I'm sure this book will be of great assistance in that department. Thanks for the review!

  • Pieps
    Pieps 11 months ago

    This is a great review, thank you for sharing! This book is added to my gift-list now :)

  • Jason Fella
    Jason Fella Year ago +1

    I bought this book a few years ago, and was surprisingly disappointed in it. It got crazy good reviews on amazon, so it seemed like a no-brainer, but I found it very lacking in practical information that I could actually use. Now, this was when I first started painting, so maybe I wasn't "ready" for the info yet. I should give it another look, but it seems like I've gotten much better info from other sources over the years.

  • SketchArtByMarc
    SketchArtByMarc Year ago

    Bought the book. Glad I did! Great video / review 👌

  • Virginia R Parker

    Thank you so much for your personal observations while reviewing these art books. I will read them with better understanding. I appreciate you.

  • oana
    oana Year ago

    I simply love your accent and your voice! I ordered the book and I will have it next week! Thank you for this presentation! 😚

  • The Orenji VoN
    The Orenji VoN Year ago

    What a great video 🌠🌟.

  • Lydia Szubert's Atelier

    I''m sold, I literally just brought it now thanks to you haha

  • Mary Algar
    Mary Algar Year ago

    What a wonderful book review Jason. When you said if you could only keep one book, this would be it - that summed it up nicely. So I gather it is not a lot of scientific mumble jumble - written so a non-physics person can understand.

  • GarrisonFall
    GarrisonFall Year ago

    Thanks for doing this video. It is really hard to buy books without having a chance to skim through and see if they are 'fit for purpose'; this type of review does that and really well.

  • Watch it
    Watch it Year ago

    Gimmie some caustics and Sub Suface Scatter info too pls I'm into still lifes, well I guess you can't have everything :D. Just what I was looking for and inspirational aswell from the images, stunning artworks. Each and every book review including your own is superb and alot of the Authors/Artists are new to me. Love em thx Jason.

  • Zatchham
    Zatchham Year ago

    Thanks for showing what is inside the book and what artist level it is best used for. I've been wanting to do concept art my whole life ever since my teachers complimented me on having a knack for character design. However, I've been stuck on environments and color for the longest time and this might be the book that will push me in the right direction for color usage. Just ordered it and now I can't wait to read it!

  • Tina A Stoffel Arts
    Tina A Stoffel Arts 2 years ago

    Thanks for sharing this valuable information. It's very helpful since I'm studying color and light in depth.

  • Golden Lab Studio
    Golden Lab Studio 2 years ago

    Thank you so much for introducing me to this book.

  • TrOuTster5
    TrOuTster5 2 years ago

    I just ordered this. Looking forward to rec. it.

  • bibi bibi
    bibi bibi 2 years ago

    I have the book and it's a delight of information ❤ love your review

  • Kim Bernard
    Kim Bernard 2 years ago

    Great review. Already added to my shopping cart. Can't wait!

  • VeggeMight
    VeggeMight 2 years ago

    You should think about adding an affiliate link to these books on your videos after your recommendation i bought them both. i'm sorry if you do have it somewhere and i missed it.

  • Caroline Easthope
    Caroline Easthope 2 years ago

    Hi Jason love your channel. Just wondering if you could recommend a book about colour and how to start off in not just pastel pencils but watercolour as well. Thank you

  • Maria Rev
    Maria Rev 3 years ago

    This is a great review Jason. I was skeptical about this book because realism isn't necessarily my desired style, but I've seen how this book is going to be a great asset to any artist, regardless of the style they work in. I'm going to see if I can get myself a copy when I can afford to. I was sold on the book half-way through your review. Just being able to see inside it showed me how good it was, but your added commentary just hit the nail on the head.

  • Tz Si
    Tz Si 3 years ago

    Would you recommend it to any digital artist?

    • Indy Denys
      Indy Denys 3 years ago +2

      Yes! This book is not only for painters but to understand how colour and light works, he also goes into details about blur and focus etc!

  • MaZEEZaM
    MaZEEZaM 3 years ago

    Another great review, will be a buy for me along with the previous book on drawing realism of non existent creatures. New subscriber 😊

  • lyn sherwood
    lyn sherwood 3 years ago

    Fab review. I must get this one sounds awesome. 😊

  • Joanne Rigutto
    Joanne Rigutto 3 years ago

    Great review. I've added this book to my list over at Amazon.

  • Zab Nilsson
    Zab Nilsson 3 years ago

    I was given this book as a pdf (not commenting on the legal aspect of that ;) ) and it was a light bulb moment for me. The first book I found that actually gave me understanding rather than step-by-step images that was either below my level or impossible for me to copy...
    I skimmed through the pdf, decided I wanted that book on paper and ordered it (as well as his other about painting from imagination) a couple of days later. I'm so happy I learnt about it. I definetly recommend it to anyone. Definetly worth the money. If I ever lose it I will likely buy it again.
    Thank you for your review :)

  • Wendi Smith
    Wendi Smith 3 years ago

    Hi Jason, thank you so much for reviewing art tutoring books. I have wasted money on many books. This is very helpful. please continue reviews. Thank you, Wendi :-)

  • lovelydovely
    lovelydovely 3 years ago

    Is this book helpful even if your medium isn't paint?

    • Maria Rev
      Maria Rev 3 years ago

      I would think that it would be useful for any coloured medium. Whether that be pastels, coloured pencils, inktense, or digital art. I don't know how well it would apply to black and white though.

  • dtrigs108
    dtrigs108 3 years ago

    finally a honest review of the book. The books been on my list but i wasn't sure.This is a major artist insight book

  • tokyorosa
    tokyorosa 3 years ago +1

    Excellent review! I also follow James Gurney's blog so I knew about the book, but I hesitated to order it until I watched your review. Thanks!

  • bubanner
    bubanner 3 years ago

    wow i hav dis book , didnt get a chance to read it.......n now i will.

  • KR Campbell
    KR Campbell 4 years ago

    Thank you so much Jason. I really enjoy all your videos and these book reviews are great.

  • Amy Boyer
    Amy Boyer 4 years ago

    Just ordered it based on what I saw in your review. Thanks for showing it. P.S. I was pleasantly surprised by the reasonable price on Amazon - so for others, you may be able to buy it sooner than you think. :)

  • Julie Allan
    Julie Allan 4 years ago

    I think I'll be ordering this book very soon! Thankyou so much for sharing it Jason...I just spent a pleasant hour checking out James Gurneys blog and a number of his videos on how he made Dinotopia. I am just floored by the work he put into those books... all the little models he built to get scenes, anatomy and lighting correct. Just wow!!

  • Pamela Ruddy
    Pamela Ruddy 4 years ago

    It's my favourite art book too Jason, and the first I recommend to anybody! I clearly have your good taste ;) Now to spend more time getting my art skills up to par.

  • Flashbackpat
    Flashbackpat 4 years ago +1

    Great review. There are sooooooooooo many art books out there a beginner doesn't know, well, where to begin! Thank you for helping us out Jason Morgan. I look forward to next week.

  • Elise Wong Creations
    Elise Wong Creations 4 years ago +1

    Thanks so much Jason! I knew this one would be a good one. My friend studies arts and I asked him if he had any tips for me, he recommended this book and Andrew Loomis' Head & Hands because he works more on humans and on digital medium. I gotta keep a lookout this year end book sale. Cross my fingers they have it! But learning the skeletal and muscular structure is still important to know how and where the light hits and where the shadows begin :( Still got so much to learn!!!! D:

  • Nancy Allen
    Nancy Allen 4 years ago +1

    Great review! Thanks very much. I just ordered it and it's a very good price.

  • Alice Clark
    Alice Clark 4 years ago +1

    I love his work! TFS Alice

  • Karen Malmgren
    Karen Malmgren 4 years ago +14

    Please do more of these book reviews. This was great.

  • Valeria Galindo
    Valeria Galindo 4 years ago +3

    Great review your explanation of the book is just superb! thanks so much, I want to buy this book

  • imperialdoctor
    imperialdoctor 4 years ago +2

    And best of all, it's less than £12 on Amazon in paperback. Can't go wrong really. And if you're saying it's good Jason, then it must be. Consider it bought. :)

  • MissNausicaa87
    MissNausicaa87 4 years ago +2

    Great review, I was thinking about buying this book, but I think it's maybe not the best for the stage that I am in. I feel that I still need a lot more guidance and step by step instructions to improve my work. But definitely an awesome book. Thank you for the review Jason!

    • Jason Morgan - Wildlife Art
      Jason Morgan - Wildlife Art  4 years ago +1

      +MissNausicaa87 Hi I have lots of beginner type free tutorials on my site here - www.jasonmorgan.co.uk/painting-tips.html

  • Hyogail
    Hyogail 4 years ago +8

    It has dinosaurs in it?! That makes it a 100% buy ;O

  • Cindy Eisenhauer
    Cindy Eisenhauer 4 years ago +1

    I have this book too! Good video!

  • EV4UTube
    EV4UTube 4 years ago +1

    Great review! I also love this book. :-) Thanks so much for pulling this video together.

  • Andre van Wyk
    Andre van Wyk 4 years ago +1

    Excellent. Thank you Jason. Just ordered it.

    • Jason Morgan - Wildlife Art
      Jason Morgan - Wildlife Art  4 years ago +2

      +Andre van Wyk you certainly wont regret it - you will be reading it for years and years / over and over :)