Dark Phoenix - Doug Reviews

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 7, 2019
  • The latest X-Men movie is getting fried by critics, lets see if Doug can find anything good about it. Let's take a look at Dark Phoenix.
    Watch the new NC here - ru-clip.com/video/3nY90-U70kc/video.html
    Dark Phoenix (also known as X-Men: Dark Phoenix) is a 2019 American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics X-Men characters, produced by 20th Century Fox and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. It is the twelfth installment in the X-Men film series, a direct sequel to X-Men: Apocalypse (2016), and the seventh and final installment in the main X-Men series. The film is written and directed by Simon Kinberg and stars an ensemble cast featuring James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, Nicholas Hoult, Sophie Turner, Tye Sheridan, Alexandra Shipp, and Jessica Chastain.
    Go to our Store for Awesome Stuff - theawesomestore.com
    Get some Nostalgia Critic T-Shirts here - shrsl.com/?~96c0
    See more at our Site: channelawesome.com
    Facebook: facebook.com/channelawesome
    Twitter: twitter.com/channelawesome
    Instagram: instagram.com/channelawesome/
    Like Doug on Facebook: facebook.com/pages/Doug-Walker/127127037353766
    The ONLY Official RU-clip channel for the Nostalgia Critic and Channel Awesome.
    New Nostalgia Critic episodes every Wednesday at 5PM CST.
    New Top 5 Best/Worst every Tuesday at 5PM CST
    New Real Thoughts or 1st Viewing episodes every Thursday at 5PM CST.
    New Tamara's Never Seen every Friday at 5PM CST.
    Classic Nostalgia Critic episodes are uploaded after they are cleared. TV Show Vlogs are uploaded on an inconsistent schedule, so check the playlists. Same with Doug Reviews, Sibling Rivalry, and Bum Reviews.
    #DarkPhoenix #Xmen
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 264

  • Channel Awesome
    Channel Awesome  2 months ago +228

    X-Men....I'm not mad, I'm disappointed. Hey Disney, you got any Gambit?
    Watch the new NC review - ru-clip.com/video/3nY90-U70kc/video.html
    Watch more X-Men reviews - ru-clip.com/video/xjJWbcgO1ZM/video.html

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Month ago

      @Mad Brad Jean didn't die. Its explicitly stated and shown that she was alive.

    • Dreamcatcher721
      Dreamcatcher721 Month ago

      I wonder how Doug feels about The Gifted then?

    • Frank Barrie
      Frank Barrie 2 months ago

      wrong, that wasnt the white queen.. lol more proof of u and ur bro not rly knowin much bout the comics...u can even google it for god sakes lol

    • Frank Barrie
      Frank Barrie 2 months ago

      wrong, that wasnt the white queen

    • Yakuno Hayashi
      Yakuno Hayashi 2 months ago

      Review Iron Fist series

  • Alucard99
    Alucard99 3 days ago

    2019 has REALLY! gone dead and distorted with epic finales, in comparison to the end of Game of Thrones.

  • raynarayskye
    raynarayskye 14 days ago

    Mr. Peanut Butter tho....

  • Kaagh178
    Kaagh178 16 days ago

    Dark Phoenix. A good reason to keep Simon Kinberg away from comic book movies from now on.

  • Amy Xoxo
    Amy Xoxo 27 days ago

    I agree about the tone/cadence of acting in these movies. It's like they have a superhero setting and the director turns the dial.

  • D G
    D G 28 days ago

    Lol, I hate those RU-clip thumbnails

  • The Smart-Casual Gamer.

    3:55 Stilted?

  • Pixel Man
    Pixel Man Month ago

    When I saw the first score on rotten tomatoes for dark Phoenix
    I hated the internet #Rotten tomatoes

  • Patrick Oliver
    Patrick Oliver Month ago +1

    Logan was the last good one and it actually ends the story without technically ending it

  • Dalton Smith
    Dalton Smith Month ago

    You didn't review godzilla king of the monsters 2019

  • fusionaut23
    fusionaut23 Month ago

    Coming from the man who wrote the Dark Phoenix Saga: What he says outweighs anything so called critics could ever say about the film.
    Writing on his Instagram page, Claremont said, “Thanks to [Simon Kinberg and Sophie Turner] for bringing Jean’s story so wonderfully to life! Essentially true to the original comics story, it turned the focus of the X-film from Charley & Eric (& Hank & Raven) to the students, to Scott (& Ororo & Kurt) & most of all, to Jean and did so brilliantly.”
    Claremont goes on to compare the film favorably to the more MacGuffin-based villainy of Thanos in Avengers End Game by writing, “This is *her* story. Here, [Jessica Chastain] is the putative adversary but the real foe is the temptation Jean feels herself. This is all about her in a way Thanos/Avengers was not. Their battle was more traditional, Tony’s sacrifice a culmination of story progression. Jean was a kid, college-age with her whole life ahead. She [had] everything to live for. Tony faced sacrifice, to save not only the world but the wife & child he loved. Jean’s choice was *so* much more primal and therefore difficult. And this movie tells that story oh so well.”

  • Sam Fisher
    Sam Fisher Month ago

    This movie was way better than expected. The score was fantastic, the action was good. Not my least favorite xman movie by far. Loved it. Glad I saw it in theaters before it was gone. People went in biased as shit. I will be buying it.

  • Mutsor Tima
    Mutsor Tima Month ago

    With the critical and box office failure of this movie, Disney has shelved all upcoming projects related to X-Men and Deadpool, with the lone exception being The New Mutants, which, according to reports, will now be completely rewritten to divorce itself from to those two film series, and refilmed from scratch with new director Jordan Peele.

  • Thomas
    Thomas Month ago

    not as bad as the worse reviews, just very disappointing and very much bad way to go out

  • dante future
    dante future Month ago

    You said bad things about endgame dislike.👎

  • Vinnie Tolento
    Vinnie Tolento Month ago

    Your 11th on the list of reviews on my end.

  • Buffalo Pregame
    Buffalo Pregame Month ago

    I'm hoping Marvel will use the xmen like they were intended in the cartoon However, I really hope they keep the actors and use the alternate universe angle

  • Nick Brennen
    Nick Brennen Month ago

    To be perfectly honest, I would have given the movie a pass. A very mild pass. If they had put her in the goddamn red and gold outfit with the bird. They’ve done the silly comic outfits before, just do it for her.

  • bbbddvv ndg
    bbbddvv ndg Month ago

    Ok so i kinda gotta admit i like these movies but ever since end game came out i just hold every movie to that standard and just. .....nothing compares to it, it's like eating the most delicious food in the world and then eating something different only for it to taste like the master of disguise

  • Creative Videos 13
    Creative Videos 13 Month ago

    Angry thumbnail face0:55 still not good1:30 step backwards , terrible compared to this , acting so awkward3:15 monotone , boring , not surprisingly4:12throughouthe whole thing4:44 more smiling5:10 long drawn out andramatic , tell a few jokes , get a few laughs , they're misable 5:58 at least it's a bit more6:20 ridiculous7:47 they're doing this thing again , slow8:20 old after a while8:53 goes crazy pretty fast9:20 go nuts9:55only interesting thing about her , get y she's there10:40 nice kind character11:14 y?11:43 nothat interesting12:30 kind of dull lost a friend editing I don'think so goes nuts didn't wanto kill most of the characters17:05 no connection withem , cool scenes acting crazy , really bad , she's bad here 18:20written to make jokes about 18:40ending honestly 19:00 please starthis over , lethis be the last one ,whatever you want call it singer universe the cool ones are gone not gonna bring him back , do a TV show let's stop this universe , acts like they're kind of done kind of gets hurt , not interesting , that's terrible , start over , stop this universe start over they're done

  • Vincent DiPietro
    Vincent DiPietro Month ago

    this is a shit remake of the last stand

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Month ago

      How? Jean is not really evil in the movie. It's about her going on a hero's journey.

  • IBadGrammar
    IBadGrammar Month ago +1

    i enjoy movie is not bad at all

  • Andrew Carnborn
    Andrew Carnborn Month ago +1

    The movie was ok. Not awesome. Just...ok

  • Bebe Heart
    Bebe Heart Month ago

    Erm, I would say Storm and Cyclops are fan favorites they're just given terrible character development

  • Kulifilms
    Kulifilms 2 months ago

    Where’s Toy Story 4????

  • Solo Travis
    Solo Travis 2 months ago +1

    I really liked it. I felt like I was watching an episode from 1992 again. Maybe the beers in a theater helped, but man going out in space and stuff like that I thought it was pretty loud.

    • Solo Travis
      Solo Travis Month ago

      @Silenthitman44 I watched the movie three times. between this and Logan this is probably one of my favorite X-Men movies now

    • Silenthitman44
      Silenthitman44 Month ago

      Hell no it didn't feel like anything from that show, go watch the show and then this movie because you didn't see it

  • colonelcrispyrice432
    colonelcrispyrice432 2 months ago +1

    by no means was Dark Phoenix bad, it was just boring as hell which is I guess a huge sin for a marvel superhero movie. I actually rather prefer X-men the last stand coz the fight scenes were more entertaining plus famke jensen was a way more intimidating dark phoenix than sansa stark with cracked skin

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Month ago

      I saw Dark Phoenix twice and rewatched the fight scenes in X3. I don't see how anyone can say that X3 had better fight scenes. They were so badly choreographed unlike Dark Phoenix. But this movie wasn't made to be a summer blockbuster.

  • swordpanda7 panda7
    swordpanda7 panda7 2 months ago

    Jean : The Mary Sue in the love triangle

  • swordpanda7 panda7
    swordpanda7 panda7 2 months ago

    42nd

  • Screw The Net
    Screw The Net 2 months ago +1

    Basically, as everything else has been foretold, such as mega corporations, its been happening slowly for over 20 years the mergers and acquisitions that have been leading to this. For instance, it was obvious Disney would acquire fox, because not only are they and have they been megacorp status for years, with them owning lucas and marvel, it made sense they wanted fox for the xmen, wolverine, and especially Deadpool, hence the experiment with deadpool 2 going pg13 last year.

  • Screw The Net
    Screw The Net 2 months ago

    SOPHIE SUCKS! After they made days of future past, they began to retcon like crazy, but most people dont realize it. Since then, they have done all the retro feel stories like the apocalypse thing but taking place way further back, as if it was the original x factor comic, and then this explains why we see the xmen now in the 90s again. But its all just to catch up to the 2000s xmen, so its coming full circle, and they will probably do spin offs like Xforce with cable and deadpool, excalibur or the gambit movie because they NEED to have mr sinister once and for all. I wont see dark phoenix though. Sophie turner sucks.

    • Utah Kirillova
      Utah Kirillova Month ago

      you suck. Sophie Turner was the best part od this film.

  • NooneofImportance
    NooneofImportance 2 months ago

    I don't know, last few movies I've seen Jennifer Lawrence in, it seems like she's phoning it in. Her and Hoult really seem to be phoning it in lately

    • NooneofImportance
      NooneofImportance Month ago

      @Naughty Avatar That's fine if you disagree. I just wish he'd wear the damn makeup.

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Month ago

      Strongly disagree with you on Hoult.

  • Frank Jackson
    Frank Jackson 2 months ago +1

    Is it just me or storm needs a spin off ...of course with lupita nyongo as storm

  • Redflametrow
    Redflametrow 2 months ago +1

    The problem with this movie or any movie about the Phoenix is it's a saga. In the comics it's around 40 issues from getting the powers to death. In the comics I think it takes well over 6 months. Basically to tell the story properly, they need at least 4 movies if not an entire run like the MCU to Thanos.

    Starting with the second generation rescuing the first generation of mutants in the comics, they change the tone to something much darker. Even on their second mission, a new member dies making sure the bad guy doesn't get away.

    The actual Phoenix saga is a story about the world falling apart and Jean Grey being the light that holds it together. They stop the sentinels in space which Jean sacrifices herself to save the rest of them, only for her to spectacularly revive. Then they go on another mission in the earth's core to stop Magneto. At the end of that mission lava is flowing at them so Jean protects the team again but I believe she and Beast survive without the rest of the team knowing for 6 months with Jean assuming the rest died as well. When she wakes up we do get a brief battle against one of Galactus's heralds (I think Firelord) vs Jean to show how much she's grown. Then shortly after they reunite they find out an alien empire coup has happened and they need to save the literal universe from a tyrant. Jean sacrifices herself again risking herself to weave the fabric together containing a universe with a moment where Storm sees her dying and grabs onto her to help save the day then the others help as well. This exhausting saga brings them back to Earth only to find the Hellfire Club. While they've been struggling for acceptance these secret rulers of the world want dominance. They get inside Jean's head as part of Mastermind's plan and Emma Frost's tech and help create a dark version of her. This is where you get the Dark Phoenix. When she's told to kill Scott, their mental link allows her to resist and break free of Mastermind's control only to immediately lobotomize him. Then she rapidly leaves and commits one of the most memorable turns of heroes and she destroys a star with an inhabited planet, as well as a flagship of an alien fleet with hardly any effort. She comes back mad with power only to defeat the X-Men rapidly displaying powers never seen before. Xavier manages to battle her under control. Then the Shi'ari show up to enact justice. Xavier convinces them to do trial by combat. The X-Men fight the elite of this galactic empire and all but Jean are getting beaten easily. Jean feels the power welling up again but knows she has to stop. She offers her life to spare her friends and then she kills herself rather than risking herself losing control again.

    I mean that's a lot but it's also an extreme summary. Jean is the hero who sees herself as too dangerous. It's a great story of tragedy and one character sacrificing herself time and again. Even this saga helped make Wolverine relevant as he has two great battle scenes but otherwise was just stabby guy up to this point.

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Month ago

      Its not 40 issues long. There most of those issues had nothing to do with Phoenix. That said this was suppose to be a two-parter but the studio had axed that plan in late pre-production and condensed it into a single film. As a result, the Shi'Ar were cut from the film and Jessica Chastain was going to play Lilandra but her role had to be changed.

      Also, Jean doesn't really become evil in the movie. It was more about her going on a hero's journey more than anything else.

  • Justice Productions
    Justice Productions 2 months ago

    3:25 and their boring and their monotone.....and their Brie Larson

  • Wolf Pack Gaming
    Wolf Pack Gaming 2 months ago

    wwelp, now we have all we need to throw x-men into the MCU

  • Rob Hernandez
    Rob Hernandez 2 months ago +1

    Dark phoenix > x3, the wolverine, origins, apocalypse.
    Just my opinion....

  • Frank Barrie
    Frank Barrie 2 months ago

    wrong, that wasnt the white queen.. lol more proof of u and ur bro not rly knowin much bout the comics...u can even google it for god sakes lol

  • Frank Barrie
    Frank Barrie 2 months ago

    wrong, that wasnt the white queen.. lol more proof of u and ur bro not rly knowin much bout the comics...u can even google it for god sakes lol

  • Anything. Lucy
    Anything. Lucy 2 months ago +1

    Spoiler warning







    When mystique died, I finally felt what Wolverine fans felt during Logan. I loved mystique and I went to her for Halloween one year

    • Anything. Lucy
      Anything. Lucy Month ago

      Silenthitman44 actually I got more trash for the character being basically naked(I wore a blue suit)

    • Silenthitman44
      Silenthitman44 Month ago

      Lol 99% of the fanbase hates her bet you got trashed for it and her death was stupid no emotion felt at any point.
      Where as Logan's had plenty of emotions don't compare them

  • tang roro
    tang roro 2 months ago

    It's not X-men, *IT'S X-WOMEN!*

  • Kirk Emmery
    Kirk Emmery 2 months ago

    I want a X-Men movie with the 90s cartoon vibe. Oh, and I also want a high buget Tick movie. Spoooooooon! ;P

  • Charlie B
    Charlie B 2 months ago

    I am getting so freaking tired of ppl saying to blame the acting on the direction. If you're a good actor you'll elevate the material, if you're not then THAT'S when you are completely at the mercy of the direction. Listen, the acting wasn't good...full stop. The acting wasn't good, so the actors didn't do a good job acting.

  • Christopher Mondy
    Christopher Mondy 2 months ago +2

    I thought dark phoenix was pretty good

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Day ago

      Silenthitman44, learn to not be such a bigot.

    • Christopher Mondy
      Christopher Mondy Month ago

      Well I did see the movie and know it's problems but that's not a reason to instant hate it

    • Silenthitman44
      Silenthitman44 Month ago

      @Christopher Mondy
      Are you serious lol that is the wrong thing to say to someone WHO ACTUALLY SAW THEM ALL
      Also if you actually saw this not only does it further distance itself from the originals it distances itself from both days of future past and apocalypse and basically creates another timeline so lol no now I know you didn't see it

    • Christopher Mondy
      Christopher Mondy 2 months ago

      @Silenthitman44 The movie isn't bad if you watch all the others before it

    • Silenthitman44
      Silenthitman44 2 months ago

      If you saw it that is, if so then you have bad taste if not then why are you here

  • Sergy Casimir
    Sergy Casimir 2 months ago

    I'm sorry to tell you but it's not going to be X-Men anymore it's going to be a x women they're changing the title of the franchise yeah so I'm sorry I'm going to have a funeral reception for the X-Men series sometime I hopefully this year rest in peace to everyone's childhood of X-Men and comic books

  • Dalton Smith
    Dalton Smith 2 months ago +1

    Doug wheres Godzilla king of the monsters at man. Did you even watch the movie. You better review this movie right away.

  • Chris Corley
    Chris Corley 2 months ago

    My rating? A+ grade / 5 stars. Excellent! This is the best X-MEN film so far. 🎥 _c.

    • Silenthitman44
      Silenthitman44 2 months ago

      Oh stop you are just spamming bullshit and probably didn't see it

  • Robert was no more
    Robert was no more 2 months ago +1

    X-Men Trilogy good, Logan a fucking proper send off. And then they remake the X-men, so many remakes suck ass.

  • Bob Kelsh
    Bob Kelsh 2 months ago

    You are weird....just weird

  • Greg Mehlin
    Greg Mehlin 2 months ago

    I don’t know about Doug, but I’d kill to have Storm and Nightcrawler trading cards

  • Daniel Diaz
    Daniel Diaz 2 months ago

    It wasn't dark phoenix, it was bad jeans! I'll see myself out

  • finesstro
    finesstro 2 months ago

    I guess my biggest dislike was the way it didn’t feel complete at the end. It felt like a huge piece was missing and I don’t even know what it could be, the movie just didn’t feel like it actually came full circle. Also, yeah what’s up with the Apocalypse continuity weirdness? Cause how did she have the Phoenix Force at the end of that movie and then get re-introduced to it in this movie? It wouldn’t add up, because Mystique was alive at the end of Apocalypse.. Lol
    Edit: JLaw wanted out of this franchise so badly so I don’t doubt that people thought her acting was bad.

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Day ago

      They cut out a fuck ton of scenes. That is why.

  • Herpaderp Derp
    Herpaderp Derp 2 months ago

    your not even gonna talk about the rename it to x women instead of x men scene really pussy

  • Akeisha Therocker
    Akeisha Therocker 2 months ago +3

    I love this film!

  • Everaldo Santos
    Everaldo Santos 2 months ago

    I liked this movie, but it was so confused, many plot holes, she already had the Phoenix in Apocalipse and in this one she regains the same power, and the way this movie just ended..., it's again inconsistent like the others X - movies, but this one is the icing on top of the cake because it had an ending that didn't make any sense knowing they are the younger versions of the original X - Men, and it was supposed to be their final connection with the original trilogy, or the first two movies since Last Stand was kinda erased, their final growth to their older selves. Still after Days of the Future Past, the inconsistencies exist, it shouldn't be that way. And i didn't wanna talk about the charaters' ages, most of them didn't age since the 60's till 92, others as Emma Frost and Ororo started as children in Wolverine Origins but in The First Class Tetralogy movies ( yeah, Dark Phoenix is the first and the last Fox's Marvel movie to acomplish four movies of the same story, FIrst Class Tetralogy, like Endgame is also Disney's Marvel Cinematic Universe first movie to make another Tetralogy, the Avengers Tetralogy movies ) they are teenagers, and also Angel in Apocalipse is a teen like his Last Stand version too, so many things that logically didn't and still don't work. I was ok with that, since First Class 2 ( Days of the Future Past ) erased that timeline, but watching today the fourth movie of these young X - Men ending like this, just throws continuity out of the window for good like it was nothing, with Fox's final X - Men movie. How every writer or director of all the X - movies allowed this to happen, movie after movie? I think they just didn't care with that.

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Day ago

      There was no cosmic force in Apocalypse. That was all her mutant power.

  • Jack Kaller
    Jack Kaller 2 months ago +2

    I think you should review it

  • Ashannemarie ON HIATUS
    Ashannemarie ON HIATUS 2 months ago

    Best part of the movie is Charles and Erik retiring and talking about living together. Lol glad they had a happy ending

    • Ashannemarie ON HIATUS
      Ashannemarie ON HIATUS 2 months ago

      @Rob Hernandez praise the chess proposal lol

    • Rob Hernandez
      Rob Hernandez 2 months ago

      I like how it ended on them playing chess. I thought it was a cool call back!

  • Rods toy box
    Rods toy box 2 months ago +1

    Doesn't help that Sophie Turner can't act.

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Day ago

      No, she captured a person with mental health issues well.

    • Patrick Oliver
      Patrick Oliver Month ago

      Half the people in the business today are just pretty faces with no acting ability whatsoever

  • Kako phonien
    Kako phonien 2 months ago +1

    he called it! in deadpool 2 review!

  • Corey Bradley
    Corey Bradley 2 months ago +1

    .....goes crazy pretty fa "fast reliable internet" lol ads amiright?

  • Dude w the Dragon Tattoo 716

    Yeah this just felt like one X-Men movie too many to me. Everything from the actors' performances to the story felt dull and uninspired. Apocalypse wasn't good but it at least had the perfect sendoff for the franchise, with the new team assembled for the first time.

  • Sir HighRoller
    Sir HighRoller 2 months ago +2

    I thought the movie was good saw it yesterday I'll give it a 79%

  • James Schrader
    James Schrader 2 months ago +1

    I know X-month is done, but please do a nostalgia critic review of this.

  • 3DHDcat
    3DHDcat 2 months ago

    holy fuck how high pitched is his voice? my ears are fucking bleeding. What the hell

  • James Richards
    James Richards 2 months ago

    Movie writing is becoming more and more incongruent with an increasing amount of plotholes.

  • Pedro Galindo
    Pedro Galindo 2 months ago +1

    Cyclops > Wolverine

  • MikeLive1285
    MikeLive1285 2 months ago +1

    has anyone ever told you that you sound like Brent Spiner, that creepy scientist from Independence Day? I say that with the utmost respect lol.

  • John Tminustwentyminutes Mercier

    I'm sad to say, this movie needs Jar Jar Binks.

  • Siamese Warrior
    Siamese Warrior 2 months ago

    I liked this movie it’s just that I felt it was predictable. The climax was mediocre and the movie went downhill after that.

  • ionescu paul
    ionescu paul 2 months ago

    it's the brown note

  • VlP KSA
    VlP KSA 2 months ago

    Do barman vs teenage mutant ninja turtles

  • RC Polygons
    RC Polygons 2 months ago

    I wanted more quicksliver. I wish they made a quicksliver movie. I really love the character.

  • Nadine Stacey
    Nadine Stacey 2 months ago

    It bugs me that they set up all these characters...spent all this money to remake the X MEN movies....they have a TON of source material for literally any audience, and they redid essentially the exact story line! Phoenix was boring the first time they did it and boring the second time....I would have loved to see a new arc from the comics or even an original one but nope...

    • Naughty Avatar
      Naughty Avatar Day ago

      They didn’t redo any storyline. Jean wasn’t even a villain in this movie.

  • Juan Sebastian Rodr’guez Montenegro

    It didn’t feel like an x-men film, it lacked the opening credits, the acting was odd, while the score was good, I just think it made the tone even more somber, and honestly I just keep waiting for Fassbender to carry this film like Apocalypse but even he wasn’t as great. I liked it but I prefer the last stand because at least that one was more entertaining and fun for me.

  • Pandiac
    Pandiac 2 months ago

    It was Emma frost in first class