2 Chefs Review French Classic Cookbook from 1914!!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 21, 2019
  • Two chefs, one French cookbook from 1914. It's the ultimate bible to classic French cooking, so how are they going to get on?
    You can find out more about the book we've reviewed in the link below. Just so you know, this is likely to be an affiliate link, which means if you buy something from the store after clicking on them, the store will pay us a percentage of your basket... This doesn't cost or change anything else for you!
    The cookbook can be bought here: amzn.to/2k0hK2u
    WANT TO SUPPORT SORTED?? Here's how to get involved...
    Join our food journey each week by SUBSCRIBING to the channel. Press the bell button to get notifications every time we post: goo.gl/pqaw14
    Become a member of the Sorted club and access the AMAZING tools that have been designed for you to live your best life through food: goo.gl/otD6NF
    Grab a copy of our LATEST cookbook Hero Veg: sorted.club/buy-the-veg-heroes-book/
    Learn more about the world of Sorted here: sorted.club/about-us/
  • Howto & StyleHowto & Style

Comments • 2 270

  • turkeysnot1
    turkeysnot1 6 hours ago

    Looks good. Bone apple teeth.

  • Linnéa Lunderot
    Linnéa Lunderot 23 hours ago

    More from this!!

  • Kateri Wynne
    Kateri Wynne Day ago

    I always so dislike people getting annoyed at how Ben speaks French. At least he speaks it sheesh! Lol! I have been trying to learn on my own for YEARS and I think still, all I can do is introduce myself and ask how someone is. HA! I can however SING in French with like perfect pronunciation which freaks me out... HAHA!

  • Emily S Mo
    Emily S Mo Day ago

    more from this cookbook please!

  • Normalpeopleworryme
    Normalpeopleworryme 3 days ago

    Next book: The Geeky Chef Cookbook could be fun :)

  • Kitty Morrill
    Kitty Morrill 3 days ago +2

    The Pyromaniac's Cookbook!! It's by John Poister and it would be hysterical!

  • 70percentlesscrazy
    70percentlesscrazy 3 days ago +1

    I want to hear you say "pre-packed puff pastry" five times fast. Lol

  • KZN
    KZN 4 days ago

    Is that a piece of hair in the sauce? 9:20? Refire!

  • Johan Oskarsson
    Johan Oskarsson 6 days ago

    You know, it's almost like stepping up a level like they did here really brought out James' enthusiasm, like he finally gets to push himself to the limit technique-wise. Y'all should be doing more of this book.

  • Rúna á Steinamørk

    More of this, pls 🙂🙂

  • Callmepharoh
    Callmepharoh 8 days ago

    Where's my link to the playlist?

  • krister axelsson
    krister axelsson 8 days ago

    Ya guys should try making the Horker loaf from The Elder Scrolls: The Official Cookbook!

  • Troy McDaniel
    Troy McDaniel 8 days ago

    I got a cook book for you. "Who's your mama are you catholic and can you make a roux?" Yes that is the actual name of the book. You can find it on amazon new and amazon UK used.

  • Haaj Peeh
    Haaj Peeh 8 days ago

    This is noisette potatoes hahaha
    www.google.com/search?q=pomme+de+terre+noisette&sxsrf=ACYBGNTPumKtO0dzuW6GfbG5iI98fmEwag:1567944120344&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjSj8iCl8HkAhWDZlAKHbcUBg8Q_AUIEigB&biw=2048&bih=1010

  • barley11011
    barley11011 8 days ago

    Why not have a go at trying this book - Eat Like a Gilmore: The Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of Gilmore Girls www.amazon.co.uk/dp/151071734X/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_oxmDDbHJW3MRG

  • ChessKombat
    ChessKombat 8 days ago

    encore! encore! encore!

  • Sabrina Ferguson
    Sabrina Ferguson 9 days ago

    The Adventurous Eaters Club: Mastering the Art of Family Mealtime by Misha and Vicki Collins

  • Just A Someone
    Just A Someone 9 days ago

    in 1914 where are you going to get spring, late summer and autumn veg on the same plate?
    sure the carrot and turnip can be stored but asparagus and cauliflower?
    It looked nice!

  • Melissa Beitz
    Melissa Beitz 10 days ago

    Legend of Zelda cookbook, backed that one on kickstarter myself.

  • Guy Edwards
    Guy Edwards 10 days ago

    Do one on Mrs Beeton's Book of Household Management! I got this at a school prize day, never did anything with it surprisingly :-)

  • kerepus
    kerepus 12 days ago

    Next cookbook : Cooking with Poo

  • theden.se
    theden.se 12 days ago

    Try to get ahold of this one and make something from it: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cajsa_Warg

  • Olivia Bolivia
    Olivia Bolivia 12 days ago

    Wait, so today did I learn that 'bon' means 'good' in French?

  • Robert Headley
    Robert Headley 13 days ago

    I would like to see you cook something by Alton Brown. His biscuits come to mind. Should provide lots of entertainment, since biscuits in the UK are cookies, US Biscuits I suppose are more like savory scones.

  • SC S
    SC S 13 days ago

    Do "The Joy of Cooking" as a contrast to this.

  • Michel Tisdale
    Michel Tisdale 13 days ago

    I recommend The Wide Wide World of Texas Cookery

  • Justin Gillrie
    Justin Gillrie 14 days ago

    Do Hanna Glas' the art of cookery.

  • Brigitte Gross Valentine

    TRY!!!! The Little House Cookbook: Frontier foods from Laura Ingalls Wilder’s classic stories

  • Tom Harrison
    Tom Harrison 14 days ago +1

    I love when the dude said "interpretated" both chefs looked at him. Thank the ginger chef for saying "interpreted" shortly after.

  • Jayne Richmond
    Jayne Richmond 15 days ago +2

    How about reviewing another classic French cookbook? The 14th Century Le Viandier de Taillevent?
    Recipes from the medieval French court... With even fewer instructions.

  • Julienne Santos
    Julienne Santos 15 days ago

    PLEASE DO ANOTHER GUIDED RECIPE FROM THE SAME BOOK. I love the interpretative cooking. Cheers

  • The Angelocalypse
    The Angelocalypse 16 days ago

    Jamie's French actually turned me on.

  • Alex Garbarino
    Alex Garbarino 17 days ago

    Give us the Bob's Burgers cookbook!

  • bbstucki
    bbstucki 17 days ago +6

    Next cookbook: "The Art of Cookery" from 1747. Don't forget your period specific wigs and waistcoats gents!

  • RandomChance727
    RandomChance727 17 days ago

    I'm in culinary school and let me say tourne is a useless pain in the buty

  • TheMaariaanaa
    TheMaariaanaa 17 days ago

    Loved this!

  • Clan HerreraLafontaine

    WORLD OF WARCRAFT: THE OFFICIAL COOKBOOK
    amzn.to/32bUXkv

  • DoYouSarcasm?
    DoYouSarcasm? 18 days ago

    any french looking this : "amazing that every 6 y.o french child know what pommes noisettes (noisette potatoes) is but all those chefs that are basically neighbour don't know what it is. Not one of the dishes got it right !

  • Ricky Mallard
    Ricky Mallard 18 days ago

    There's so much in this book, you guys should definitely use it a few more times!!

  • WeirdestWolf
    WeirdestWolf 18 days ago

    I gotta say, some of the puff pastry from the chef school looks very pale.

  • geheimrat.tobler
    geheimrat.tobler 19 days ago

    a) Ben's french is awful! And I'm not even french. b) Do Napoleon's wedding cake!!!

  • Heather Bain
    Heather Bain 19 days ago

    How about The Broons Cookbook or the follow up to it? Some traditional old ads in there are brilliant and have recipes attached.

  • Emily Hunter
    Emily Hunter 20 days ago

    How about the official Overwatch cookbook?

  • iluvnickjonas4life81
    iluvnickjonas4life81 21 day ago +1

    a ‘My Drunk Kitchen’ a la Hannah Hart would be AMAZING.

  • rockabybaby
    rockabybaby 24 days ago

    Next cookbook: outlander kitchen

  • Javelina
    Javelina 24 days ago

    Next cookbook: Hot Sour Salty Sweet

  • Jenn V.S.O.P
    Jenn V.S.O.P 27 days ago

    I really enjoy these cookbook episodes.
    But I also really liked seeing the chefs being chefy and I'd like MORE OF THIS PLEASE.

  • VeretenoVids
    VeretenoVids 27 days ago

    Cook from a copy of Elena Molokhovets' A Gift to Young Housewives (first published 1861).

  • Alex Hernandez
    Alex Hernandez 27 days ago

    Their next cookbook should be
    "The Art of the Deal"
    By President Donald Trump

  • nrok113
    nrok113 28 days ago

    This is my favorite of all of your videos that I've seen.

  • Chelsea Curcio
    Chelsea Curcio Month ago

    MORE PLEASE!!! Would love to see two normals interpretation vs Ben and James!

  • lyucky1
    lyucky1 Month ago

    I like it when the chefs cook together!!!

  • Anthony Englezou
    Anthony Englezou Month ago

    The World of Warcraft Cook Book, it has some great recipes ranging from crab cakes to roast turkey to white chocolate cake. I got it myself (since I'm a massive nerd) after watching your videos made me really want to start cooking new things.

  • Jennifer Diggs
    Jennifer Diggs Month ago

    is my tv broken or are those potatoes green?

  • 19billdong96
    19billdong96 Month ago

    4:30 Jamie getting schooled is awesome to watch xD

  • Shauna XX
    Shauna XX Month ago

    Rosanna pansinos cook book

  • bcgrote
    bcgrote Month ago

    Chrissy Tiegen's book!

  • Mark Gaudry
    Mark Gaudry Month ago

    Try one of the cook books from the 18th century in re-print at Townsends (a living history supply company with a you tube channel). They seem to use minimalistic directions as well so it could get very interesting.

  • Yuki Hiou
    Yuki Hiou Month ago

    I wonder is the recipes from anime is a choice? Like from the anime 'Food Wars'

  • greenmoneyfairy
    greenmoneyfairy Month ago

    There is a Roman cooking book. I would be amazing if they understanded it.