OTC Pipe Tobacco Review: Captain Black Original (White)

Share
Embed
  • Love them or hate them, the Captain Black blends are popular. Today, we find out if the original is as good (or as bad) as the internet claims.
    Subscribe for more STUFFandTHINGS ► ru-clip.com/user/stuffnthingsshow
    From the pouch: "...rich black cavendish and mellowed burleys, exceptionally mild, delightfully aromatic.

Comments • 80

  • Kevin Thomas
    Kevin Thomas Day ago

    That's amazing just over 6$ for pouch in US. In Canada with our ridiculous tax hike, those pouches are 45$+ . Ridiculous

  • Shitao Yu
    Shitao Yu 15 days ago

    I like that shirt. Long may the sun shine!

  • Grapesodapopinski
    Grapesodapopinski 26 days ago

    The tongue clicking...omg. It’s the worst I’ve ever heard in my life. 😖😣😖😢

  • Wisconsin Woodsman
    Wisconsin Woodsman 27 days ago

    It’s very hum drum.

  • Surviving Chicago
    Surviving Chicago Month ago

    This was not a review, but an exercise in condescension. let me put it to you straight son......it’s not the price that keeps me away from English blends, I just don’t have a taste for them. I’m the type of guy that will stuff captain black in a Peterson or a Castello 9696 pipe. because I enjoy the taste of the tobacco and I could afford the pipe.

  • Roy Goddard
    Roy Goddard Month ago

    I branched back in for awhile. After smoking finer blends that cost a crap ton more plus shipping, plus any other taxes etc (recently paid $30.00, after discount, for 4 oz of tobacco on line) it's nice to find some smokable blends right next door and available anytime I want. I love Plum Pudding. Just bought some Esoterica. Always trying va-pirs, and Balkans, and English and on and on but... When I buy Half and Half down at the super market... I'm home.

  • Bryan Waters
    Bryan Waters 2 months ago +1

    Bleh. Another tobacco snob. You already had your mind made up before review.

  • Clark Reynard
    Clark Reynard 3 months ago

    I thought this was a pretty fair review and very friendly. Nicely handled, Bradley!

  • Cald_oof moment
    Cald_oof moment 4 months ago

    Captain Black is tasty I love it..cheap but expensive in flavoring

  • Autodidact 1965
    Autodidact 1965 4 months ago

    Those prices would be considered a steal here in Canada.
    I’m smoking a bowl of CB Gold as I watch this. I paid close to twenty bucks for the pouch.

  • Existenceisillusion
    Existenceisillusion 7 months ago

    I don't know if anyone mentioned it yet, but for some people, Captain Black (or similar) is their only option. Some places either charge extra fees or taxes or outright prohibit the shipment of tobacco and have almost no demand in the region (so almost nothing in stores).

  • Zacheriah Pearce
    Zacheriah Pearce 8 months ago

    Best selling doesn't mean best product. Price and availability slant this.

  • Olmstead Runyon
    Olmstead Runyon 8 months ago

    That's a badass shirt! Ah good ol' CB; hot air in a bag. I can see why some pipers smoke Carter Hall, Prince Albert, or Sir Walter Raleigh (none of which I like anymore), but CB, no. It's _absolutely_ worth spending a few extra bucks and getting the real stuff online.

  • Transcendent Truth
    Transcendent Truth 8 months ago

    I can always rely on thy reviews my friend

  • Jesse C
    Jesse C 9 months ago

    I'm not promoting this site, but pipes and cigars says this is their third best selling product and it has 5 stars based on 328 reviews. I personally find this smoke pleasant, and while I wish it stayed lit better really it's not half bad. Considering I can find it at all the local places I don't get the hate.
    I guess it's like fast food, lots of people going to bring it down, and yet you see lines at McDonalds for lunch every day. You can say it's not excellent but the every man is there to scoop it up all the same. Maybe it's comfort in what you know, I remember smelling this tobacco as a child and it has strong nostalgia points for me.

  • Jesse C
    Jesse C 9 months ago

    I just bought a pouch of this, my first pipe tobacco ever, strictly based off the smell. I like it actually, and the smell is wonderful (in my opinion). It smells good, but also reminds me of "old timers" when I was growing up. Knew a lot of people who would smoke things that smelled similar, I guess it could've even been this. Worth the nostalgia for me alone.

    • Jesse C
      Jesse C 9 months ago

      It is true though, the pouch came sopping wet. Almost like sheesha more than pipe tobacco lol.

  • Redcoat‘s Return
    Redcoat‘s Return 9 months ago +1

    The new CB Dark is supposed to actually taste of chocolate and is much superior according to several reviews.

  • Dan Serrano
    Dan Serrano 10 months ago

    Im a cigar lover
    But I've always wanted to try this So I bought a cheap Cob pipe and some Captain Black. So now I'm just waiting for some free time

  • Somebody
    Somebody 10 months ago

    I used to smoke captain black gold but the flavor is not the same anymore

  • Peter Parker
    Peter Parker 11 months ago +2

    Good for beginners or public occassions.

  • Eng setters
    Eng setters 11 months ago

    I'm ashamed to say I actually enjoy it..... I know I know, but when I'm doing yard work, or working in the pigeon loft it's my go to. But when I'm relaxing sitting really paying attention to smoking I smoke more flavorful pipe tobacco.

  • Benito Rebolledo
    Benito Rebolledo 11 months ago

    Sounds to be like Kentucky Club Vainilla.

  • PipeChat
    PipeChat 11 months ago

    Great Review man

  • Spencer Davis
    Spencer Davis Year ago

    That is the best fucking shirt

  • ROCCO Pazzo
    ROCCO Pazzo Year ago

    ATTN: MORONS IF YOU ARE AVERSE TO THE TASTE! SMELL OR ANYTHIJG!!!! TOBACCOO......BUY A COOKIE AND STFU ALL YALL FLAVORED TOBACCO TWATS NEED HOT LEAD SHOWERS.....in short. if all you have to choose from is an assortment of Cap. BLK GET THE ROYAL!!! ......lol semi unfortunately it tastes like rebelion and the summer of 1986 smoking BOOSTED Dr. Greybow art deco Bright Blue briar pipes half ass loaded with CAP BLK ("ROYAL" WAS OBVIOUS CHOICE FOR YOUNG DUMB HORMONE FLOODED DUDES SOUNDS KINDA TONY MONTANA BRAH

  • Dom Vas76
    Dom Vas76 Year ago +3

    I actually really enjoy captain black. It’s inexpensive, aromatic, smooth , and a mild vanilla flavor.

  • Ay
    Ay Year ago

    Hi catrina

  • drsimmons74
    drsimmons74 Year ago

    Ok. This is like a guy who's really into the superior quality and craftsmanship of a bold high abv IPA telling a teen at their first party, trying their first beer that Coors light is awful and they should go out and immediately try Rasputin. In my opinion, yes, Coors light sucks and isn't what real beer is. However, it's a good first beer... for sissies. Who, hopefully, will eventually develop a more discerning pallet. No-one is born liking Arrogant Bastard. You grow into it. I just started smoking a pipe about a year ago. I like Captain Black original. It tastes good. It smells good. I'm not ready for a strong oriental blend yet. But, maybe, someday.

  • AsgarorHammer
    AsgarorHammer Year ago

    what does otc means?

  • Richard im
    Richard im Year ago

    I use my food saver and have freeze dried than dealing with tin moisture

  • Jonathan Lewis
    Jonathan Lewis Year ago

    Hello sir just I enjoy 😉 captain black cherry is wonderful for me everyone
    Have there own stuff
    I try some other stuff didn’t work but for me captain black cherry is wonderful it’s ok if it doesn’t work well for you sir
    Just remember everyone have there own favorites sir

  • Anderson Moraes
    Anderson Moraes Year ago

    What's the song in the opening?

  • Insight Curiosity.
    Insight Curiosity. Year ago +1

    what do you mean by tongue bite?
    what about other brands 'blue' dark and cherry?

  • Peter McPherson
    Peter McPherson Year ago

    So.... What you are saying is....it doesn't taste like a cigarette. Thank God.

  • Joshua Ervin
    Joshua Ervin Year ago

    Captain Black is one of the few OTC I’ve never tried. I don’t care for vanilla flavored tobacco.

  • Yu Yokoyama
    Yu Yokoyama Year ago

    I'm a humble beginner and this is the only tobacco I've tried. I always have a feeling that I'm failing to taste it well and I don't know if that's because I'm not good at it or this tobacco.

  • 100% tetrahydrocannabinol

    does anyone know if discount tobacco in Oklahoma sell wood tobacco pipe's or corn cob pipe's
    and how long do corn cob pipe's last.

  • Ivan Parry
    Ivan Parry Year ago

    Can you give me advice please? I decant tabacco into an air tight jar. I also put it in a sealed plastic bag in the jar . do I need the bag as well or is that over fussy thanks. IVAN

  • dgetzin
    dgetzin Year ago

    If the burlys are nutty and not tart, you have this too wet, which is why it tastes like nothing.

  • dgetzin
    dgetzin Year ago

    Wait, so the whole point of reviewing an aromatic you know you won't like is to pander to aromatic smokers you will preach to about english blends? If that IS the case, at least SAY you are doing it to broaden your horizons and appreciate your Elizabethan all that much more.

  • James N
    James N Year ago

    it reminds me of craft beer.....sometimes it gets kookie. i like craft beers, that taste like beer flavoured beer. there are other drinks and other smokes...if you want that.

  • Mark Claiborne
    Mark Claiborne Year ago

    That shirt is awesome!

  • Ivan R. Vasileff
    Ivan R. Vasileff Year ago

    Hi Bradley. Cold you try on of the Mac Baren's 7 Seas series? Like regular or royal?? Cheers!

  • Norbert Stepien
    Norbert Stepien Year ago

    Hi Bradley...I really do enjoy the structure and content of your reviews. I find them entertaining and informative and one of the few "legitimate" reviews on RU-clip. Well, done! I realize you don't go care much for aromatics, but there is one controversial blend by Samuel Gawith that I would love to hear your comments on, and that is 1792. Personally, living part of the time in the UK, I try and support Samuel Gawith as one of the few remaining independent UK blenders and 1792 is one of my favorites.

  • Emil
    Emil Year ago

    Great video and great channel. Subscribed.

  • Jake Ivy
    Jake Ivy Year ago

    Love your shirt

  • Pipesmoker Cowboy Chris

    This is was my first blend I tried. I just bought it recently to see. I forgot how it tasted. I didn't know other better blends existed until I came across the YTPC. Its ok, but I find Lane 1Q is a lot better.

  • R Dufresne
    R Dufresne Year ago

    neutral?..the kind of tocbacco mild enough that you would mix with something else.. i add some of my garden's plants or spices in there at times..

  • Macasis kaishak
    Macasis kaishak Year ago

    i noticed that too no real flavor just like palidon black cherry not much of anything thing
    it's pretty chemically in the smell of the smoke

  • Devin Petersen
    Devin Petersen Year ago

    Would you ever review prince albert?

  • Dewayne White
    Dewayne White Year ago

    Smells like maple syrup.

  • NeoBulRheGhi
    NeoBulRheGhi Year ago

    For aromatic, there's mac baren's vanilla cream... captain blacks... just yuk....

  • Dan Foxman
    Dan Foxman Year ago

    Love your videos, have used them to purchase many tobaccos..keep the videos coming and thank you!

  • Tom Fortin
    Tom Fortin 2 years ago

    Your description of it is EXACTLY how I would describe it: Hot air with a tinge of vanilla-chemically taste. Thank God I tried other tobaccos and found AMAZING tastes and varieties out there!

  • tunacan7557
    tunacan7557 2 years ago

    Pipe snob

  • HimJimRimDim
    HimJimRimDim 2 years ago +1

    IMHO your review of Capn. Blk regular is spot on. It's basically tasteless along with tongue bite and that slight artificial "vanilla" taste. Round my neck of the woods CB retails for around $12.00 per 1.5 oz package. For a couple bucks more I can go online to "smokingpipes" or "4Noggins" and get a nice English style blend that I enjoy and that has some good flavour.. So why would I bother with CB when there are so many quality tobaccos out there that I enjoy. Hopefully this video will spur some interest and make people aware that there are far better tobaccos out there that can be had for the same price or a couple bucks more than CB

  • David Gaver
    David Gaver 2 years ago +1

    Have you ever reviewed any Boswell blends

    • David Gaver
      David Gaver 2 years ago

      STUFFandTHINGS Do you want to? I've spent a good bit of their blinds in there are pretty good I like them.

    • STUFFandTHINGS
      STUFFandTHINGS  2 years ago

      Not yet.

  • Cyril ViXP
    Cyril ViXP 2 years ago

    Oh no, I will not risk myself and will not try this one. The only tobacco I like from this kind of cheap ones is McBarren Original Choice

  • Geoffrey Humberd
    Geoffrey Humberd 2 years ago +1

    I know this is coming late but hopefully you'll see this. I would like to see you try captain blacks "premium blends" like black sea and midnight gold. I have not tried them yet but thought they might be suitable for say a mowing the lawn kind of thing. Planning on trying them myself just haven't gotten to it yet.

  • DeathHawk713
    DeathHawk713 2 years ago

    Just tastes like a burnt marshmallow aftertaste to me.
    Not much else...

  • Joshua Leboeuf
    Joshua Leboeuf 2 years ago

    Also wondering what kind of pipe that is.. is that a country gentleman from Missouri meerschaum?

  • Joshua Leboeuf
    Joshua Leboeuf 2 years ago

    As a first time pipe smoker I must say it's displeasing, you only get a taste of the vanilla :/ kind of disappointed. I wanted more of a dessert-like taste, for enjoying any time, preferably after dinner. Hoping it didn't ruin my nording. Wanting to try out Lane Limited 1-Q and Vanilla Black Cavendish. Also wanting to try out Eileen's Dream

  • zabaanshenaas
    zabaanshenaas 2 years ago

    Thanks a lot for this review, Bradley. I'm in Britain, and Captain Black isn't sold here, so we would have to order it from somewhere like 4noggins. Anyway, I'm fairly new to pipe smoking and so far I've only tried Old Dublin, Irish Oak, Nutty Cut, and a few of the OTC brands that we have in Britain such as Condor, Clan, St.Bruno, and Mellow Virginia. Some of the OTC brands here are quite notorious, especially Clan and Condor, and I've been hearing a lot about some OTC brands in America that are also seemingly quite notorious, especially Paladin and Mixture No.79. It would be interesting if you could review them.

  • WitchidWitchid
    WitchidWitchid 2 years ago +1

    Captain Black is my "fallback" mixture. I can always stop into almost any store and find it and for an OTC tobacco it's not bad...in my opinion. It's room note is fairly pleasant such that even vehement tobacco haters seem to tolerate it. However my real preference is for English blends , particularly those with a relatively high Latakia content. I love Latakia but it's room note is such that tobacco haters generally can't stand it. Then again I smoke for my own enjoyment as opposed to providing a pleasing aroma for others.

  • soulless
    soulless 2 years ago

    An aromatic blend should be like Firedance Flake by Sam Gawith. Now that is an aromatic I could happily smoke all day.

  • Memento Mori
    Memento Mori 2 years ago

    My best description for this blend is: if you ever wondered how it feels to smoke white chalk, you have CB original.

  • Douglas Henne
    Douglas Henne 2 years ago

    Captain Black is like the McDonalds of pipe tobacco.

  • Caleb Suddreth
    Caleb Suddreth 2 years ago

    Nice shirt!

  • zabaanshenaas
    zabaanshenaas 2 years ago

    Hi there. I was wondering if you would ever review Nutty Cut, but I see now that you don't really like aromatics.

  • Michael McDermott
    Michael McDermott 2 years ago

    Thank you for giving one of the best reviews on a generic brand- glad I have subscribed to your channel! You are one of the best I have watched so far! Looking forward to watching previous reviews and catching up on the information you’ve shared so far.

  • Mark Stengel
    Mark Stengel 2 years ago

    Was smoking capt black watching this video. First try in over 45 years. Uncle smoked in early 70s. First smoke okay. Got Indian Tribal Tobacco store in Las Vegas good $ no tax too. Erev Tov !!!

  • Savage Potato
    Savage Potato 2 years ago

    Do you get a buzz from pipes

  • Dee Jolly
    Dee Jolly 2 years ago +1

    I have never seen Captain black for more than $5, usually $3.

  • Christian Blade
    Christian Blade 2 years ago

    Even though I do smoke premium aromatics, I still smoke Captain Black. They do have a line of premium Captain Black blends out now like Red Sky and Black Sea that has latakia in it.

  • Brandon Warr
    Brandon Warr 2 years ago

    Please do another OTC review on Half and Half! Would love to hear your opinion on it.

  • Kalyn X Garcia
    Kalyn X Garcia 2 years ago +1

    I recently began dabbling in pipe smoking. I picked up some OTC supplies, (Dr. Grabow Grand Duke and Captain Black Original). I probably smoked about 10 bowls of captain black before trying Frog Morton original and I think I might have a similar palate as you. The grassy taste and whatever else it is that's in there (leathery/not really metallic but something along those lines) was like discovering a new world! I honestly was a bit nervous because it smells so smokey out of the tin but wow what a world of difference! I think I'll stick with this hobby.

  • Jesse Grimes
    Jesse Grimes 2 years ago +1

    Hey B. Would you be willing to review captain black dark. I would love your comments on it.

  • Phi S.
    Phi S. 2 years ago +1

    nice onion knight shirt!

  • TayRay 304
    TayRay 304 2 years ago +10

    I love cap black though lol capstan and dunhill are my favorite though I love them both. but when I can't afford those I smoke captain black

  • Justin Everett
    Justin Everett 2 years ago +1

    Joke's on you because people who smoke OTC tobaccos can't read suckerrr