Doctor Reviews Meatless Burgers | Impossible, Beyond & More!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 13, 2019
  • After my successful 30-day vegan challenge I decided to give you an in-depth look into this new meatless burger or vegan burger craze! I ordered five meatless burgers and a single beef one for comparison's sake. I will say these burgers are technically not vegan because I included cheese and the brioche bun but they are still vegetarian! I love cheese. Let me know if you've tried any of these!
    Burgers Included in this Review
    - Impossible Burger
    - Beyond Burger
    - Quinoa Burger
    - Black Bean Burger
    - Beef Burger
    - Sweet Potato Burger
    If you have an idea of something you want me to cover in depth, please let me know because I take your requests seriously. We will be back with more Doctor Reacts Series & Responding to Comments so please submit more names of shows/episodes & questions you'd like for me to watch. Love you all!
    - Doctor Mike Varshavski
    Please SUBSCRIBE for new videos every Sunday 11am EST ▶ goo.gl/87kYq6
    Let’s connect:
    IG goo.gl/41ZS7w - Doctor Mike
    Reddit www.reddit.com/r/DoctorMike/
    Twitter goo.gl/kzmGs5 - Real Doctor Mike
    Facebook goo.gl/QH4nJS - Real Doctor Mike
    Contact Email: DoctorMikeMedia@Gmail.com
    P.O. Box (send me stuffs):
    340 W 42nd St # 2695
    NY, NY 10108
    ** The information in this video is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. All content, including text, graphics, images, and information, contained in this video is for general information purposes only and does not replace a consultation with your own doctor/mental health professional **
    #vegan #burgers

Comments • 3 905

  • Perfectly Prejudice

    HIS GF IS SO GORGEOUS I WANT TO LOOK LIKE HER 😭😭

  • Robbie Z
    Robbie Z 14 hours ago

    How about the fiber content. It fills you up too.

  • Mary Conner
    Mary Conner Day ago

    I was Vegan for 6 months but it raised my trig tremendously. I guess the only way to go is a whole food Vegan diet.

  • Brittany North
    Brittany North Day ago

    Why was video arousing to me...hahaha

  • Abraham Birzer
    Abraham Birzer Day ago

    Come on, what part of a regular burger being the most unhealthy food don't you understand? Don't even try to compair ingredients, you will fail. Just let it as it is, a fun taste comparison!

  • bangtanie
    bangtanie Day ago +1

    LMAO IM SORRY BUT W H A T WAS THAT INTRO?

  • Kayla Hayes-Bayless

    I have those same plates!!! Lol ( the one thing she notices )

  • Bonnie Scott
    Bonnie Scott 2 days ago

    I’m curious as to why so many vegans/vegetarians want something that tastes and feels like meat. I’m not trying to offend anyone, I’m trying to educate myself so I would be grateful for any replies.

  • John Powell
    John Powell 2 days ago

    Personally, I don't see a problem enjoying traditional (beef) burgers within a reasonable margin of consumption. Proteins aside, how do the vege burgers compare in amino acids? Are they adequate? Should someone supplement? Thanks.

  • Jonathan Goliday
    Jonathan Goliday 3 days ago

    My guy talk tooo fucking much

  • Megan Harrell
    Megan Harrell 3 days ago

    Vegetarianism, as long as it’s processed food free, is where it’s at for me! That along with going gluten free for allergy reasons have allowed me to lose 65 pounds so far this year.

  • Huntorix
    Huntorix 3 days ago

    Had cheese lol went veggie burgers supposed to be for vegans lol why's there cheese lol

  • Shaquille Oatmeal
    Shaquille Oatmeal 3 days ago

    Can we talk about his girlfriend as the food deliverer? He’s lucky she’s really pretty.

  • Lisa Christine
    Lisa Christine 3 days ago +2

    Every woman watching this video wanting to blind fold you 😂😂❤️!That beef burger looked a little raw,to whoever cooked that please don't kill our Dr.Mike!

  • Ella Wadbrook
    Ella Wadbrook 3 days ago

    wtf was that intro

  • Margaret Behre
    Margaret Behre 3 days ago +2

    Vegetarian burgers are really good when you don't compare it solely on whether it tastes like meat or not, promise!

  • Jeff Jeff
    Jeff Jeff 4 days ago +2

    In India there are tons of different burgers which are vegetarian and very delicious

  • Bartosz Maj
    Bartosz Maj 4 days ago

    “enjoy your burgers” You mean your burgers?

  • Ahmaud Andrewz
    Ahmaud Andrewz 4 days ago +1

    That sht pink 🤢

  • Breaksbetweeneating
    Breaksbetweeneating 5 days ago

    I love how cool he is sometimes and how equally dorky and how he randomly geeks out ! Also, very educational :)

  • Brandon Gutierrez
    Brandon Gutierrez 5 days ago

    man that girl was smokin.

  • BaseballEBM European Baseball & Softball Magazine

    Great call looking at those all important nutrition facts! Too few people do. Just like they fail to twist the wrist and read the ingredients. If they did comparisons they'd see how often chemicals are substituted for foods that would harm us less (dextrose causes migraines and is used to substitute for sugar as an example). Too many times people read the advertising, "Same recipe since 1892" and believe it. They never bother to turn the bar/jar or can over and see that something like malodextrin or soy lecithin wasn't around back in the day. Eating vegan or bio or anything else they want to label it to sound up-and-coming only works well if you stop trying to make things taste like what they aren't. Food chemistry is an interesting hobby but it is not a healthy lifestyle choice.

  • Frankie Ulin
    Frankie Ulin 6 days ago +1

    Mans really out here studying burgers beewhoop head ass 😂

  • Beth Rose Godin
    Beth Rose Godin 6 days ago

    What about making your own patties? Taste test video on Homemade meat & meatless patties? Pls😊

  • Marc Arndt
    Marc Arndt 6 days ago

    I tried "ground" Beyond Meat this week. Made 3 burgers. I thought they were pretty good. Not quality beef good, but passable. Given the calories, sodium, and even saturated fat compare to beef, and excluding possible environmental benefits, does Beyond (or Impossible) offer any benefits over beef? In other words, is beef still worse for you than Beyond?

    • Marc Arndt
      Marc Arndt 6 days ago

      Oh, I read some comments. Cholesterol! Good to know.

  • Romans Razzles
    Romans Razzles 6 days ago

    Tiddy twitch when grrrr

  • everytime's the first time

    Is everyone just gonna ignore the intro?

  • Macy Renault
    Macy Renault 7 days ago +3

    “this could be”
    sniffs burger
    “This could be”
    Sniffs burger
    “this could be.....this could be BEEF?”😂

  • Jodi Brown
    Jodi Brown 7 days ago

    DID I MISS THE BEEWOOP?!?!?!?!

  • Jodi Brown
    Jodi Brown 7 days ago

    Loved the whip movement on learning you got it right lol

  • Bethany Netsova
    Bethany Netsova 7 days ago

    I love impossible burgers ☹️

  • graham
    graham 7 days ago

    Honestly I prefer black bean burgers to regular hamburgers, wish I knew how to make them

  • chill_ harder
    chill_ harder 7 days ago

    I haven't had burgers in so long 😭. I rarely eat meat, but now I'm craving it. Some other day though.

  • Rainy Day Reviews
    Rainy Day Reviews 8 days ago

    It's like getting vegan ice cream and saying it's healthier.

  • Lacey Ferrel
    Lacey Ferrel 8 days ago +1

    Burgers are part of my regular diet!! Fight me😂😂

  • somethang
    somethang 8 days ago

    This motherfucjer
    Christan who 2:09

  • TAK
    TAK 8 days ago

    Why would it have to taste like meat in order to taste good? That is one thing I don't get about meat eaters. Food can taste good and not taste like meat.

  • Cecilia Hernandez
    Cecilia Hernandez 8 days ago

    I love when you speak Spanish. 😍

  • M Law
    M Law 9 days ago

    Did the nutrition facts at the beginning include the whole burger, or just the patty? Two had sauces, which may explain the unexpectedly worse nutritional values of some of the meat replacements. Just a thought.

  • Jasmine Nieves
    Jasmine Nieves 9 days ago +1

    Who else has headphones and just hearing doctor mike chewing😂🤦🏾‍♀️

  • Julie Anne Hurst
    Julie Anne Hurst 9 days ago

    I don’t think vegan burgers are ‘health’ foods, regular burgers are also not healthy and both should very much be treated like an indulgence. I do think choosing a vegan burger over a regular burger is so much better for the environment and it prevents animal suffering. Even if the taste might not completely be there, I still think it’s worth it to chose the vegan one over the regular burger. Because why are your taste buds worth more than the environment and therefore more worth than the life of humans in the future? If we keep on going like this, there will be serious consequences and a lot of people will die.

  • Random Potato
    Random Potato 9 days ago

    I wish that I could make a burger that looked as good as even the worst of those

  • amro monim
    amro monim 9 days ago

    Are you trying to flex on us about your new girl come on bruh that's not cool because I am lonely

  • Sabrina de Vos
    Sabrina de Vos 9 days ago

    You should try guessing cake flavors with out thinking healthy

  • Elise Logan
    Elise Logan 10 days ago

    What I got out of this vid: The quinoa burger is a better choice than Impossible or Beyond. Get the 3 star close-to-burger-ish experience, much better macronutrient profile. Guess I'll be seeing if we can find some quinoa patties at the local store.

  • Queen Moon
    Queen Moon 10 days ago

    If we had chest compressions, I think we should also have "mouthiness"

  • Ruby Tufte
    Ruby Tufte 10 days ago

    Doctor Mike Im going to date you

  • Hayley's Comment
    Hayley's Comment 10 days ago

    Why aren't more people talking about the mouthfeel??

  • Ariana Fan
    Ariana Fan 11 days ago

    Can u beat the shit out of me , thanks

  • tikirowboat
    tikirowboat 11 days ago +5

    I thought the impossible burger used Heme to make it "bleed" and give it that iron taste. Did you sense any of those elements?

  • Laura Pacheco
    Laura Pacheco 11 days ago

    U dont like them yet u ate almost half of each! Hahaha

  • geekelly000
    geekelly000 11 days ago

    It’s all over your nose!!! #nosefeel

  • Lorann Ackers
    Lorann Ackers 11 days ago +3

    Been vegan for 2 and a half years and was veggie a year before that I agree some burgers which try to taste like meat are minging 😂 I would rather just have a veggie burgers 💕

  • Jacie Bryant
    Jacie Bryant 11 days ago

    is no one going to talk about the intro.... HAHA

  • TheoryOfTravel
    TheoryOfTravel 11 days ago

    Why don’t you actually try a whole food plant based (WFPB) diet. It’s much healthier than that fake “vegan” processed shit.

  • Micah Simon
    Micah Simon 11 days ago

    I'm vegetarian, so I'm biased, but I did have a quinoa burger at a pub once and it was honestly amazing.
    I also have made some quinoa "meat"balls and they are.. so damn good lol. The texture of regular quinoa is definitely an acquired taste, but something about when the quinoa is sizzled in a pan, giving it some crispiness just makes it SO much better and actually good. Definitely recommend.
    The thing with non-meat burgers and replacements is that you have to get it out of your mind that it's going to taste like meat. It's not lol. But if you find the right brand of premade stuff or the right recipe to make your own, they can be delicious as a replacement and not a substitute.

  • edgar2prado
    edgar2prado 12 days ago

    No surprises. The people making these burgers have not gone to the final extremes to make them healthy. Just trying to fool people who still want meat. Why not try to hit two important targets and forget about the "fooled ya" factor. Namely delicious and as healthy as can be. I'm sure there is a market for that.

  • edgar2prado
    edgar2prado 12 days ago

    0:55 This is idiotic. Mix potassium chloride with the sodium chloride. 1/2 (K) to 1(Na) is a good bet that will almost certainly not be able to kill anyone. That will lower the impact of the burger in raising blood pressure. And it will be very difficult (if not impossible) to taste any difference. WTF is wrong with the people who make these burgers? The monstrous sodium to potassium imbalance is already there. What is wrong with trying to ameliorate it? Too afraid of killing people with terribly weird metabolisms, or some idiot on a potassium sparing diuretic? You are already killing people with excess sodium. The difference is that people accept it as the status quo.

  • Soud Hussein
    Soud Hussein 12 days ago

    #Mouthiness

  • Neena Sanjay
    Neena Sanjay 12 days ago

    I HATE YOU MY MOUTH IS WATERING

  • rottentwapple
    rottentwapple 12 days ago

    1:47 Ha. that's a cute moment.

  • CVoice Official
    CVoice Official 12 days ago

    Dr Mike, you called one of the veggie burgers a "great" burger yet gave it 3 stars and then you specifically say the beef is not a great burger, but you gave it a higher rating. Perhaps you have some sort of bias going on.

  • CVoice Official
    CVoice Official 12 days ago +1

    Should probably clarify the body's need for protein. Many people may be getting way more than they need and it seems like this is encouraging people to get even more.

  • Sahra Amiri
    Sahra Amiri 12 days ago

    1:48 HAHAAHHAHA

  • Modan Bari
    Modan Bari 12 days ago +1

    Did not see that coming 😂😂😂

  • Ucmh
    Ucmh 13 days ago

    Dr. Mike just said saturated fat is bad. That's a bit surprising, don't people nowadays say it's just a myth that saturated fats are bad for you? Also, he's calling sodium a macro nutrient. Wth?

  • Ucmh
    Ucmh 13 days ago

    I ate a vegan burger for the first time earlier this year. It was hideous. Truly an insult to burgers everywhere.

  • Kimberly Meffert
    Kimberly Meffert 13 days ago

    95% of pasture land can't be tilled for crop land.

  • Gary Oak
    Gary Oak 13 days ago

    I’ve had the impossible and beyond. I agree. The impossible has the texture but the taste is not very pleasing. Would not buy again. I didn’t think the beyond necessarily had the texture, and it certainly doesn’t taste like beef. But it did taste good and I would buy that one again.

  • carolina clake
    carolina clake 15 days ago +1

    watching you use a single use plastic bottle is so cringey !

  • Madison Fingerhut
    Madison Fingerhut 15 days ago +122

    Dr Mike, we don't eat vegan burgers because they're healthy. We eat them because we don't want to eat an animal.

    • tubetardism 20/20
      tubetardism 20/20 2 days ago

      Joyce G. veganism is a way of life based on ethical choices regarding the exploitation of animals . A plant-based or 'vegan' diet is a term not necessarily based on ethics it just describes the diet. It's confusing.

    • Joyce G.
      Joyce G. 2 days ago

      I’m not saying you’re wrong that some vegans are what they are because they don’t want to eat animal, but who gave you the right to talk in behalf of ALL vegans?

    • tubetardism 20/20
      tubetardism 20/20 5 days ago

      DudeMan 3 define what you mean by 'ethical'?

    • J.R. Swish
      J.R. Swish 6 days ago

      What are you talking about I love my meat fake

    • Jon M
      Jon M 6 days ago

      Many people are eating under the misguided view that it is "healthier". Idiots

  • Tim Carder
    Tim Carder 15 days ago

    Beyond.....IT'S SOYLENT GREEN!!!!!......well..., that's what i call it....lol

  • ThatGirlIsAwkward
    ThatGirlIsAwkward 15 days ago

    The amount of saturated fat in the impossible burger is a no from me. I'll just stick to not eating burgers 🤣

  • janv_ mua
    janv_ mua 16 days ago +2

    Binge watching your videos. They are so informative & no BS. Sharing some with my followers on IG ❤️

  • Zetsuke4
    Zetsuke4 16 days ago

    great challenge! totally agree with you on the additional sodium and fats on the meatless burger. still junk food, just more sustainable for environment. it's not about how many you guess right, it was about the results of the blinded experiment LOL dont ruin the objectivity with bias

  • RedDog
    RedDog 16 days ago

    0:11 that's how you get male fans

  • Leah
    Leah 16 days ago +2

    I love Dr. Mike. But the pointless objectification of the "delivery" woman really made me uncomfortable. It's just playing on sexist tropes which I don't expect from this chanel.

  • ed low
    ed low 16 days ago

    If only I could get grass-fed burgers in fast food shops.

  • Day Amaryllis
    Day Amaryllis 16 days ago

    I like black bean burgers even tho I'm a meat eater

  • Ted Phillips
    Ted Phillips 16 days ago +1

    Introducing the Heisenburger - no one is sure what's in them.

    • James Robertson
      James Robertson 16 days ago +1

      You can know what’s in them if you don’t where they are.

  • D Ou
    D Ou 17 days ago +3

    Penguin lovers don't eat penguins.
    Dog lovers don't eat dogs.
    Animal lovers don't eat animals.

  • Belinda Joy
    Belinda Joy 17 days ago

    Glad to hear I don't have to go 100% vegan. I had a diabetic coma a few weeks ago and was told I had to change my diet dramatically. My doctors kept pushing vegan.

    • hampuztt
      hampuztt 17 days ago

      Why wouldn't you go fully vegan? Any added animal foods are probably not helpful for your diabetes. The less processed and less saturated fats the better

  • michelle Smalley
    michelle Smalley 17 days ago

    um why was the female overly sexualised? :/

    • michelle Smalley
      michelle Smalley 16 days ago

      @Munia Whitner Oooh lol I thought he was trying to be funny or something. Thats cute

    • Munia Whitner
      Munia Whitner 17 days ago

      That's his girlfriend

  • self healing
    self healing 19 days ago +2

    Vegan propaganda goes beyond rationality
    They wanna turn humans into cows for big margins of profit

    • hampuztt
      hampuztt 17 days ago

      because big brocoli clearly has more lobbying power than big animal agriculture

  • Laura Somebody
    Laura Somebody 19 days ago

    Gordon Ramsay is shaking his head in shame lol

  • Soulful Siren
    Soulful Siren 19 days ago

    I would just like to remind you that with the exception of the Impossible and Beyond burgers, many of them aren't attempting to "fool you". It's to give meatless eaters burger options. Now, the Impossible and Beyond are catered more toward meat lovers who want to lower their meat consumption but love the taste or meatless individuals who miss the taste of meat. Just an aside from a vegetarian who exclusively orders the sweet potato and black bean burgers from Bareburger.

  • Not Just JET
    Not Just JET 19 days ago

    All protein are not equal, you know this Dr. Mike.

    • hampuztt
      hampuztt 17 days ago

      @Not Just JET It is demonstrably proven that dietary cholesterol also increases your LDL cholesteral and to deny that is basically anti science at this point. Also, what is bad with foods taking longer to digest? We have an overweight problem not a underweight problem. Also is getting very slightly more protein worth significantly increased risk in heart disease?

    • Not Just JET
      Not Just JET 17 days ago

      @hampuztt do some more research please. Plant based protein takes longer for the body to process (it is not as bioavailable as meat protein). Also HDL cholesterol is good for you and necessary for a healthier bloodstream.

    • hampuztt
      hampuztt 17 days ago

      Indeed, plant protein do not come with cholesterol, heme iron and usually with lower amounts of saturated fats so plant proteins are essentially superior to animal protein

  • Tia Yuhhi
    Tia Yuhhi 19 days ago

    Love this! 💖 You got a new subscriber 🤗

  • Jenny Hammond
    Jenny Hammond 19 days ago +1

    Raves about quinoa burger being so good, but gives it a 3, the beef was so-so and gives it a 4

  • Misssfortune
    Misssfortune 20 days ago +3

    You have a better palette than 90% of contestants on Hell's Kitchen lol

  • ramarao vumana
    ramarao vumana 20 days ago

    We love you mick

  • Sarang Pawar
    Sarang Pawar 20 days ago +1

    Dr. Mike forget to mention the *cholesterol* content
    Beef burgers - 47 mgs
    Beyond burgers - 0 mgs
    Impossible burgers also 0 mgs

  • TAKEme TOtheMORGUE
    TAKEme TOtheMORGUE 20 days ago

    I hate the fact he diminishes the plant taste to those burgers who don't even try to mimic meat. I am happy some companies don't try imitate meat, but create real vegan cuisine instead (black bean, quinoa, sweet potato).

  • B M-K
    B M-K 20 days ago

    The list at the end is wrong. You said it was impossible not beef for the quinoa.

  • Treesuh
    Treesuh 20 days ago +1

    YES. Beyond meat is farrrrrr better than the Impossible burger!

    • P Killjoy
      P Killjoy 20 days ago +1

      Agreed. the 2.0 patties are reducing overall saturated fat too, so win win

  • Treesuh
    Treesuh 20 days ago

    Just to say: the only ones that are trying to taste like meat are the beyond and impossible burgers. The others are just existing in a world of sandwich ingredients.

  • Tracy Gardner
    Tracy Gardner 20 days ago

    👍👍👍

  • w i c k ë d
    w i c k ë d 21 day ago

    I need the recipe for that quinoa burger now tho

  • Elaine Chan
    Elaine Chan 21 day ago +1

    .....is no one gonna talk about that girl delivering the burgers????!!!

  • K&F Kenn
    K&F Kenn 21 day ago

    awesome! thanks for this! I love the Beyond burger, but haven't seen the Impossible burger in stores near me so I've been curious how it compares.