Biltwell Lane Splitter 1,000 Mile Review - Harley Davidson Sportster Iron 883 Motovlog

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 7, 2017
  • Here's my Biltwell Lane Splitter 1,000 Mile Review. Overall, I love the helmet. Biltwell knocked it out of the park with this one. I do have a couple reservations though... Check it out! Thanks for watching!
    ______
    Instagram: instagram.com/g0nk/
    Facebook: facebook.com/RideWithGonk/
    BIKE:
    ► 2016 Harley Davidson Iron 883 XL883N
    ► Genuine H-D Rigid Leather Locking Saddlebags
    ► Genuine H-D Chopped Fender Luggage Rack
    ► Genuine H-D One-Piece Detachables Sissy Bar Upright
    ► Genuine H-D Diamond Black Hand Grips, Foot Pegs
    ► Genuine H-D Front Directional Relocation Kit
    ► Genuine H-D License Plate/Directional Relocation Kit
    ► Firebrand Loose Cannon Slip-Ons
    ► Mustang Seats Fastback Seat
    ► Custom Dynamics Front and Rear LED Lights
    ► Wisamic 5.75" LED Daymaker Headlight
    ► Memphis Shades Gauntlet Fairing
    ► Drag Specialties Pop-Up Low-Profile Gas Cap
    ► Vance & Hines FP3 Tuner
    ► Arlen Ness Big Sucker Air Filter
    CAMERA AND GEAR:
    ► GoPro Hero4 Silver
    ► GoPro Session
    ► TASCAM DR-05 Portable Digital Recorder
    ► SanDisk Ultra 128GB microSDXC UHS-I Card
    ► Anker PowerCore 13000 Portable Charger for continuous power
    ► Sony ECMCS3 Microphone
    ► Biltwell Lane Splitter Helmet
    ► SPEED AND STRENGTH Quick and the Dead Leather Gloves
    ► Spidi X-Nashville Boots
    ► NoNoise 3PROM0160 Motorsport Ear Protection
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 32

  • Jesus Hector Gomez Espinoza

    BURP!! haha

  • Steven Khosravifard
    Steven Khosravifard 7 months ago +3

    Ive had my helmet for less than a year and the visor rattles at 40+ mph. Not sure if I would purchase another or recommend anyone else does.

    • Gonk
      Gonk  7 months ago

      I use blue. Red would be a bit much for that particular screw.

    • Steven Khosravifard
      Steven Khosravifard 7 months ago

      @Gonk red or blue?

    • Gonk
      Gonk  7 months ago +1

      Try tightening up the visor screws. They tend to get loose, causing the visor to rattle. Don't forget a drop of Loctite on the screws too for good measure. Thanks!

  • GoofyRyder HD
    GoofyRyder HD 7 months ago

    Hey man thanks for this video. I assume your bar clamp is stock with Harleys digital gauge . What about your risers? Are they straight or is there any pullback?

  • SkidPig
    SkidPig 10 months ago

    Good video mate, audio is perfect!! Ride safe

  • 19JUN67 19JUN67
    19JUN67 19JUN67 11 months ago

    Nice neighborhood

  • Luis
    Luis 11 months ago

    How did you mount the GoPro on this helmet? Is the adhesive helmet mount covering the vents ?

    • Gonk
      Gonk  11 months ago

      It is, but doesn't cover the entire vents, and doesn't hamper air flow at all.

  • ernest copoulos
    ernest copoulos Year ago +1

    pretty nice digs where you riding!riding around in a neighborhood like that on a harley in the boston area would get you rousted in 10 minutes!

  • Alex Madl
    Alex Madl Year ago

    Just bought this helmet - sick review man. I live just south of richmond (originally from Chicago) - tons of spots to cruise around here, and weather is 1000x’s better - I love it. Ride safe ✊🏼

  • Will Daniels
    Will Daniels Year ago

    Question for ya, I have a road glide and sport a half helmet normally but have been looking into a full face. How much does this helmet muffle outside sounds? Do you think I would still be able to hear the radio on my bike?

    • Gonk
      Gonk  Year ago

      Oh definitely. It muffles a little bit, but the Lane Splitter is probably the loudest helmet I have worn. It also has a huge amount of air flow, so you'll still get a breeze on your face, even with the face shield lowered. Without any scientific proof of testing I would say it muffles sounds by about 5-10 db.

  • Richard Clarke
    Richard Clarke Year ago

    Can you close the vents? Also what about wind noise

    • Gonk
      Gonk  Year ago

      Unfortunately no. They are 100% open all the time.

  • Glasgow Harley Rider

    Does it feel plastic and cheap build ? like the Simpson venom ' ghost ' here in uk I got delivered today ... shame

    • Glasgow Harley Rider
      Glasgow Harley Rider Year ago +1

      RideWithGonk I can't really get the LS as it rains every day here in Scotland so it's probably Simpson for me . Good video man appreciate

    • Gonk
      Gonk  Year ago +1

      Doesn't feel plastic, but the inner lining started to come "unglued" from the EPS liner in some spots. Disappointing.

  • scowles69
    scowles69 Year ago +1

    did you look at the Gringo S model vs The Lane Splitter ?

  • BlueNordicMoto
    BlueNordicMoto 2 years ago +1

    I am here and enjoy what i see. keep'em coming.🤘

    • Gonk
      Gonk  2 years ago +1

      Thanks man! Appreciate it! Thanks for watching!

  • dippitydoinit
    dippitydoinit 2 years ago +2

    I'm surprised you tolerate my videos if you hate wind noise so much! Also the head and shoulders trick sucks ass IMHO. Get yourself some BLAZE anti fog - lens cleaner. Works great and doesn't smell like MF-ing shampoo! You do need to reapply it regularly but if you hit as many bugs as I do then that shouldn't be too inconvenient.

    • Gonk
      Gonk  2 years ago

      Dude I don't hear any wind noise in your vids at all! But I hear them in mine during post when I'm putting everything together. YT seems to dull it a bit. And I don't mind the smell of the H&S!! Already smell it from my hair so... LOL

  • Luis Armando Chávez Soto

    How you put the go pro?, I have one but I don't know how mount my go pro on the lane splinter.

    • Gonk
      Gonk  2 years ago +1

      At about the 12:21 mark I show a pic of how I "layered" the 3M tape to fit the angles of the chin. It's half-assed, but it works for now.

  • Matt Brown
    Matt Brown 2 years ago

    What jacket are you wearing? I looked in the description and it is not listed. Also, is it skid rated or armored? Great video. Ride well and be happy.

    • Gonk
      Gonk  2 years ago

      Not wearing a jacket in this vid. Just a long sleeve Harley shirt.

  • Matfisto
    Matfisto 2 years ago +5

    I actually bought my lane splitter after I watched your unboxing video, the thing that convinced is the "holes" to mount my sena's speakers, i also got the tinted visor and it looks so basass👊🏼 I'm curious how did you mount the GoPro's mic adapter? It looks as if you did it inside the helmet.

    • Gonk
      Gonk  2 years ago +2

      Awesome man!! The microphone I used in this video is a direct connection to the GoPro with it's Mini-USB port, so I didn't have to worry about the Mic adapter. This is it off Amazon: smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00VWCK0BE It's a bit pricey but it eliminates the need for the adapter. Once I solidify my setup I'll hopefully do a motovlogger setup one day. :)

  • Bozo the clown
    Bozo the clown 2 years ago +1

    great video, you burp alot, lol
    enjoyed the review, I heard you say that you highly recommend the helmet, my questions, would you get a different color, or a graphic?
    also are you going to get a tinted visor?
    thank you, ride safe, peace!

    • Gonk
      Gonk  2 years ago +1

      I personally like the matte black, but I'm considering getting the matte titanium color, it's pretty close to the same color as my bike. They have I believe 7 different colors to choose from! I might get a tinted visor, not sure yet. I have prescription sunglasses that work fine, but they do have 3 or 4 different visor choices. Thanks for watching!