2019 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse Review / After 4k mile ride

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 16, 2018
  • After taking My 2019 Indian Chieftian Dark Horse on a nearly 4k mile road trip I sit with you and tell all that I like and dislike about this new motorcycle
    **Subscribe ( Its free) 👉🏽 goo.gl/7GnBRP
    *Yesterdays video (again free) : goo.gl/nVfcNc
    ** My ASR products/Merch (this time not free, but it helps us get down the road and do good) : shop.adamsandovalrides.com
    My name is Adam Sandoval and I travel the country with 2 goals, 1. Give back to our community and veterans. 2. Inspire people to live/enjoy the motorcycle culture. This channel is a window into my life and all these efforts.
    Thank you for watching.

    **Please give us a "share" and help us reach more people .

    Our Links,
    *My Channel: ru-clip.com/user/adamsandoval
    *Facebook: facebook.com/ScootinAmerica/
    *Instagram: instagram.com/adam_sandoval_rides/
    *Twitter: twitter.com/ScootinAmerica?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor
    **Website: adamsandovalrides.com

Comments • 908

  • Frank Hummel
    Frank Hummel 3 hours ago

    Indian hat, Indian jacket, free Indian motorcycle, sales pitch style review. Yeah this review wasn't paid for.

  • Forsaken Warlord5
    Forsaken Warlord5 7 days ago +1

    To bad they don't make bike like the roadglide. It's honestly the best ride I have had.

  • Joseph Marton
    Joseph Marton 7 days ago

    must be very bright in there, should turn down the lights, them dark sun glasses could come off and you can be honest and look people in the eye.

  • Scott Campbell
    Scott Campbell 9 days ago +1

    Adam, Thank you so much for your views on this 2019 Indian Chieftain® Dark Horse. I was on the fence about getting this, but now I'm on board and can't wait to go pick mine up!

  • Sam Wood
    Sam Wood 9 days ago

    The way you pronounce chieftain pains me

  • YYC Designz RC Creations

    Clear, concise, informative & surprise surprise, honest!! An good review & worth the watch ( I subbed too).

  • KBG KGardner
    KBG KGardner 11 days ago

    Love the Indians and the way they ride......power an issue with me and reliability. I can’t see leaving my Stratoliner Deluxe quite yet...love her.

  • ima piledriver
    ima piledriver 12 days ago

    put the pretty chic back on

  • Big sexy
    Big sexy 12 days ago

    I'm seriously liking what you showed us ! That windshield is so sweet and stereo!

  • yooser naime
    yooser naime 13 days ago

    I like your reviews, but why do you dress like you're twelve?

  • Chieftain Rider
    Chieftain Rider 14 days ago

    Great reviews. But I have to did agree with you on the blinker switch. Other than Harley nearly every other bike manufactured has that same switch style since the 60's.
    Apparently you have only ridden Harley's. All your life.

  • ivansakent
    ivansakent 16 days ago +2

    Love your review but you are wrong regarding blinkers/indicators ,hate hate hate having one either side as don’t want to piss around with a switch on your throttle side,I have an mgx21 but have to admit nothing has turned my head at all until this bike

  • Dennis Morris
    Dennis Morris 18 days ago +1

    I pretty much love & respect all brands

  • Dennis Morris
    Dennis Morris 18 days ago +1

    Aren't they more expensive then harleys?

  • Dennis Morris
    Dennis Morris 18 days ago +1

    It looks badass

  • Dennis Morris
    Dennis Morris 18 days ago +1

    I'm glad to see Harley Davidson get some competition I don't want to see them fail, they are a American company. They create jobs. I wish them the best. But I'm a hd guy currently, it's not likely I'll ever change...

  • Dennis Morris
    Dennis Morris 18 days ago +1

    Yea but dealers are scarce & will they be in business in 10 years?

  • Wayne Gordon
    Wayne Gordon 18 days ago +1

    Is the GPS in the Nav system upgradable?

  • Andy hoff
    Andy hoff 18 days ago +2

    That bike is dope!

  • G.E. Solis
    G.E. Solis 19 days ago +1

    Awesome review! Very well done.

  • Kristopher Nielsen
    Kristopher Nielsen 20 days ago +2

    I had a shot every time I head "I love" and now I'm off work for a week while I recover!

  • Scott Wilson
    Scott Wilson 20 days ago

    Are those your sons sunglasses?

  • halim dawdi
    halim dawdi 20 days ago +1

    I love that bike , that would be a dream come true just to ride one . Great video.
    Keep up the good work .

  • Next Level Eddie
    Next Level Eddie 21 day ago +2

    Bro awesome video! Thank you for this .
    By the way where do you get the jacket and hat, looked alot of places cant find it.

  • Ryan Ainlay
    Ryan Ainlay 22 days ago +2

    Sweater? I want one!

  • Twisted Indian
    Twisted Indian 26 days ago +1

    Good honest review. I have the ‘17 model Chieftain and love the handling of it. The ride modes are a nice new touch and wish mine had that. You can get more out of the engine, for sure. FM has some PowerVision ECU tuners that work well, along with a venom plenum (or other efficient AC) and some 585 Cams and you will be putting down about 105 HP to the rear wheel (and in the neighborhood of 130 Tq).
    I’ve done a few 3k - 5k trips on mine and it is incredibly comfortable and beyond capable. I had the heated extended Indian tour seat installed on mine when I took delivery. This bike will eat up the slab for miles and miles and still thrill you in the twisties!

  • Leon _rides93
    Leon _rides93 26 days ago +1

    Nice bike 👍🏼👍🏼

  • Grgy Gantz
    Grgy Gantz 28 days ago +1

    I do currently own a Harley. It’s funny though. When it’s time for tires or service. I find my self at the local Indian dealer. The atmosphere of the dealership is second to none. I think Harley has lost touch with not only their end user, but also their investors. The sales department at Indian. Is not as pushy as the local Harley dealer. I did do a test ride last year. On the same bike you have. Had a stage 2 and I can say it was quick. This past week I checked out the chieftain with the big bore kit. Sweet ride. So think. It just mite be time too leave the Harley behind and ride to the beat of a different drum. I think Indian has made clear that they are beating their war drums and coming after Harley.

  • Football Freekan
    Football Freekan 28 days ago +1

    Excellent review Mate .. Thumps Up

  • matos jay
    matos jay Month ago +1

    fuck that..road glide!

  • matos jay
    matos jay Month ago

    trader..

  • Dan Mccormick
    Dan Mccormick Month ago

    I hear lots of complaints on fork mounted fairings. How does this one work out? Thanks

  • Zorro Z
    Zorro Z Month ago

    It's nice to see, refreshing actually - someone who actually rides talking about his/her ride instead of the fake bikers, who sit in the garage drinking beer, waxing the paint, and day dreaming about being a bad ass biker and the most amount of miles pushing them around the garage making room for Mama to park her minivan. Trading my 2017 Road King need an Indian to go with my 2019.5 EG Standard that I just took delivery of - in the fall for a new Indian just haven't decided which model yet - shopping and reading reviews and video's - thanks Man ...

    • Adam Sandoval
      Adam Sandoval  Month ago

      It's all about putting down miles and enjoying the experience

  • Jay Tizzle
    Jay Tizzle Month ago

    Did Indian go with chain driven or gear driven timing ?

  • Bob Mohr
    Bob Mohr Month ago +1

    Adam if I’m not mistaken I don’t think there is anything mechanical on that Indian that you don’t get with the touring models on a Harley. Don’t get me wrong I know you were dissed at Harley and I do find that dark horse to be one badass bike. Thanks for the review.

    • Adam Sandoval
      Adam Sandoval  Month ago

      All I can do is give my fair and honest opinion. I still love my Harley and ride it regularly

  • Dennis Bryan
    Dennis Bryan Month ago +1

    Sell me this one. Nice video.

  • Roberto Cardozo
    Roberto Cardozo Month ago +1

    Great review, just what I needed to hear

  • incog nito
    incog nito Month ago

    24 yrs old and this is my goal bike. Im gonna have it one day. Also whats the top speed for this beast?

  • Donn
    Donn Month ago +1

    I agree that the bike looks much better with the bag design change. I hated the old look, and it was the reason to go with another company. I'm thinking about Indian now

  • kingtut23456
    kingtut23456 Month ago

    I test drove one yesterday, talking to my banks loan officer TODAY. Your review nudged me over the edge. Your dislikes were all things that I really thought were minor to me. So thanks for (hopefully) making me an Indian owner

  • Springfieldm14 308winchester

    When I wear out my Vegas this will be my next solo bike

  • David Salvador
    David Salvador Month ago

    How does it compare to the dark horse chief ? I’m conflicted on which bike to get. I am 6’2 and concerned if the chief is ok for long touring considering it has no windshield or bags which of course I would need to purchase.

  • Craig Cerreta
    Craig Cerreta Month ago +1

    Awesome review. Hope you don't critique your women as thoroughly as your bikes! Would love to have one but too much green. Going to have to focus on Kawasaki. Thanks for the review

    • kingtut23456
      kingtut23456 Month ago

      I'm trading in my Vulcan Classic today towards this bike

  • Patrick Mcclellan
    Patrick Mcclellan Month ago +1

    Nice video. Thinking of upgrading from my CDH

  • Clay Jones
    Clay Jones Month ago +1

    What kind of boots are those?

  • Hvac sales1
    Hvac sales1 Month ago

    Harley is done, Getting my indian!

  • tw1340
    tw1340 Month ago

    Awesome Bike...thanks for your review!

  • Silentbobz28
    Silentbobz28 Month ago +1

    They took all the suspension geometry from the victory cross country/magnum bikes. So build a great bike, buy a good name. Kill victory and put everything good from those bikes into indian.

  • Major Dannan
    Major Dannan Month ago +1

    Id love a dark horse without the faring

  • Jarman Kohlheim
    Jarman Kohlheim Month ago +1

    I’ve watched this video 5 times. That bike is mean. Damn, I can’t wait to go get mine.

  • Jarman Kohlheim
    Jarman Kohlheim 2 months ago +1

    I’m wondering when I get mine can I still keep the Indian head if I put a 26in tire on front.

  • Jeff Nicholson
    Jeff Nicholson 2 months ago

    "over 16 times" "over 12"
    um...would that be 17 and 13?
    268 and 4,340?
    Sorry, had to ask. :)

  • Jarman Kohlheim
    Jarman Kohlheim 2 months ago +3

    That bike is so nice. I’m sold I’m getting one soon and park my Suzuki Hayabusa.

  • Jason T
    Jason T 2 months ago +1

    Adam, ever since I met you at SFO airport when you were picking someone up, I've been watching you Glad Scooter is doing well. You by far one of the best. Keep up the videos. This one is awesome. I am looking for a new bike and I think this Indian might be it. They should pay you a commission, haha.

  • hafeez iqbaluddin
    hafeez iqbaluddin 2 months ago +1

    Amazing review...so good I had to leave a comment, and I never do lol.

    • Adam Sandoval
      Adam Sandoval  2 months ago

      Thanks for being a part of this channel. Glad you enjoyed it 👊

  • Snake Bite
    Snake Bite 2 months ago

    I am thinking about getting a new bagger in the fall, currently I have a 2016 Victory Magnum X1, awesome bike and love it, but thinking about getting either a 19 Street Glide or a 19 Chieftain. Love everything about the Chieftain except the dash, i HATE it, looks like a robot face, the Street Glide looks so much better. On the other hand, the I like everything else about the Chieftain are then the Street Glide. Also get more for the money with the Chieftain. I am not sure which way I will go yet, love my Magnum and rides awesome, lots of power. Maybe i am better to wait and see what the 2020 offering are, i hear Indian is coming our with a "Road Glide" type bike with an approx 108ci water cooled engine. Maybe the Indian Raptor with a frame mounted fairing will be better for me and i can keep my Magnum (fork mounted)

  • cavscout62
    cavscout62 2 months ago

    This is my DREAM bike and unfortunately, as a Disabled Veteran with a monthly income of $1600, it will stay a dream. Thanks a lot Uncle Sam, you took everything from me and then bent me over when you were finished with me.

  • BWM
    BWM 2 months ago

    Put some ape hangers and a chrome gas funnel on that bitch and you're golden.

  • BWM
    BWM 2 months ago

    The model name is hilarious. Hasn't anyone at Polaris ever heard of a "dark horse "? 😆

  • Benjamin Curry-Vale
    Benjamin Curry-Vale 2 months ago

    By far the best review I've been able to find on RU-clip. So much information. You did a great job

  • Mike Skidmore
    Mike Skidmore 2 months ago

    Polaris and Indian are the same Polaris was building Victory Motorcycles.. they intended to continue to build Victory but the models labeled Indian sold so much better than they decided to drop the Victory Line.. Victory has some very loyal owners.. They were big Cruisers like Harley . Indian went Bankrupt in 1953. They made too many yearly changes.. They were good bikes in their day ..
    Indian was not saved by the Federal Government like Harley , GM and Chrysler were.. Ronald Reagan put a 40% Import Duty on Japanese bikes over 700 CC's so people had to pay 40% extra if they didn't want a big crude ill handling Harley ..
    in the 1950's 1960's even the early '70's British bikes ruled the world .. until Japan copied them and improved in the quality .. they didn't leak oil and were more reliable . Honda in Particular required their bikes to be properly assembled before they were sold .. Many small British dealers hired high school kids to put bikes together after school . Harley got a Bail out with the purchase by AMF .. They imported nice Italian dirt bikes and Endures ect even a 250 cc four stroke .. Harley even sold Snowmobiles.. but had major quality issues on the American bikes and Some from the original Harley family bought their Company back
    Eventually Harley grew a cult following and sales soared.. Harley bought a Genius of a Sport Bike builder named Eric Buell but they spend Millions to shutter the Buell operation during hard Economic Times..
    Now Polaris is selling an FTR-1200 a modern day non bagger bike that I like .. The main Engineer for the FTR-1200 was hired from Harley as Harley still has their heads in the sand. and didn't want to build a modern low margin bike .to compere against other brands..
    Harley has dominated 750 CC Twin racing since about 1960 when Harley got the AMA do handicap every other Brand that competed against them ..at one time British bikes were only allowed 500 CC's against Harley side valve 750 CC engine .. around 1994 Honda got into Flat track they won the Championship two years in a row so the AMA penalized them 40 pounds extra weight and Honda dropped out
    As of 2019 an Independent racer can buy and Indian FTR-750 for $40,000 and have a bike that can compete against the Factory race team Indians.. it would cost at least $100,000 to build a Harley FG-750 .. cause the only two that are almost comitative are built by Vance and Hines with custom Billet heads ect ..
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_Motocycle_Manufacturing_Company
    It's cool to actually be able to buy a modern American made Motorcycle .. however..
    Harley contracted an electric bike Company to teach Harley about electric bikes then Harley reneged on the Contract and Bankrupted them . You can wait till 2020 to buy a Harley live wire for $30,000 or you can buy a Zero electric bike also american made for $20,000 today ..
    Harley's biggest problem now is that their customers are dying of old age..

  • Mike Skidmore
    Mike Skidmore 2 months ago

    Polaris has always been known for good handling snowmobiles . Yamaha Patented the Mono shock in about 1974...

  • jfleser88
    jfleser88 2 months ago +2

    Many of your complaints are personal! All those can be tackled with upgraded parts. Nice review. Very informative. I like the Bronze Smoke color myself.

  • Nasi Lamak
    Nasi Lamak 2 months ago +1

    As soon as I saw those pads, I had to sub. Man that pad is so cool. ASR!

    • Adam Sandoval
      Adam Sandoval  2 months ago

      Thanks for subscribing. Lots of great content coming up

  • Tim Barnett
    Tim Barnett 2 months ago +2

    I've never wanted an Indian for various reasons, but I'm in agreement with you, I'd be pleased to own one! Dash is really fun an windshield is something I talked about for years finally someone jumped on the action! Tim

  • MrBillFletcherr
    MrBillFletcherr 2 months ago

    Why are you wearing sunglasses indoors?

  • Junior Vazquez
    Junior Vazquez 2 months ago +2

    👍

  • redneck fire
    redneck fire 2 months ago +2

    I'm 12 and watching because the law in my state is you can get a motorcycle license at 14 so I'm watching lots of videos

  • James Scott
    James Scott 2 months ago +2

    Been on sport bikes for yrs now. I'm ready for something alittle more chill and comfortable. My attention is on indian and your review on this motorcycle just made up my mind. Thank you. I see your in Minnesota. So am I. (St.paul mn). So I subbed. Great review!!!!

    • Adam Sandoval
      Adam Sandoval  2 months ago +1

      Thanks for subscribing! We have lots of great content to come

  • Rick Wag
    Rick Wag 2 months ago +2

    Funny. Front feet. Good job

  • ICEMAN
    ICEMAN 2 months ago +2

    was skeptical about buying a indian but after watching this review im gonna test ride this chieftain dark horse nice looking bike

    • Adam Sandoval
      Adam Sandoval  2 months ago

      No harm in a test ride.. I bet you like it

  • Steve P
    Steve P 2 months ago +1

    good review; however black motorcycles are boring, played out and impossible to keep clean for a day

  • Jon Greany
    Jon Greany 2 months ago +1

    great real deal review! I want one

  • Raphael Schäfer
    Raphael Schäfer 2 months ago +1

    4.000 miles in 2 weeks?

    • Hunter Skibin
      Hunter Skibin 2 months ago

      you dont realize who this guy is do you? His dog has probably done more bikes miles than you have.

  • Yeah buddy
    Yeah buddy 2 months ago +2

    Harley killer !!

  • AccurateShooter
    AccurateShooter 2 months ago +1

    Sorry readers. I must disagree strongly. I rented a 2017 Chieftain and rode it 600+ miles in desert and mountains in Utah and Nevada. Bottom line I did not like the bike, and I believe the reviewer is really wrong about many things. 1. Handling - the bike was NOT stable in turns and required lots of small inputs and constant corrections. Very bad. Let me say I have ridden for 42 years and over 400,000 miles on 30+ different brands and models. This machine was unpleasant to steer, and NOT confidence inspiring. 2. Wind. I am 6’1” and the windscreen was too low. The up/down range didn’t really make much difference. I note the reviewer bought a taller unit. With the stock screen the sound system was essentially useless above 45 mph because of wind noise and buffeting. If you want a good windscreen, try a R1200RT. 3. Weight - this bike is a pig and feels very heavy in low speed maneuvers. 4. Saddlebags - given the weight and size of the bike, the bags are too small inside. Woefully inadequate for two-up touring. 5. Remote Key fob - this was unreliable and failed multiple times during my ride. 6. Balance - I rode in a 35 mph quartering wind and the handlebar fairing was generating lift, causing the front end to feel Vague. 7. Ergos - the rear brake control is positioned much too high and is hard to use when holding the bike stopped on a steep hill. Also I agree that fueling is awkward. Positives - the engine was very good and the seat was pretty comfortable. However, overall I believe the machine has serious design defects and I would NOT buy one. I actually cut my holiday short and returned the bike early because I really was starting to hate the way it handled. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would rate this a 6 for looks but a 4 for handling and function. FWIW, I discussed the machine’s shortcomings with the staff at the rental agency and they admitted other folks had similar complaints. I believe the HD Street Glide is a better machine, though I prefer the Indian engine.

    • Adam Sandoval
      Adam Sandoval  2 months ago

      Goes to show why it's important to read more than a couple reviews. I've had a completely different experience. Guess it boils down to the fact that everyone has different preferences

  • starno 103
    starno 103 2 months ago

    What's the HP/TQ?

  • chris wolfen
    chris wolfen 2 months ago

    Agreed Jason, I just don’t like the cheap feel of the Indians.

  • jim e
    jim e 2 months ago +1

    If you put your front feet on the highway pegs, where do you put your back feet? You old dog...taking two fine women to Sturgis !

  • Peter Gibbons
    Peter Gibbons 2 months ago +1

    Right you are, Polaris rocks, yet this is not a 'Polaris-esque' bike. Polaris just adds the quality factor..

  • chris wolfen
    chris wolfen 3 months ago +4

    Cheap tin feel, does not feel like a solid bike, for the money you can’t beat HD.

    • Jason Marler
      Jason Marler 2 months ago

      You most certainly can beat HD.I like HD, but they are still using outdated technology and charging way too much.

  • Robert Sands
    Robert Sands 3 months ago +1

    Great review. This bike is on my shopping list going forward.

  • Steve B
    Steve B 3 months ago +1

    love that gps set up

  • id10tcertified
    id10tcertified 3 months ago +1

    They finally got the look right: the S&S engines looked like custom HD's, the Polaris engine.. well, but these now look like what an old 44 Chief would've evolved into.

  • Jeff Walker
    Jeff Walker 3 months ago +1

    Lots of rust and electrical problems with Indian bike. I’ll stick with Harley

  • mike huston
    mike huston 3 months ago +1

    Too much bells and whistles!

  • Dirty Dee
    Dirty Dee 3 months ago +4

    Hat to the side irritates me. But excellent review thank you

  • Adrian yo
    Adrian yo 3 months ago +1

    Hey Adam, I just ordered the exact same Indian you are riding. I'm 6'3" and I think I've heard you say you are 6'2" just curious what height windshield you are running, I ordered a 14" but now am thinking I should have gone 12". Also want to say love your channel and I appreciate your review of your bike, very thorough and informative. Helped me pull the trigger on buying the same bike.

  • duane howard
    duane howard 3 months ago +1

    ATV sales are why their stocks are doing so well

  • duane howard
    duane howard 3 months ago +1

    POLARIS STOCK NOT INDIAN.

  • TH MK8
    TH MK8 3 months ago +1

    These are beautiful bikes, appreciate the honest review.

  • Ben Volz
    Ben Volz 3 months ago +1

    I dont understand peoples issue with the chain being on the paint?

  • Robert Tucker
    Robert Tucker 3 months ago +6

    Indian needs to hire you to be there spokesman. I sold. Thanks bro.

  • eddymandiedie
    eddymandiedie 3 months ago +1

    Love the dark horse Adam, it’s on my list when I’m done paying for my Ducati. Unless I win the lottery first lol

  • Chance1957
    Chance1957 3 months ago +1

    Obligation? Sounds like lawyer speak, smoke and mirrors. How about saying Indian is not paying me, or giving me free products. Hmmmm

  • John Rice
    John Rice 3 months ago +3

    Adam, thank you for all you do for the motorcycle world. I love Harley Electra glide and street Glide. But I cannot afford one. So I wound up with a Honda VTX 1300 (used). I have been following you and have come to realize that the important thing is to get out and ride. I also realized that Indian bikes are also good bikes to have. Still cannot afford one of those either. Keep up the great videos and thank you for supporting the veterans. I retired out of the USAF in 2010. God bless you and Ashley and take care of scooter.

    • Adam Sandoval
      Adam Sandoval  3 months ago

      Thank you for my freedom 🇺🇸😎🇺🇸

  • PonchMuniz
    PonchMuniz 3 months ago +1

    Good review Bro! I test rode all of their bikes, my favorite was their Chieftain with the 116! Wow what a bike! But my favorite is the Harley Road Glide! The newer model! But Indian has put out some good bikes

  • Rob Rodriguez
    Rob Rodriguez 3 months ago +1

    That's I great bike on my list to purchase

  • Weston Mavis
    Weston Mavis 3 months ago +1

    Can you even change those handle bars?

  • William Leblanc
    William Leblanc 4 months ago +1

    So you done with Harley?