Shazam! - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 25, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Shazam!, starring Zachary Levi, Mark Strong, Jack Dylan Grazer, Asher Angel, Grace Fulton, Faithe Herman, Ian Chen, Jovan Armand, Cooper Andrews, Marta Milans. Directed by David F. Sandberg.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 4 015

  • AMIR khamei
    AMIR khamei 7 days ago

    Shit movie

  • Daniel Christopher
    Daniel Christopher 14 days ago +1

    Ok so let me get this straight, the wizard guy spent all these years looking for someone who's pure of heart because if he doesn't then bad stuff will happen... but then says screw it, and gives it to some random kid who coincidentally is pure of heart... but then that kid hands out the powers at all the kids in the orphanage and they save the day? This all just makes the wizard look like an idiot... all he had to do was go to the nearest orphanage, hand out powers like it was Oprah, and the world would have like 30 Shazam's protecting it. It's as if the writers had alzheimers 30 minutes into the film.

    • Real_Slim_Shady
      Real_Slim_Shady 14 days ago

      Daniel Christopher they should’ve kept the speech he used in the comics

    • Real_Slim_Shady
      Real_Slim_Shady 14 days ago

      Daniel Christopher tell me about it

  • TanakinSkywalker
    TanakinSkywalker 15 days ago

    Movie was trash

  • Thomas Babilon
    Thomas Babilon 18 days ago

    " Shazam! " 2019 / Rated PG-13 / 132 Mins. / My Grade B +

  • Zak Hunter-Gilbert
    Zak Hunter-Gilbert 22 days ago

    When will you review Watchmen?

  • Chaco Taco
    Chaco Taco 22 days ago

    This movie was annoying

  • DingbatToast
    DingbatToast 23 days ago

    Just watch'd the movie and I think your review was spot on.

  • Silverbreaker
    Silverbreaker 26 days ago

    call me crazy but i like marvels captain mar vel mutch more. this was such a childs movie

  • David Sasinka
    David Sasinka 28 days ago

    Shazam is the most stupid movie I saw this year. Maybe ever.

  • Stay Away
    Stay Away Month ago

    It should be A ( if not A+ )

  • pigsrcool626
    pigsrcool626 Month ago

    Am I the only one who likes the villain?

  • Brian Hartman
    Brian Hartman Month ago

    I really loved this movie. Your comparison to Donner's Superman is on point.

    The thing I love about the movie is that it got the scale right. As good as Endgame (to take one example) is, it puts the emphasis on the survival of superhero characters that are all but invulnerable. So it's much less interesting when they're in "danger". Shazam put the emphasis on ordinary people who could easily die, so when the big baddie and the monsters kill people, it's really scary, because we know the people *we care about* are in danger. That's not as effective when superheros "die", because you know they can be brought back in a future movie.

  • Sugary Heaven
    Sugary Heaven Month ago

    The most genuine and heartfelt superhero movie I ever saw since Sam Raimi's Spider-Man. It's definitely more memorable than any of the recent MCU movies

    • Scarletts Bae
      Scarletts Bae Month ago

      😂 you must be some of these DC retards that says lies.

  • Slurpingticklepest Christ's Chin

    I don't get all this love for this film. I thought it was boring. I bought it on blu ray and I looked forward to watching it, but I took it into the CEX shop the following day to exchange it for something else.
    I also disliked Captain Marvel, but I'd sooner watch that than Shazam. THAT'S how disappointed I was with it.
    I also don't get all this nastiness that's been thrown around between DC and Marvel fans. Get a fucking grip. Both films were underwhelming.
    The Avengers was a high point, and it's a slippery slope downhill from here on out, or at least that's my fear.

  • Cinematic Garbage
    Cinematic Garbage Month ago

    A B? Youre saying its as good as aquaman? At least it should be a B+ if ya think its not as good as Wonder Woman

  • Lê Quân
    Lê Quân Month ago

    DC finally pulled their shit together!

  • Lord Clarke
    Lord Clarke Month ago

    I see a lot of people pointing out that Billy's way of searching for his mom is to convoluted, for a normal kid yes BUT he's a foster kid. They don't typically have cellphones to just be randomly searching on Facebook or IG

  • Waymin
    Waymin Month ago

    Awesome Star Fox T-shirt and tattoo!

  • magicskyfairy69
    magicskyfairy69 Month ago +1

    this movie is worse than if 911 and the holocaust had a baby

    • MG3
      MG3 23 days ago

      bullshit and what a stupid thing to compare get help

  • 12frenchy1
    12frenchy1 Month ago

    I can totally see why the villain would hold a grudge.On one hand some guys scares the crap out of him as a kid by pulling him through some dimensional type thing then deems him unworthy sends him back a with no proof and his dad almost dies ye and the brother blames him.They probably withdrew and subtly alienated him after that, yeah that is something that would stay with me a long time .

  • Jay Rock Jinx
    Jay Rock Jinx Month ago +1

    B- for me. I laughed like once. Tried to be Deadpool and I didn’t even like that one.

  • ekgheiy
    ekgheiy Month ago

    Am I the only one who noticed an Annabelle doll in the pawn shop?

  • robert bertie
    robert bertie Month ago +1

    definitely for young children

  • Ethan Schwartz
    Ethan Schwartz Month ago +1

    Boring tbh

  • TheMongolat
    TheMongolat Month ago +1

    Am I the only one that wasn't crazy about this movie? I mean, it's not bad or anything and it is entertaining. But I just feel everyone went crazy about how good this movie is, which I don't really get.

  • Hey McFly
    Hey McFly Month ago

    The character of Freddy Freeman reminds me of the character J.C. the protagonist (Chris Romero) best friend in the 1986 comedy horror Night Of The Creeps.

  • Ty Queen
    Ty Queen Month ago +1

    This movie was lame 2/10

    • Ty Queen
      Ty Queen Month ago

      @Fried Frog well I think 1/10 belongs to Star Wars The Force Awakens and Last Jedi. Both were worse than this. Also Jack and Jill is worse

    • Fried Frog
      Fried Frog Month ago +1

      More like 1/10
      Terrible acting, bad special effects and awful CGI, lame cinematography, boring characters, basic run of the mill plot with nothing special or noteworthy about it, etc

  • Candy and Violence
    Candy and Violence Month ago +1

    Didn't laugh once at the stale jokes, very dull movie, got bored halfway through and stopped paying attention

  • luckyardilla
    luckyardilla 2 months ago +1

    I thought it was awful

  • Matteo Ginestra
    Matteo Ginestra 2 months ago +1

    Ok am I the only one that fucking hated this movie?

  • Jeff Uy
    Jeff Uy 2 months ago +1

    I hated it! Most of the movie is Trying to be funny. But its really Lame. It Blows!!! I want my money back!!!

  • Cole REVIEWS
    Cole REVIEWS 2 months ago

    ROBERT PATERSON WILL BE THE NEW BATMAN

  • Danny Floyd
    Danny Floyd 2 months ago +1

    It SUCKED shazam wasn't a comedy REALLY BAD BAD BAD BAD

  • Corvo
    Corvo 2 months ago

    I enjoyed this movie Shazam’s like DC’s Deadpool but a little more PG

  • Gabriel Garcia
    Gabriel Garcia 2 months ago

    This was honestly one of my favorite Dc films.Just the style it has its unique

  • Chaddons Chaddons
    Chaddons Chaddons 2 months ago +1

    horrible movie. cheesy acting directing and script. Levys character was alright but they didnt get the right cast and it wasnt directed well. terrible script

  • daniel dunbar
    daniel dunbar 2 months ago

    I didnt find the movie funny, except for the "dude, I spit on a baby" part

  • usc trojans1987
    usc trojans1987 2 months ago

    Even though The Dark Knight is my favorite DC film, I absolutely loved this film! It was like the first time I saw Sam Raimi's first Spider-Man film.

  • Saadman Alam
    Saadman Alam 2 months ago

    You know they did the villain good when you find yourself rooting for the villain as he brutally murders his own family.

  • Joshua Levy
    Joshua Levy 2 months ago

    Hey Chris! Awesome review.
    Question: Where did you get that cool Star Fox t-shirt?

  • Paul John Longua
    Paul John Longua 2 months ago

    You're so young that you don't even remember the television show American hero. It totally has this flavor. Please watch American hero

  • Chrisfragger1
    Chrisfragger1 2 months ago

    The REAL Captain Marvel movie.

    • Chrisfragger1
      Chrisfragger1 2 months ago

      Chris, SO WHAT IF IT'S CAMP!? You know fans like camp, right?

  • Johnathan Jacobs
    Johnathan Jacobs 2 months ago +1

    This movie was terrible..aquaman was terrible..wonder woman is the only halfway decent d.c. movie...actually all superhero movies kinda suck ...I dont know what's going on with the world and popular cinema but it's not good....this movie I felt like I was watching a show on Nickelodeon that was trying to be cool but came out like garbage...not purposeful camp...they aren't poking fun at the superhero genre they are sucking ...how could you give this the same grade as alita battle angel ?

  • Hamid Raza
    Hamid Raza 2 months ago

    Bad acting, bad story and very bad thing... Paid review????????

    • _ DudaaN_
      _ DudaaN_ 2 months ago +2

      Bruh acting and story were great,gtfo.

  • sleepy Eevee
    sleepy Eevee 2 months ago

    watch this movie with my boyfriend and we had alot of laughs and I also cried when he reunites with his mother. what a bitch.

  • Mutsor Tima
    Mutsor Tima 2 months ago

    Not exactly one of THE best superhero movies ever made... but it's still a whole lot better than the utterly terrible Spider-Man: Far From Home!

    • CircusKing
      CircusKing Month ago

      Mutsor Tima Your Expectations went too high with far from home.

  • Sidhin Sivaraman
    Sidhin Sivaraman 2 months ago +2

    That bus scene was absolute rubbish

  • ItzVixey
    ItzVixey 2 months ago

    I thought Shazam was pretty decent. I didn’t think they’d introduce the Shazam Family in the first movie. But it made sense.
    Here’s the flaws:
    1) The Villain was weak. His backstory didn’t make me care for him at all, his motivation wasn’t very clear.
    2) The shift of tones in the movie was kind of off. For example, when he went to visit his mom, I feel like it was needed, but then again it wasn’t. That shift didn’t really work with what was going on.
    3) I feel like Shazam and Billy didn’t feel like the same person. Shazam didn’t really act how Billy acts.
    Overall I’d give Shazam a B. I definitely think it’s a step in the right direction for the DCEU.

  • Brian Eats Alot
    Brian Eats Alot 2 months ago +1

    This movie was ass wtf???

    • Brian Eats Alot
      Brian Eats Alot 2 months ago

      I was expecting a good movie.😄 I agree the story was good and i did laugh sometimes, but the acting was here and there and the kids getting the powers was the last straw. I bought this movie cause the reviews and it seemed interesting but it wasn’t for me.

    • _ DudaaN_
      _ DudaaN_ 2 months ago +1

      @Brian Eats Alot cgi was pretty impressive for its budget,villain was weak,but wouldn't call it bad,family aspect was great.i don't really know what you were expecting from shazam movie.

    • Brian Eats Alot
      Brian Eats Alot 2 months ago

      Well i was watching it and it reminded me of Scooby doo the movie with bad cgi and horrible villains, I expected more i guess.😕

    • _ DudaaN_
      _ DudaaN_ 2 months ago

      Why is that?

  • Kuldeep Thakur
    Kuldeep Thakur 2 months ago +3

    I like the movie though and enjoy it but the CGi sucks and I did not like shazam costume.

  • Sam Maxwell
    Sam Maxwell 2 months ago +1

    Anyone else have any issues with Mary in the Christmas fight scene somehow knowing that the 7 deadly sins were the source of his power? how did she know they were sins? she was never told and wouldn't have been able to figure it out...

  • rick louis
    rick louis 2 months ago

    Dcu is starting to figure it out in coming up and developing their own formula with movie making I really enjoy it. It’s not prefect but it’s was great

  • Mephisto Steiner
    Mephisto Steiner 2 months ago +3

    As always completly disagree. The movie is extremely cringy and the bad guy is laughable!

  • Bakary Dembélé
    Bakary Dembélé 2 months ago +4

    Movie was so cliché and lame

  • mighty
    mighty 2 months ago

    14 year old Billy acts like a 7 year old when become Shazam. WTF
    Shitty childish movie for kids.
    Forgettable movie

  • Absence Of Faith
    Absence Of Faith 2 months ago

    Garbage

  • iliaPayne
    iliaPayne 2 months ago

    "With Endgame coming out that's bound to be a very serious movie..."
    Comments that did not age well at all

  • Boon/Slang
    Boon/Slang 2 months ago

    How can someone like Annabelle Creation. That film is pure shit.

  • Ultimate Warrior X2
    Ultimate Warrior X2 2 months ago

    kid movie

  • Justin Awesome
    Justin Awesome 2 months ago

    I love this movie a ton I enjoyed it I cant wait to buy it on Blu Ray.