The Lion King - Doug Reviews

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 19, 2019
  • Is this the worst Disney remake yet? Yes. Yes it is. Doug gives his thoughts on Disney's newest live action film, The Lion King.
    Watch NC's review on The Lion King - ru-clip.com/video/KnyHqxxsD8g/video.html
    The Lion King is a 2019 American musical film directed and produced by Jon Favreau, written by Jeff Nathanson, and produced by Walt Disney Pictures. It is a photorealistic computer-animated remake of Disney's traditionally animated 1994 film The Lion King. The film stars the voices of Donald Glover, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, as well as James Earl Jones reprising his role from the original film.
    Go to our Store for Awesome Stuff - theawesomestore.com
    Get some Nostalgia Critic T-Shirts here - shrsl.com/?~96c0
    See more at our Site: channelawesome.com
    Facebook: channelawesome
    Twitter: channelawesome
    Instagram: channelawesome
    Like Doug on Facebook: pages/Doug-Walker/127127037353766
    The ONLY Official RU-clip channel for the Nostalgia Critic and Channel Awesome.
    New Nostalgia Critic episodes every Wednesday at 5PM CST.
    #TheLionKing #TheLionKingReview
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 10 591

  • Channel Awesome
    Channel Awesome  2 months ago +1886

    Doug went on a RAAANNNTTTT in this one. What did everyone think about the new Lion King?
    Watch the NC's review of Lion king - ru-clip.com/video/KnyHqxxsD8g/video.html
    What if Scar raised Simba? - ru-clip.com/video/4JIEZQXKtwY/video.html

    • Alucard, More Awesome Than Chuck Norris!
      Alucard, More Awesome Than Chuck Norris! 9 days ago

      @Spooky Skeloton It's not just this.

    • Spooky Skeloton
      Spooky Skeloton 9 days ago

      @Alucard, More Awesome Than Chuck Norris! so you don't respect him because he doesn't want to like anything new, and your only thinking that because he hates the remake of lion king which has nothing new in it.

    • Blaque Link
      Blaque Link 15 days ago

      Channel Awesome Remove from the character. We gotta take away from that. Jafar is weak sauce in the Aladdin live action and his version of Prince Ali is not in the remake. Yeah. But, this is the worst remake. Yeah I totally agree with you.

    • Blaque Link
      Blaque Link 15 days ago

      Channel Awesome THIS IS THE WORST?!!! WORSE THAN CARS 1 AND 2?!!!REALLY?!

    • Blaque Link
      Blaque Link 15 days ago

      Channel Awesome You are okay with half of the fun of the Aladdin movie getting removed. Jafar is weak sauce.

  • alicia marrero
    alicia marrero Day ago

    Hey pause the video at 3:14 , you’re welcome 🙃

  • Matthew Lucas
    Matthew Lucas Day ago

    Funny enough Kimba the white lion doesn’t have songs it has a lot volience

  • Ramdemann
    Ramdemann 3 days ago +1

    Doug has saved me so much money. I've dodged so many shitty movies from his reviews. Now if I could just convince my wife Disney sucks. We'd be great!

  • Lovely Peaches100
    Lovely Peaches100 4 days ago +1

    In the first 3 seconds he described the movie perfectly lmao

  • durece100
    durece100 5 days ago +1

    All the characters are running and running and running in the 2019 version, unlike the 1994 version.

  • theblackrosedaughter
    theblackrosedaughter 6 days ago +1

    I think Doug was triggered

  • Kiara Animefan
    Kiara Animefan 6 days ago +1

    So glad I did not waste my money on this movie! Damn straight I judged this movie without watching it! I saw the 94 one in theaters when I was a kid and I loved it! Don't need to watch a new, apparantly shitty, version when the original was already great.

  • Nintendo Overdrive
    Nintendo Overdrive 6 days ago +1

    In all honesty, Scar had the best voice acting in the entire film.

  • Into Love
    Into Love 7 days ago +3

    I love the comparison between Disney and Invasion of the Body Snatchers. Give doppelganger aliens a freaking break, though. The Invasion of the Body Snatchers original moved us. Villains are some of the most inspirational characters on the screen. Great villains are likable. They have a bad reputation, but the bad guys do have as many (if not more) qualities as the good guy. They just happen to have big flaws, too. These Disney characters are just WET RAGS.

  • Into Love
    Into Love 7 days ago +1

    Disney zombies....that would be a good idea....if it wasn't a copyright violation.

  • Database Network
    Database Network 7 days ago +1

    You know what really pissed me off? Rather than having the scene exchange between Rafiki and Simba that explains the message of the movie, "when stuff happens in the past, learn from the mistakes," this movie had the audacity to change the message with that one focused scene with the exchange between Timone and Simba where they simply stated, "Life is meaningless, there's nothing to do about it." The way they handled the message really pissed me off.

  • Ellianna Wilson
    Ellianna Wilson 7 days ago +1

    **long post alert**
    I watched it with my brother just to see how bad it was and we left the theatre disappointed because like, while it was beat-by-beat the original, it was definitely worse. I also just had nostalgia reservations (Jeremy Irons should've been recast, his voice MAKES Scar and I can never unhear his voice as that character and was disappointed in the V.A. for Scar in the remake--while he did a decent job, I just really loved Jeremy Irons)
    The first song was underwhelming, it was almost a lighter than the original, like, in the animation, it'a a chorus, it's the powerhouse of a vocalist singing in all together, but in the live action, it's like...
    Perhaps because it's a different singer and she tried hitting the right notes but couldn't? Maybe it was lack of the chorus, but it was just underwhelming to the original song. And that's the pattern of the rest of them too, I think the only fairly good one is "Can you feel the Love tonight?" But with the dull expressions, it's hard not to laugh and there's not any feeling behind it.
    The humor was pretty cringey- Zazu was more annoying and oblivious to shit, the hyenas were just... "I don't see anything? Do you see anything? Yo, personal space, bro! How many times do I gotta tell you, man?" And it's supposed to be funny. Timon and Pumba were cringey to me due to lines like:
    "Great kings of the past are up there"
    "Pfft! I CANNOT. CAN YOU BECAUSE I CANNOT! OMG I CAN'T"
    "YOU CAN'T? I CAN'T!"
    "NO, I CANNOT. YOU CAN BUT I CANNOT!"
    (Actual lines, btw)
    And it's like...
    Why?
    I even got a little upset when they were showing Simba bugs to eat and one of the other animals goes "Slimy, yet satisfying!" A few minutes before Simba tries something and he repeats the line. It makes no sense!
    I think the only thing I did like was more of Scar being like "Sarabi! Be with me and things'll change!" And I was pretty intrigued, I know she'd say no but it added a little more depth and stakes to the drama because she had said no, the lioness's would eat last, thus, Nala's original claim to starve is actually pretty spot on (even if it means it's now Sarabi's fault due to it because she can't be without "her king, Mufasa" but I digress.)
    I also hated Rafiki. Rafiki in the original is my favorite. He was wise but goofy, nonsensical but had the most lessons at heart. And whenever it goes to him realizing Simba is alive, his joyous cries will always send me into goosebumps but in here, his cries are a one trick pony they use over and over again, on top of his (arguably) now even more nonsensical speak that takes up more thab him spewing out good messages that resonated with me as a kid. Also. I love (hate) that he never uses his staff but then pulls it out as if it's been the most important thing of his character when Simba fights Scar and he goes "I've missed you, old friend" and me and my brother exchanged looks and went "What?!"
    There's no build up. It came outta nowhere and it's just...
    The live-action is very underwhelming. I went to see it to see how bad it was and I regret spending my money to see it, tbh.
    It's something you watch to see how bad it was and still get disappointed in. It really is, in my opinion, that bad.
    I think the only joke I liked was Timon and Pumba going "Oh, why are we still singing this song? It's getting old. Uh...Simba's riffing. Oh no! This is bad!" Like it was pretty funny.
    Their worst joke next to "I CANNOT!" Was them replacing "Mister pig!" To "did they just call me fat? I don't like hyenas but I hate bullies more!" And Pumba starts having the fire to fight and I'd rather take mister pig than social warrior anyday.
    *The death scene is also pretty funny because of how lifeless it was (pun intended) and that emotion will never change. Animation is better by far. Even if you're wearing nostalgia glasses 24/7

  • Kunio
    Kunio 7 days ago

    You can actually see his neck transition to red in the first 10 seconds

  • Emily Brown
    Emily Brown 7 days ago

    Best review ever.

  • chibifishy97
    chibifishy97 7 days ago

    100% agree critic. This was a movie that has always been special to me. The Lion King was the first movie I ever saw, and this shit all over it and got rid of all of the good and best parts. It was trash killing my childhood.

  • Rhiannon Thrasher
    Rhiannon Thrasher 7 days ago

    This is the Nostalgia Critic posing as some guy named Doug Walker.

  • Matthias Finley
    Matthias Finley 7 days ago +1

    Btw guys,the lion king remake is now the 7th highest most grossing movie of all time right now Passing 5 avengers movies including the very first avengers movie.Heck It almost passed infinity war.

  • CryaosQueenRosebud 16
    CryaosQueenRosebud 16 8 days ago +1

    Sad that this remake became a box office success.

  • Alexander Kim
    Alexander Kim 8 days ago +1

    Tbh, I liked it. It had a potnof emotions. The CGI was so real that it felt just like in real life. And that is better than just animations some lines on paper. The fact that they had an all black cast was inspiring and it warmed my heart when Timon and Pumba were a love-couple.

  • Theo Morrow
    Theo Morrow 8 days ago +1

    0:00 - Press that time-stamp if you wish to see Doug clap over and over!
    Also, if you put it at 2x speed, Doug goes into insane psychopath mode. Your eyes, ears, and brain have been warned...

  • Thomas K
    Thomas K 9 days ago

    lol didn't know you got bald

  • Dare Dawg
    Dare Dawg 10 days ago

    I am disappointed with my friends at school because they thought this movie was good and that they did have expressions

  • na na na na batman
    na na na na batman 11 days ago +1

    Remember that's doug not nostalgia critic

  • Baal God of rain, fertility, thunder

    FUCK OFF AND DIE IN A PRIVATE HELL WHERE YOUR SHIT IDEAS LIVE WITH YOU AND YOUR FUCKING GERMLINS SO WE CAN FINALLY REJOICE

  • Wes Megginson
    Wes Megginson 11 days ago +2

    🎵So prepare for the crap of the century
    Be prepared for stupidious news
    A darker new age is
    What all of the rage is
    Audience: And how are these films new?
    Disney: Just shut up, we have you!
    🎵I know it’s all crappy
    But we will be happy
    When at last we are given your cash
    And to think that we actually cared
    Be prepared

    • Hannah Papernick-Yudin
      Hannah Papernick-Yudin 3 days ago

      That. Was. Awesome.
      Unfortunately it was lost beneath the overrated top comments so I needed to switch settings to "newest first" in order to even see it.

  • Marilyn Bergemann
    Marilyn Bergemann 11 days ago

    Hi Doug, I just watched the new Men in Black movie. I loved it. I hope that you watched it. Please let your fans know what your thoughts were about the movie.🙂

  • Storm base reviews
    Storm base reviews 12 days ago +1

    Do not ask questions. Just consume product and get excited for next products.

  • a random dude named kiki
    a random dude named kiki 13 days ago +1

    I got to see this garbage because my stupid friends wanted to see it for their movies and ALL of them liked it,i want to kill me self........

  • Xcreeper
    Xcreeper 14 days ago +1

    THEY REPLACED ED!!!!

  • Ally Downes
    Ally Downes 15 days ago +1

    because of this review i avoided the movie for so long, but i finally got dragged to see it.
    well.....
    it exceeded my expectations.... of how bad it could be

  • DisneyArchie DinoKid2002
    DisneyArchie DinoKid2002 15 days ago +1

    Can someone please upload a clip of the giraffe eating the hair, and shatting it out, and then the dung beetle rolls the ball of sh-- ?

  • Butter Pie
    Butter Pie 15 days ago +1

    I don't get why so many people loathe The Last Jedi but not this film. I know The Last Jedi isn't perfect and has flaws, but it still successfully adds more to the Star Wars story and actually has stunning visuals and effort put into it, and even though it's live-action it's still way more expressive than photo-realistic CGI animals. This movie is the definition of plagiarism, and people only seem to love it because it reminds them of an incredible film instead of being an incredible film.

  • Sascha Andre König
    Sascha Andre König 16 days ago +1

    You have no idea what a good film is the real life action remake is fantastic anyone who hate it is stupid.

    • Stop Subscribing To My Channel
      Stop Subscribing To My Channel 4 days ago +1

      It was just a stupid cash grab because Disney didn't have any ideas for new movies.

    • Morten Aanstad
      Morten Aanstad 8 days ago

      @nostalgia cartoons
      Cherry-picking or generalizing audiences and critics don't make your statement any substantiated. Audiences are especially hard to pin down since we don't know what discursive practice they're speaking from. As for box-office, it doesn't necessarily indicate that EVERYONE who saw this movie (not everyone who saw this movie has published a user review or rating) actually liked it; millions of people could possibly have been hyped up and excited (or just curious and wanting to judge for themselves) and walked out highly disappointed just like with the general consensus of "The Last Jedi".
      Do you know why Wikipedia for example is criticized and not considered an approved source in academia for example? Because we don't know who wrote the articles and what their backgrounds and practices are

    • nostalgia cartoons
      nostalgia cartoons 8 days ago

      @Morten Aanstad the movie got 88% audience score and is now the 7th highest grossing movies of all time getting closer to 6th
      Critics don't know shit

    • Morten Aanstad
      Morten Aanstad 14 days ago

      @Sascha Andre König
      I have watched it, and there's nothing artistic or emotionally impact about it. I'll stick to the original or even movies like "The Prince of Egypt", "The Secret of NIMH", "The Land Before Time", and "How to Train Your Dragon"

    • Sascha Andre König
      Sascha Andre König 14 days ago

      @Morten Aanstad I have watched the movie but maybe you didn't watched it but do whatever you want.

  • Cassimfan
    Cassimfan 17 days ago +1

    We saw it and the whole time there was a kid comparing it to the cartoon. Mom and I were more entertained by him than the movie.

  • Nightmare Rei
    Nightmare Rei 17 days ago +1

    Sadly, as long as people keep seeing these
    Steaming piles of shit remakes in theaters, Disney will continue to make them. The only way Disney will get the message is if the box office numbers drop. Stop seeing these movies, people.

    • Stop Subscribing To My Channel
      Stop Subscribing To My Channel 4 days ago

      @nostalgia cartoons all of them are bad. I thought maleficient was okay, but not as good as the original.

    • Nightmare Rei
      Nightmare Rei 8 days ago

      @nostalgia cartoons Whatever you're smoking must be some good stuff if you honestly think that.

    • nostalgia cartoons
      nostalgia cartoons 8 days ago

      I'll watch any disney live action remake cause there all great films except for maleficent
      You haters just gotta stop

  • tehdipstick
    tehdipstick 17 days ago

    I didn't have that much of an issue with the parts that were basically identical to the original, but I hated how the new additions detracted from the movie, rather than add to it.

  • Zombie Xing
    Zombie Xing 17 days ago

    Domesticated Dogs are the only animal to develop an internal muscle we associate as an eyebrow ( levator anguli oculi medialis.)

    Not Zazus
    Nor Simba's or Scars
    Not even Rafiki's
    Which may be why this photo realistic full length feature remake was doomed to begin with.

  • Flustered bun
    Flustered bun 18 days ago

    This is more of a PSA to Disney than it is a review

  • cbolanz1
    cbolanz1 18 days ago +1

    Why This is the worst Live Action Disney Remake in my opinion.
    1. The Songs were not updated to the Broadway style.
    2. There was no energy to the songs or the characters singing them.
    3. There was no story expansion.
    4. Be Prepared was shortened down.
    5. The Stampede scene was so pathetic that even the Monty Python Cast with Coconuts could've made a better stampede.
    6. Mufasas death made me laugh and not cry.
    7. We didn't get to see Simba grow up with Timon and Pumbaa.
    8. They focused too much on the mouse and on Simbas Mane in the ball of shit.
    9. They rushed through many scenes and took no time for character development.
    10. They didn't play He Lives In You or any other song from the broadway production.
    11. The Spectacle was so shortened down and lessened from the original.
    12. There was no sense of wonder or Grand epic scale.
    2/10 Monty Python could've done better than this.

  • Jason TOC
    Jason TOC 18 days ago +3

    The scene that pisses me off the most scar killing Mufasa
    In the original scar stairs him down in the eyes we actually see the clause sink into the arms of Mufasa and then scar says that famous line long live the king.
    In this new one all we hear is that famous line and it’s not even send properly and then we see a bitch slap
    Really really Mufasa king of the lions king of the African plains taken out by a bitch slap NO NO NO NO NO that does not work🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻🖕🏻

  • Zach Sutton
    Zach Sutton 19 days ago +1

    The lion King really is one of my favorite Disney movies. I'm glad I don't waste money on these live action remakes

  • Lunar Liam Productions

    This is the highest grossing film of time... I think we need to give James Camron an apology.

  • MORGAN THE MIGHTY
    MORGAN THE MIGHTY 20 days ago +1

    0:01 OOOOOOOOOH DISNEYS GOING TO SUE YOU FOR TALKING SH## ABOUT THEIR MOVIES.
    🤣Just kidding
    I mean the only disappointing parts of the movie we're
    1. The lazy remake of the
    be prepared song
    2. Billy eichner playing Timon
    3. NO MR PIG AAAAAAAAAAAAH
    SCENE.
    in conclusion
    THE LION KING 2019
    GETS A 7/10 FOR ME

  • Silver Bullet
    Silver Bullet 20 days ago

    They somehow made the Be Prepared horrible. One of (arguably the best one) songs in the original sapped of all the creativity and energy.
    Simba and Nala reuniting? More like two semi-pals running into each other accidentally.
    I mean, I guess Sarabi got more screen time

  • Tianna Carlson
    Tianna Carlson 21 day ago

    I loved this movie....sorry...

  • Tex Corps
    Tex Corps 21 day ago +1

    I still come back to see this whenever I see butt hurt fans of the movie insult Doug because he doesn't share their brainless opinion of a soulless movie. They are free to have their opinion but they choose to shit on Doug and Critics ONLY when they don't agree with their opinion

  • Brandon Prater
    Brandon Prater 21 day ago

    18:06-19:07 WELL F***ING SAID!!👏😍

  • Brandon Prater
    Brandon Prater 21 day ago +1

    Thank you for this!! Despite everyone's claims, I had (& have) no interest in seeing this film.

  • Rizky Dewansyah
    Rizky Dewansyah 22 days ago +1

    EVEN GODZILLA KOTM HAVE A BETTER EMOTIONAL EXECUTION THAN THIS SHIT. At least KOTM has a new story (even if it's shit) and the kaiju had a BETTER EMOTION.

  • firekind1980
    firekind1980 22 days ago

    I've listened to so many people say they loved it. Fuck everyone. Zombie population.

  • fangz wolf
    fangz wolf 23 days ago

    Oh yeah it sucks poor disney😭😭😭

  • Brian Nguyen
    Brian Nguyen 24 days ago

    How is this still making money?!

  • HamsterloverPTC 01
    HamsterloverPTC 01 24 days ago +1

    I'm gonna get so much hate but I like the new one more then the original

    • HamsterloverPTC 01
      HamsterloverPTC 01 4 days ago

      @Stop Subscribing To My Channel I like the new one more 😎

    • Stop Subscribing To My Channel
      Stop Subscribing To My Channel 4 days ago

      WHAT? But this one has no emotions or effort and *HOW IS SIMBA ANNOYING?* Sorry I'm just confused 😯

    • HamsterloverPTC 01
      HamsterloverPTC 01 18 days ago

      @Zach Sutton i like simba more in this one I thought simba in this one was more kind simba in the old one was annoying

    • Zach Sutton
      Zach Sutton 18 days ago

      That's fine but out of curiosity why do you like it more?

  • HamsterloverPTC 01
    HamsterloverPTC 01 24 days ago +1

    Sorry doug but it's supposed to be real lions and if anyone has ever seen a lion they don't sing or look sad or look happy they don't have a variety of facial expressions

    • Morten Aanstad
      Morten Aanstad 21 day ago

      @HamsterloverPTC 01
      I can see that, and you obviously doesn't appreciate art nor do you seem to have any real critiquing skills

    • HamsterloverPTC 01
      HamsterloverPTC 01 21 day ago

      @Morten Aanstad I like the new one 😅

    • Morten Aanstad
      Morten Aanstad 22 days ago

      What's the point of making a feature movie that's like an inferior version of both reality and a nature documentary? I want art, not a cringey imitation of reality

  • HamsterloverPTC 01
    HamsterloverPTC 01 24 days ago +1

    HOE DARE YOU I LOVE THE NEW ONE!!!!!!!

  • evodolka
    evodolka 24 days ago

    "why be alive when dead is enough"
    calm down dude, it's just a film about hyper realistic CG lions

  • Freya 8832
    Freya 8832 24 days ago +1

    Why did they change 'be prepared '???
    Why?

  • Liz Lauren
    Liz Lauren 25 days ago +1

    I was gonna see this movie in theaters but we missed the time! I kept waiting to go but eventually gave up and decided to watch all my RU-clip movie reviews. After watching yours and Tamara’s reviews I’m glad I didn’t waste my money!

  • Gustaf
    Gustaf 25 days ago

    I'm almost starting to think Disney is trying to ruin this remakes on purpose to somehow make the original stand out so much, trying to force the remakes to do bad. It's the only explanation I got for so many poor choices for such an Iconic movie can't be a coincidence. Of course Disney know the movies would still make a lot of money because of the stunning CGI and also because they made sure to advertise it. The only explanation for them to do this shit that looks like lion king but isn't.