Malwarebytes Premium v3 Beta Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 24, 2016
  • Malwarebytes Premium v3 claims to replace your traditional Antivirus program with multi-layered protection, going out of add-on or second opinion scanner territory. How will it hold up against the onslaught of malware during this test as a standalone?
    Please consider supporting TPSC on Patreon: www.patreon.com/tpsc
    Follow TPSC on Twitter:
    tpscyt
    Check out the Facebook page:
    tpscyt
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 100

  • Amit Kumar
    Amit Kumar Year ago

    If you had restarted, maleware bytes would have given you good detection rate

  • Xasmanius Völk
    Xasmanius Völk Year ago

    9:50.......... Lol now mbam is deleting all your files cuz one of the samples infected all of them

  • Xasmanius Völk
    Xasmanius Völk Year ago

    7:12 Wscript........ One of the vbs components to take control of the shell and c++ language

  • KuoduCun
    KuoduCun Year ago

    hey leo very educational channel and i just subscribe yours. can you do a test to malwarbytes v3.3.1 which is already final build. thanks in advance leo!

  • User Name
    User Name 2 years ago

    Could you do a review of Malware Buster? I have been hearing about it on the internet but cannot find any reliable reviews online. The website is malwarebuster.com. Thank you!

  • Too Late
    Too Late 2 years ago

    Can you do a video using Snort?

  • tabbyflowers
    tabbyflowers 2 years ago +1

    Okay one thing.. HOW ARE YOU NOT SCARED OF MALWARE, VIRUSES, ECT TEACH ME HOW TO NOT BE SCARED WHEN I GET A VIRUS

  • Yubtek
    Yubtek 2 years ago

    Can you test the final version ? Nice vid anyway !

  • Adel Moori
    Adel Moori 2 years ago

    I think the cerber got in because he spammed all of the malware in the folder and malwarebytes could not take it

    • American Gangster
      American Gangster 2 years ago

      Exactly this guy is so dumb he spammed files like crazy causing the program to crash then talks stupid

  • Junior Asvp
    Junior Asvp 2 years ago +2

    I had to use this against MacKeeper. Assholes tried to scam me into downloading and buying their software due to an "infection", fuck outta here lol

  • sTeel8
    sTeel8 2 years ago

    Can you make a video and test the ransomware protection in Malwarebytes only (not the other defense layers, only the ransomware shield)?

  • Victor Taboada
    Victor Taboada 2 years ago

    Which active (automatic when browsing) malware protection do you recommend to run along with Norton Antivirus? Currently I have Malwarebytes 3.1.2 but I am wondering whether to use a different suite. Thanks!

  • Kabloosh
    Kabloosh 2 years ago

    From my understanding it's similar to EMET and is superior, however you should still run another AV along side with this.

  • guywithbeard
    guywithbeard 2 years ago

    don't you think this would've happened with let's say kaspersky and bitdefender too?
    The reason I'm asking is, those two seem to be your top picks when it comes to antivirus software, while this one costs half as much.

  • Security Guru
    Security Guru 2 years ago +2

    Still think Malwarebytes 2.0 was a better program. This new one even now that it is out, seems to be lacking, and it isn't in beta anymore. I am disappointed, with the company, as I always buy there products, I think they tried to do too much, and didn't come out with a solid product.

  • Robert Drake
    Robert Drake 2 years ago

    Its awful. Causes my computer to blue screen over and over. On the bright side, I discovered why I was getting BSOD five times a week because of it. Once I removed v3 AND v2 the blue screens vanished. Customer support was pretty useless, wasted $20 on this product. Talking about the release version btw.

    • Robert Drake
      Robert Drake 2 years ago

      I had v2 previous to v3. I put MBs v2 on my computer the same time I installed Win10 over a year ago, and had about five BSOD a week. Removed v2, put on v3, and it went up to five a day. Didn't know the cause of my BSOD until I had removed both, cleaned out the system of any of their tracks, and went two weeks without it. No more BSOD. Seems pretty obvious that the case was MBs.

    • Dragons952
      Dragons952 2 years ago

      Since Malwarebytes said they solved several BSOD that was caused by their program. It might be worth it to test out the new v3.0.6 for yourself to see if the problem you had is still occurring or not. I did installed the recent update and it has significantly improved on how much cpu and memory it takes up on my computer. I did have BSOD on v3.0.5 but none on v2. If you still have an issue with v3.0.6, all there is to do is to either start a discussion about it on the forum page to get some help about it or contact support to let them know about the problems that the recent update has.

    • Dragons952
      Dragons952 2 years ago

      Robert Drake So did you had both v2 and v3 installed? Or did you had one of them installed on your computer when you had problems with Malwarebytes? I personally have not had an issue with v2, but if you had both versions installed without uninstalling the other one first, there might be an issue there.

    • Robert Drake
      Robert Drake 2 years ago

      Malwarebytes v2 also caused BSOD. Likely a conflict with another program but I'm staying away until they can provide a list of programs that cause such conflicts. Currently running the free Spybot with no BSOD.

    • Dragons952
      Dragons952 2 years ago

      I recommend everyone who uses Malwarebytes (Premium) to check the release history often because there are times we might be using an outdated version without knowing, and plus these updates seem very important to keep a look out for since version 3 is still in it's early development in my own opinion.

  • chitownmando
    chitownmando 2 years ago

    I downloaded the free version then it said I had 13 days left in my trail

  • Jon Irenicus
    Jon Irenicus 2 years ago

    very likes your video. could you make you video's sound more loudly?

  • killerhakie
    killerhakie 2 years ago

    i want to know if malwarebytes can remove the encryption shit

  • Aspire
    Aspire 2 years ago

    What is the best free anti virus? I have rootkits and Trojans (a lot) and I need something free to help.

    • Gavin
      Gavin 2 years ago

      Aspire Try a trial of Kaspersky

  • PeterEater
    PeterEater 2 years ago

    please do a BullGuard test

  • Jack Muise
    Jack Muise 2 years ago

    Hey Leo, if you store your important files in the cloud but have cloud application installed on your computer (such as onedrive, google drive, dropbox, etc.). Since the files are also cloned on your computer I guess, would ransomware infect those files, and if so, would that infect the files if you went to them directly to the cloud website?

  • phaze
    phaze 2 years ago +1

    the program is stil slow as u said at first even in the main version is it for you too?

  • Johan B.
    Johan B. 2 years ago +8

    It's out of beta now. When can we expect the test of the final version?

  • Ripcord Jr
    Ripcord Jr 2 years ago

    Malwarebytes 3.0 was released to public a few days ago. Beta testing wasn't long not sure it's ready for front line duty,only time will tell.

  • Abdul Waheed
    Abdul Waheed 2 years ago +1

    would you please do a review or security check on Zemana Anti-Malware!

  • Ken J Boyd
    Ken J Boyd 3 years ago

    No peace, no cybersecurity until Microsoft is identified as the #1 source of malware, along w/ their deceitful allies.

  • Ruben G.T.
    Ruben G.T. 3 years ago

    Great RU-clip channel and info videos Leo.
    Thanks for all your dedication and great tips and insights helping us keep safe in a modern "savage" world ;)
    In relation to ransomware, what do you think about CryptoPrevent from Foolish IT, I have been using it for months and I have a very active "pc user profile", so from my experience it has been working great.. only flaw is that it can stop some legit software from installing correctly from time to time even though it's rare.
    It happened with Gramblr for example, it needed access to appdata and CryptoPrevent blocks that, so the software did not run properly.
    Any thoughts on this vs other solid solutions on this very important subject nowadays?
    Thanks again my friend.

  • Alessandro
    Alessandro 3 years ago

    Can you test Windows defender + Voodooshield on autopilot + avita browser safety and noscript (on chrome)?

  • kayssen
    kayssen 3 years ago

    Hi i found your Channel today , very good videos
    btw, i have been using Avast Free for months and i am planing to replace it because it as not firewall i think and i am hesitating between "Kaspersky Internet Security" and "Bitdefender Internet Security".
    Which one is the best ?

  • Review Zon
    Review Zon 3 years ago

    nice review

  • blasphemous24
    blasphemous24 3 years ago

    Anyone have lifetime license keys for the beta?

  • damolin77
    damolin77 3 years ago

    New Malwarebytes V3.0.4.1269 malwarebytes.app.box.com/s/vq1dtyyfyn8mr6azlyps1v3at26qj34z

  • Domnu Guster
    Domnu Guster 3 years ago

    hey TPSC im an romanian fan... can you make an video featuring BitDefender i have problems with it thx ^^

  • Ionut
    Ionut 3 years ago

    It's still a beta product. Also Zemana or Emsisoft seems better than MBAM.

    • Shayne
      Shayne 2 years ago

      I have been interested in Zemana antimalware free. Malwarebytes just made my desktop computer very slow sadly.

  • Brian Y
    Brian Y 3 years ago

    Products such as reboot restore RX and Faronics DeepFreeze claim that they can remove viruses and spyware just by rebooting the system. I would be interested to see you test this some time. If it truly did work, it would be the ultimate defense against security threats

  • damolin77
    damolin77 3 years ago

    Leo can please do a test on sniper antivirus it's a antivirus from India www.snipercorporation.com/ another thing i would like to add i went to there live support to just ask a few random questions and they replied to me very fast

  • damolin77
    damolin77 3 years ago

    All Best Antivirus programs.
    - Trojan Shield
    - AntiHook
    - Antiy Ghostbusters Advanced
    - Ashampoo Anti-Malware
    - Ashampoo Virus Quickscan
    - Auslogics Antivirus
    - Autorun Virus Remover
    - avast! Free Antivirus
    - Avast! Professional Edition
    - AVG Anti-Rootkit
    - AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition
    - AVG Anti-Virus Professional Edition
    - Avira AntiRootkit Tool
    - Avira Antivirus Premium
    - Avira Free Antivirus
    - AVirCAP
    - BitDefender Antivirus Plus
    - BitDefender Free Edition
    - Blue Atom Antivirus ReHybrid
    - BugBopper
    - CA Anti-Virus
    - ClamAV
    - ClamWin Free Antivirus
    - ClamWin Free Antivirus (Portable)
    - CleanMD
    - COMODO Cloud Scanner
    - COMODO Cloud Scanner Portable
    - DefenseWall HIPS
    - Digital Patrol
    - Dr.Web CureIt!
    - Dr.Web Security Space
    - Dr.Web Security Space Pro
    - DriveSentry Security Suite
    - Emsisoft Anti-Malware
    - eScan AntiVirus
    - ESET NOD32 Antivirus
    - F-Prot Antivirus
    - F-Secure Anti-Virus
    - F-Secure BlackLight
    - Free USB Disk Security
    - G Data AntiVirus
    - GMER
    - Handy Antivirus
    - Hitman Pro
    - ImmunetProtect (Cloud Antivirus)
    - iClean
    - Kaspersky Anti-Virus
    - Kaspersky Anti-Virus Personal
    - Kaspersky Rescue Disk
    - Kingsoft Free Antivirus
    - KV Antivirus Software
    - Laplink PCdefense
    - Loaris Trojan Remover
    - MacroVirus
    - McAfee Rootkit Detective 1.1
    - McAfee VirusScan Enterprise
    - McAfee VirusScan USB
    - MicroWorld Anti Virus & Spyware Toolkit Utility
    - Mks_Vir
    - My Free Antivirus
    - NOD32 AntiVirus System (95/98/ME)
    - Norton AntiBot
    - Norton AntiVirus
    - Panda Anti-Rootkit
    - Panda Antivirus Pro 2012 17.00.00
    - Panda Cloud Antivirus
    - Panda safeCD
    - ParetoLogic Anti-Virus PLUS
    - PC Tools Antivirus
    - Prevx
    - Protector Plus
    - Quick Heal AntiVirus Lite
    - Quick Heal AntiVirus Plus
    - RemoveIT Pro
    - RemoveIT Pro Enterprise
    - Rising Antivirus Personal Edition
    - RootkitRevealer
    - SoftClan Integrity
    - Solo Antivirus
    - Sophos Anti-Rootkit
    - Spy Sweeper with AntiVirus
    - ThreatFire
    - Trojan Guarder
    - Trojan Guarder Gold
    - Trojan Killer
    - Trojan Remover
    - TrojanHunter
    - TrustPort Antivirus
    - UnHackMe
    - Vba32 AntiRootkit
    - VIPRE Antivirus+Antispyware
    - VIRUSfighter
    - Vir.IT eXplorer Lite
    - VirusKeeper
    - VirusKeeper
    - WinFortress
    - Winpooch
    - Wuzzup
    - ZoneAlarm Antivirus

  • Santiago Gomez
    Santiago Gomez 3 years ago

    Hi man, im really glad i know this channel, I have been having problems with my NEW computer, i was trying to download something from the internet aand i got a virus, i know youre the right person for this job, please help me, please I really need youre help, thanks

  • Roger B
    Roger B 3 years ago +1

    I have had Malwarebytes pro for a long time and It has become a disappointment to me. I have had other malware programs detect and quarantine threats way more than Malwarebytes does now. In fact I have not had Malwarebytes detect one single threat for over a year when other programs on my system have and their support has become pretty pathetic. As for their antiransomeware program it pales in comparison to "Win Anti-Ransomware".

    • Roger B
      Roger B 3 years ago

      @James Burns - You are wise. Malwarebytes has sadly fallen by the wayside. I have a lifetime licence because I bought it one month before they went to annual renewals. I'm glad I didn't waste any more money than I did. I just simply don't trust them any longer. Maybe they will wake up but until then I will stick to the programs i have now.

  • Tommy den Boer
    Tommy den Boer 3 years ago

    When you did run the last malwares in a fast past I think Malwarebytes couldn't keep up. Maybe because the zero date protection isn't as fast yet because it's in beta?

  • MrSharp1903
    MrSharp1903 3 years ago +10

    Malwarebytes Premium still says " awesome, you are protected " lol

    • Mario583
      Mario583 2 years ago

      Awesome, you haven't done a scam

  • Andrea Angel
    Andrea Angel 3 years ago

    Thank you for the interesting test!
    Next time can you play run the samples with process explorer active?
    I think Malwarebytes improved a lot but still needs to improve static detection as anti-ransom.
    I think a ransom infection is extremely bad and should be avoided by a AV.
    On the other side, most AV are not bulletproof vs ransomware and recent test s unfortunately showed it.
    I think you should have run 2nd opinion scanners anyway to check general detection capabilities of MB.
    Did it miss only this ransom or way more?
    What would happen after a restart? More infections or detections, a rollback feature (if available in other products)?
    This would also help in the future when you test other AVs.

  • PC Keepsie
    PC Keepsie 3 years ago +2

    will stick with bitdefender

  • CyberLion
    CyberLion 3 years ago +1

    Hey my name is Leo too!

  • Fahmi Nagi
    Fahmi Nagi 3 years ago

    what is the best Antivirus software ?

    • Gavin
      Gavin 2 years ago +1

      Kaspersky for sure

    • Mario583
      Mario583 2 years ago

      I use avast! with everything turned up to high and Aggressive Mode.

    • 26 idioms in 1
      26 idioms in 1 3 years ago +1

      Kaspersky is better without doubt (does't overloard your system, and you can disable it from background/taskbar very easily, "on the contrary of the New Bitdefender, you can't disable it from the taskbar anymore" I'm very disappointed about it, I used to love Bitdefender, but now the new version sucks your memory too, and it's like a fucking truck stucking your system, unless you have a very nice PC it will suit your necessities, in my case, fuck bitdefender new version"...) Why Kaspersky is best for me? Kaspersky I don't even notice IT'S working on my system background and IT'S VERY POWERFUL, if I wanna play CS-Source online, and before it, i wanna liberaty some memory in my pc to see if CS works best, i just disable it from taskbar/background without advanced experience, unless I put password on it (normally I disable it, but sometimes i play CS-Source online with Kaskersky on the background and works very fine). You know when you think twice to click in a file that you wish not to be INFECTED? Or when you click in some INFECTED file without think twice, and suddently troubles?! Well, it sucks :((( You can try control the INFECTED files with Kastersky just trying "disinfecting technology" , I love it, it helped me a lot, good luck :)))

    • Hele to je Adam!
      Hele to je Adam! 3 years ago +1

      I use ESET NOD32

    • mike0311guns
      mike0311guns 3 years ago +1

      Depends upon the user, if you don't want to make any decisions at all Bitdefender (just turn on the Ransomware protection)Personal Setup: Webroot and VoodooShield. I really like Webroot because they're the smallest AV and most people don't realize this but they have some very aggressive heuristic and firewall settings. Plus an excellent process control panel.

  • TheCanadianToast
    TheCanadianToast 3 years ago +2

    Can't wait until this new program by Malwarebytes makes it's way into it's final release. It will really step up the game for other antivirus companies if you do want to run it alone, or with another antivirus program on your computer.

    • Shadow Sonata
      Shadow Sonata 2 years ago +1

      Good idea to wait, the current version has serious issues. Mainly heavy cpu/memory use, hangups when checking for updates/shutdown, real time protection switching off,etc. Sadly, they used to be a good program for a layered defense

  • David Martinez
    David Martinez 3 years ago +2

    awsome chanel

  • Bryan Olandres
    Bryan Olandres 3 years ago +53

    "In Soviet Russia, Malware cleans you"... made my day lol

  • Kamran Kazemi-Far
    Kamran Kazemi-Far 3 years ago +5

    Not a fan of this idea from Malwarebytes, V3 misses out so many features which I have on ESET Smart Secuirty

  • mankeez
    mankeez 3 years ago

    3:11 RANSOM.TROLDESH

  • X Miller
    X Miller 3 years ago

    Hey can you tell me a good website for actuall malware samples. I use malc0de.But this samples a mostly too old. They are already blocked by the browser.

  • Wilfredo Torres
    Wilfredo Torres 3 years ago

    Hi Leo, This is the way I believe everyone saw the product going incorporating it together with their other products. I don't understand why they can't get their anti-ransomware to function better like Win Anti-Ransomware, if they could accomplish that this product could really be solid along with a good AV product. What I could see them doing is acquiring a AV company for those purposes or even creating a AV module of there own or even adding a AV engine like maybe (Bitdefender). Thanks for the review .

  • iAnguel
    iAnguel 3 years ago +2

    Well, this confirms my impressions...

  • hotmixer2010
    hotmixer2010 3 years ago +29

    MalwareBytes probably spends more money on marketing than actual research & development.

  • Nevigo
    Nevigo 3 years ago

    That was a shame,but hey this is just the beta.It did pretty well on all other fronts.Even Bitdefenders module was compromised when you tested that, so I have faith to this new product.One thing you didnt talk about was the ressource footprint?
    Thanks Leo.

    • mike0311guns
      mike0311guns 3 years ago

      Because he turned off self-protection (ATC), in the full Bitdefender 2017 review it got a clean sheet.

  • Kalazakan
    Kalazakan 3 years ago

    I expected Malwarebytes to do better than that.

  • Joshua Mendieta
    Joshua Mendieta 3 years ago

    Any recommendations for ransomware protection? I have McAfee AV and Malwarebytes (I just started to study about cybersecurity and learned about the most common types of Malware but I still not know a good combo to be safe, I know you can be 100% secure but still).

    • s ᴇ ʙ ɪ
      s ᴇ ʙ ɪ 3 years ago

      Joshua Mendieta Comodo Internet Security

    • JaneQPL
      JaneQPL 3 years ago

      Kaspersky Anti-Ransomware or Zemana Anti-Malware

    • Dang Khoa
      Dang Khoa 3 years ago +1

      voodooshield free or pro. one of the best out there

    • defmos
      defmos 3 years ago

      zemana premium ... $9.99 on anti-virus4u

    • Nevigo
      Nevigo 3 years ago

      Kasperskys decryptor,free of charge.

  • TheKING ofGAMES
    TheKING ofGAMES 3 years ago +8

    Malware bites should be better than this... But again it is beta so ...

  • Makemake
    Makemake 3 years ago +5

    Im kinda dissapointed in malwarebytes

    • Makemake
      Makemake 3 years ago +1

      i know but still...

    • thingyee1118
      thingyee1118 3 years ago +11

      Vukasin Gostovic why its not really a full av...