Joker | Review!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 20, 2019
  • Roth Cornet & Dan Murrell give their reaction and review for Warner Bros & DC's 2019 film Joker directed by Todd Phillips and starring Joaquin Phoenix
    ►►Subscribe Now! ► RU-clip.com/FandomEntertainment
    ►►Go Deeper!►www.fandom.com/
    Joker | Review!
    Movie Directed by: Todd Phillips
    Starring: Joaquin Phoenix, Zazie Beetz, Frances Conroy, & Robert De Niro
    Movie Synopsis: In 1981, a failed stand-up comedian turns to a life of crime and chaos in Gotham City
    FANDOM ENTERTAINMENT
    Review by Dan Murrell & Roth Cornet
    Senior Producer: Billy Patterson
    Assistant Editor: Emin Bassavand
    #FandomEntertainment #Joker
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 592

  • Fandom Entertainment
    Fandom Entertainment  Month ago +146

    *If you enjoyed please like and share the vid plus subscribe to our channel for more of Dan, Roth, and the rest of the Fandom team!* Let us know your hype for Joker in the comments below and thanks for watching!
    ►►Subscribe Now! ► RU-clip.com/FandomEntertainment

    COMMUNITY POOL RULES
    One: Speak up and join the conversation- we encourage respectful debate.
    Two: Respect your community- racism, misogyny, homophobia and hate speech aren’t tolerated.
    Three: Don’t go looking for fights.
    Four: “Be nice.” - Dalton from Roadhouse

    • Ender Shepard
      Ender Shepard Month ago

      Fandom Entertainment I don’t see why some people are freaking out so much and hesitant to see this film? It’s a cautionary tale and a masterpiece!
      The Batman Lore in this film along with The Jokers 🃏 brand name recognition doesn’t diminish its message. This film is all about how any of us could potentially become The Joker under such circumstances. It’s a callback to Dr. Phillip Zambardo’s shocking and unsettling masterpiece. The Science of Evil...
      But what we must remember is that Doctor Zambardo also showed us that just like The Batman is the opposite of The Joker. There is also a Science of Good that we can employ...
      24:32 What y’all said here totally falls into line with what Marvel Studios did with Black Panther last year. With Wakanda and the Global Community or on a more personal note. How N’Jadka Prince T’Challa’s cousin became Killmonger.
      And that was most certainly a Comic Book Movie! It’s really kind of insulting how y’all are trying to pigeonhole CBM. Manga & Comic Books are the same in that they can craft stories in any genre. That’s precisely why they have endured and thrived for so long...

    • Slater Pensacola 🌊☀️🤘🏿
      Slater Pensacola 🌊☀️🤘🏿 Month ago

      As a Veteran that has his 'bouts' of struggle with PTSD, the Joker terrified me for it's irresponsible use of film.
      Like a beautiful Smith and Wesson built through craftsmanship, this film is skillfully crafted- but that does not deter from it's explosive power and the danger it can be used for to justify or even cause horrible actions on people its targeted at.
      I do not blame art for it art, I'm simply disappointed and rightfully unsettle about its direction and implied message.
      The interesting thing about this movie is that it truely highlights the priviledge someone without the association of PTSD/ mental illness was able to make such a movie and take a 'step back' from the conversation. While those that actually suffer would never try to associate themselves with this movie, this character, or its intentions.
      I'm actually a writer that has worked with Veteran nonprofits in my local area fighting for suicide awareness and against PTSD Stigma's (shout out to StackUp and the excellent work they do).
      Just commenting on a youtube channel about this film scares me and the potential association I might now be link to with a film that has this message.
      But, I have to say I really appreciate the serious approach to movie reviewing Dan and Roth (as well as other screen junkies that have commented on the film so far). Dan and Roth have taken up the mantle for serious discussion of our societal repercussions in the same vein as John Stewart, when it comes to flashing a mirror on media's effect on society.
      Keep up the excellent work Dan and Roth, you guys are the Batpeople in a world full of irresponsible media and unethical attitudes, and unethical Jokers.

  • Charlie B
    Charlie B 8 days ago

    Wait wait wait wait, no no no no, you went there, you went stupid. People aren't inspired to commit acts of violence by things like this. It's a nothing idea, it's a false idea that SOUNDS kind of like it might be true. It's like the idea that we only use 15% of our brains, or we all eat 7 spiders a year in our sleep. It's nonsense that easily fooled people get caught up on. If your concern after watching this is that it might "inspire people" to acts of violence...look to your own views. If you yourselves are easily led to violence then I can understand your worry. Please don't go nuts. But I don't think you are and your mistake is in thinking there are "others" out there that will take this the wrong way. That's not the way life works, it's the way gullible people THINK it works. Take a deep breath, relax, and if you have to take a few days off to recover then do so. But you're acting like a crazy religious overprotective mom who believes everybody is out to hurt your kid.

  • Michael Lee
    Michael Lee 8 days ago

    Must see movie for 2019, Joker! I hope there will be more of this like. Specifically, like to see Medusa get an origin movie. That particular character is a tragic figure of the ages and is relevant to today; especially, with me too. Patty Jenkins would be perfect as she already made a movie called "Monster."

  • WARPAINTandUnicorns
    WARPAINTandUnicorns 13 days ago

    My friends, you can cosplay ANYTHING! to the horror of children and grown adults.

  • manning maxwell
    manning maxwell 15 days ago +1

    Those guys beat up a guy with. A condition and harassed. Woman oh course they deserved it

  • gamerrod
    gamerrod 17 days ago +1

    Idiots excessively interpreting this masterpiece of cinema. Just bow down and keep your mouth shut. Have some respect for its beauty.

  • Will G
    Will G 25 days ago

    That was the best killing of his parents and it explained why his parents were rushing out of the theater in the Ally and why they got shot

  • Will G
    Will G 25 days ago +2

    First two kills on subway are in self defense 3rd is manslaughter maybe more. The last 3 were definitely murder

  • rebels5785
    rebels5785 27 days ago

    Great review. Pretty much spot on.

  • Krista Dadasis
    Krista Dadasis 27 days ago

    why does dan of all people have a hair elastic on his wrist

  • Brian Hannah
    Brian Hannah 27 days ago

    Joker is such a good film, The controversy surrounding it speaks to that. 10/10!

  • Annette Louise
    Annette Louise 28 days ago +1

    Arthur did not snap because of a movie.

  • Martin Smith
    Martin Smith 28 days ago

    Finally a movie about losers and for losers !!

  • Auntie Creeps
    Auntie Creeps Month ago

    Why so serious? Lol really! I had a great time watching this movie and of COURSE I rooted for him! 😁

  • Ernest Calderon
    Ernest Calderon Month ago

    In my opinion the movie doesn't have anything profound to say. It's happy with just bringing things up passingly, and not actually exploring any themes. I found it vapid, toothless, and empty pastiche. Really great performance from Joaquin, though. And excellent production design and cinematography. Overall I'd say it's a "good" movie but quite pretentious and posing as something deep and thoughtful when in reality it has nothing to say.

  • Michelle Leclair
    Michelle Leclair Month ago

    A Masterpiece! Joaquin Phoenix Played, it, Slayed it and Mastered it! He portrayed EVERYTHING that the filmmaker was trying to convey to the tenth power. Joaquin is an artist keep doing you Joaquin! Not a movie to take a child to see, (as did one couple who brought their 4 year little boy to see last night SMDH, people use common sense) It had to have been Physically and emotionally draining for him to portray this character! I’ve seen it twice, and plan to see it again! Kudos to Joaquin phoenix

  • Angel Dust
    Angel Dust Month ago

    A brilliant performance of Joaquin, dark and unbelievable score,cinematography on point!!!An amazing,mesmerising film!!!Best movie in 2019 so far....

  • al cypher
    al cypher Month ago +2

    This is a movie about a villain, just saying. Everyone is forgetting that.

  • Karan Purja
    Karan Purja Month ago

    Spoiler review plz

  • Eric McClelland
    Eric McClelland Month ago

    This is a great review, and made me even more excited to see this!
    Dan seems shook to the core, obviously very impactful on him.
    And I've seen the movie now and it is a FANTASTIC MOVIE
    (spoilers below)
    though I disagree with Dan when he said "you cannot root for this guy!" I don't think the Joker is completely evil but is mentally unstable/deranged what he done was wrong obviously
    I believe that the movie wants us to be on his side and see how he gets treated by others so poorly, and shock us as he reacts, as he try's to defend himself and kills the 3 men on the train and accidentally starts at movement
    He panics like a child, it seems he doesn't know what to do... if he didn't kill his workmate and do whatever to the girl down the hall, and he planned to kill himself and but he persuade himself that he was in the wrong so he was definitely evil aswell as mentally ill
    I don't know where I'm going with this....

  • Evan McFarland
    Evan McFarland Month ago +2

    Spoiler alert!
    I didn’t mind the Bruce Wayne connections. It made me think how that relationship could blossom. And how the joker can develop into a similar version of heath ledger’s joker.

  • latinbeandip
    latinbeandip Month ago

    I have craved to see a Joker performance post Heth Ledger and....went and saw this movie last night....i was not disappointed.

  • Nick Chronis
    Nick Chronis Month ago

    yall do the best job of articulating how I feel about these kinds of movies. Chilling, mesmerizing, raw. Great movie but in the worst way and starts some interesting conversations

  • Melvin Banks
    Melvin Banks Month ago +1

    So folk loved a realistic take on Batman but can't handle the realistic take of this Joker film that just happens to hold a mirror at society today !?🤔

  • Thicc Man
    Thicc Man Month ago +2

    I wonder why aren't people talking about the sound direction , the background music were to the point

  • Chris van Rooyen
    Chris van Rooyen Month ago

    Very intelligent discussion. Well done guys.

  • ultraklebestift
    ultraklebestift Month ago

    Just saw the movie tonight. You guys did a really good job reviewing it!

  • My Self
    My Self Month ago

    Dan & Roth are really insightful commentators.

  • The Roach Den
    The Roach Den Month ago

    Why would you guys release a review of a movie people haven't had a chance to see yet. Granted I'm late to the party here.

  • Scott West
    Scott West Month ago

    Phoenix portrayed the power of the helpless. Ledger's Joker pressed his advantage as an evil genius. Hardy's Bane pressed his advantage as an evil genius also endowed with incredible physical strength. Phoenix's Joker, however, isn't unusually intelligent nor physically strong. Indeed, his Joker has a brain injury and is emaciated. Phoenix's Joker uses the human nature of caring for the underdog against us.

  • Shamut on EV’s
    Shamut on EV’s Month ago +1

    The most important film of the decade. Interestingly, nobody noticed that in spirit it’s a European film.

  • Daniel m
    Daniel m Month ago

    you guys are lame with this review and your "fear"

  • Janet Hoffman
    Janet Hoffman Month ago

    It's a really really disturbing film, and I agree with your review. I think it's worrying that such a violent portrayal of mental illness has been attached to the Joker. The character has a big following of fans, some of whom may not appreciate the bitter reflection of society the film portrays, and as such may side with the Joker in some way or glamourise his lack of empathy and subsequent violent acts as it was shown to be a result of his childhood/how others have treated him. And like you said, it seems to justify what he does. The same film without the DC attachments would still be as impactful... But it would probably not reach as big an audience.

  • Iman Kundu
    Iman Kundu Month ago

    Also, thank you Dan, for bringing up the sensitive conversation about what the film might represent to someone if they are already mentally and emotionally compromised.

  • rafa45rafa
    rafa45rafa Month ago +3

    Jesus, relax guys. The “controversy” of this movie is waaay overblown🙄

  • Iman Kundu
    Iman Kundu Month ago

    Just watched the movie. I don't feel so good now. Like Dan said, I am disturbed.

  • rvbninjadonut
    rvbninjadonut Month ago

    I don't know that I would say you can't root for joker in this movie. Maybe spoilers?!!


    All the people he kills deserved it. The first three are self defense and in a fair trial he would not even get in trouble. After that the rest are mostly bad people, or at least people who needed to think about their actions.

  • Vlad Avram
    Vlad Avram Month ago

    Disconecting it from Batman all together but keeping the whole clown theme... It woiuld make no sense because Joker is too iconic. If one made a film where a guy named Henry takes a green hoodie(maybe not even green), a bow and arrow and starts killing criminals and call it Archer... I think most moviegoers wouldn't think "that's like green arrow". They'd think "that's a modern robin hood". But the joker is too distinctive and iconic to separate it entirely from Batman mythos. And for real now... Gotham, Wayne, Arkham and the very name of the movie... That ain't so much connection because it doesn't ever really get into the backstory of anything (not really telling who Thomas Wayne is, never mentioning Martha, nothing related to a batcave, no mention of Amadeus Arkham and not one reference to other Batman characters). The only moment when it ties to Batman mythos is... I see that the review is spoiler free so I won't spoil it either, but it's the scene at the end. Aside from that, the movie doesn't "tie" into anything related to Batman

  • Sarah D. Harrell
    Sarah D. Harrell Month ago

    This isn't a review so much as a sermon on morality. And for a film that's actually surprisingly tame, too.

  • Ryan Ellis
    Ryan Ellis Month ago +1

    First, sorry to hear Dan & Roth were threatened with violence. That's just so unacceptable. No one who does what you guys do for a living should face more than a comment along the lines of, I dunno, "I think you're full of shit". That's as far as it ever needs to go...and even that's a bit much. Anyway, your review. STRONG stuff and I was fascinated throughout. I saw the movie a few days ago and I still don't know how to feel about it. Similar to Dan, probably, having a huge amount of respect for how well it's made and acted, but it keyed me up. I told my wife what I thought about it in broad strokes later that night and can't wait to tell her what I think were big mistakes Phillips made once she's seen it. Some have called it the "Fight Club" sequence and Roth alluded to a murder that's connected to the Batman universe. The movie disturbed me immensely...and I think I'm glad it did. There are many people (many men, obviously) like this out there on the streets who might be one little push away from doing something REALLY bad. I don't think this movie is responsible for anything they might ever do, but the comparisons to Taxi Driver are apt. That great flick was probably not the kind of picture an already on-the-edge person needed to see. Joker might be the same. It's funny that Avengers: Endgame was great, but it was such a feel-good and happy tears kind of film. Joker is close to great too, but it's probably going to belong on the same shelf as Irreversible and Antichrist and other non-horror horror pictures that you don't want to watch very often. If ever again. I think that's a compliment.

  • Edgar Marenales
    Edgar Marenales Month ago

    what a bunch of cry babies ... Finally we got a serious movie about a comic book ,and these 2 are shaking in fear , jesus , its not that violent of a movie , its a deep thought movie , with many layers to analyze . you better stick to marvel movies.

  • ADC20032996
    ADC20032996 Month ago

    I've forgotten where I saw this discussed - probably everywhere - but I don't think he had blood on him after he left Beats' apartment, and the yelling that was heard when he was backing his place was a neighbour telling him to stop laughing. That said, there were flashing lights right outside his window and he was doing the laugh, and he usually does the laugh when upset or nervous or stressed etc.

  • Dale
    Dale Month ago +1

    Watching critics wring their hands and get unsettled by this movie - which was pretty damn good - is hilarious to me. It's so odd that critics have fixated on this particular movie as dangerous or unsettling.

    Also, Roth is wrong. The major release of mentally ill individuals back into society started in the 50s and 60s, not the 80s. It may have continued there, but the like most problems we're dealing with today, this issues started in the 60s and we're dealing with the fall out today.

  • bboyhoyack
    bboyhoyack Month ago

    I would love if they were to make an in-universe Batman movie with the same concept.

  • Quinta18
    Quinta18 Month ago

    This is definitely a comic book movie, especially towards the end. It is clearly inspired by specific comics.

  • EndlessImaginations

    People don't like this movie because it confronts their role in society and they don't like that.

  • Katie Mantz
    Katie Mantz Month ago

    I really, really liked Joker. The only parts I didn’t particularly enjoy were when it tried to insert itself into the Batman universe. Whenever a Batman thing showed up it took me out of the movie a little bit.

  • ben23
    ben23 Month ago

    I'm glad it doesn't have 'hollywood sheen' across it. We need films that challenge us sometimes, that make us think. I like that it felt real and is reflective of society; I'm sick of these marvel universe cgi monsters that are churned out, that are there to keep us content and be a form of escapism. This film, although terrifying, was refreshing too in a way

  • Eduardo Ortiz
    Eduardo Ortiz Month ago +4

    Nobody:

    Dan: Sheen

  • Rex Longfellow
    Rex Longfellow Month ago

    Hard disagree. Still a good review.

  • Kiefer Grundman-Brady

    The entire movie was from the perspective of an unreliable source .... there were plenty of moments that Arthur most likely made the wrong call on what he did

  • Mike
    Mike Month ago

    Some constructive criticism here guys...saying that a “thing happens that’s been over done in Batman movies happens in this movie” is a MASSIVE spoiler. Anyone can figure out what that’s implying. It was information I wish I didn’t know going into this movie. Other then that, great work!

  • Andrew Tormanen
    Andrew Tormanen Month ago

    The fact that this movie is becoming mainstream makes me feel like I should see it, but I also value my mental health soooooo probably won't

  • Country Boy Tell'em reactor

    AWSOME 2019 joker movie

  • Missadsong
    Missadsong Month ago +6

    there are so many more "disturbing" movies like se7en, oddly no one remembers that.

  • Paul Charles
    Paul Charles Month ago +3

    Yet y'all loved Silence of the lambs, Psycho, Halloween, Nightmare on Elm Street and Rambo, last blood???

  • Paul Charles
    Paul Charles Month ago +1

    Yeah... attack the mirror for its clarity!

  • Paul Charles
    Paul Charles Month ago +4

    So Rambo Last Blood is OK?

  • Nicole Lane
    Nicole Lane Month ago

    Dan and Roth complained that he only killed those who were mean to him, but Arthur proved to be an unreliable narrator. The movie did seem to reveal that he was not in a relationship with his neighbor and that no one truly laughed at his comedy set, but it set him up to be in his own head.

  • Lift1One
    Lift1One Month ago

    The Joker movie is a remake of V for Vendetta