Apple just got REKT by… themselves - Powerbeats Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 19, 2019
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video! The first 500 of our subscribers to use this link: skl.sh/2LFQQdl will get a 2-month free trial!
    Add Honey for FREE and start saving today at joinhoney.com/ltt
    Thanks Honey for sponsoring!
    The new 2nd gen Airpods were impressive, but Apple's new Powerbeats Pro are even MORE impressive, especially for active users. But are they good enough to impress non-athletes?
    Buy the Powerbeats Pro Totally Wireless Headphones:
    On Amazon: geni.us/XiAAmM
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1065255-apple-just-got-rekt-by%E2%80%A6-themselves-powerbeats-pro-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 984

  • Seagull 78
    Seagull 78 Month ago +4962

    pretty sure 400 is not 50 more than 250

    • Person Dude
      Person Dude 3 days ago

      M Isa your joke is hilarious

    • Person Dude
      Person Dude 3 days ago

      M Isa so 300 usd is 400 cad but 250 Powerbeats will be same in Canada? 250 vs 300, Canada= 330 vs 400

    • David Penquite
      David Penquite 6 days ago

      M Isa what they’re saying is in Canada it’s $400 CAD while in US it’s $300

    • Zes Jerome
      Zes Jerome 17 days ago

      wrr, anys ok

    • Amaan Sajid Nalakath
      Amaan Sajid Nalakath 22 days ago

      Need math tips?

  • khcstewie
    khcstewie 12 hours ago

    I'm very late, but I'd love to see a review of the Sennheiser true wireless!

  • Venom_A1
    Venom_A1 21 hour ago

    So u need both in for them to keep playing your music?

  • Sailingsnail
    Sailingsnail Day ago

    6:50 lmao

  • letgouvgod
    letgouvgod Day ago

    I watched a review in which he demonstrated find my iPhone. And accessed EQ.

  • darbs brown
    darbs brown 3 days ago

    just get a pair of comply ear bud tips and you'll have way better noise isolation if that's what you're looking for] also, usually way more comfy than silicon tips, but alas, to ea their own;]

  • Sin JB
    Sin JB 3 days ago

    God I was so excited to buy the power beats pro got them and was disappointed with the sound quality :( , back to my AirPods for the mean time until something better actually comes along

  • Daniel Sprengart
    Daniel Sprengart 3 days ago

    What are alternatives for a bus and courtyard kind of guy??

  • BeaverKing
    BeaverKing 3 days ago

    C’mon now Linus, athletes aren’t nerds.

  • dj seven47sa
    dj seven47sa 3 days ago

    Sauna proof???

  • Gaven Boparai
    Gaven Boparai 4 days ago

    Are power beats pro unhealthy for you?

  • SpeedTech Inc.
    SpeedTech Inc. 4 days ago

    Tell homeboy to clean out his damn 👂 😂😂😂

  • supercrazymario404
    supercrazymario404 4 days ago

    My favorite part is that after 2 years when the batteries degrade to crap like my AirPods have, the batteries aren’t impossible to replace since they’re only soldered with 2 wires (not as convenient as the Galaxy Buds, but way better than the tick welded and heavily glued in ones of the AirPods) and removing the cover over the main part isn’t too hard. Plus the fact that the cells are 200mWh compared to 93mWh means these will retain a decent capacity for many years and it’ll probably be 5 years before they become annoyingly low in capacity. And with the extra sound quality, these are definitely good and I’ll buy them real soon

  • Zatuo
    Zatuo 5 days ago

    Deep ear penetration

  • Federico Pagani
    Federico Pagani 5 days ago

    beats x are bomb, if you don't mind the cable

  • Daniel swaroop
    Daniel swaroop 5 days ago

    2:41 "She tried" 😲

  • Slevlonder Co
    Slevlonder Co 5 days ago +2

    Has ANYONE ever gotten 5 hours out of their AirPods?

    • 이재훈
      이재훈 4 days ago

      Slevlonder Co i have never used the airpods for 5 hours without putting them back in the case.

  • FuntasticMovies
    FuntasticMovies 6 days ago +4

    Who already got the Powerbeats Pro?
    If you have: how do they are?

    • Joberg
      Joberg 4 days ago

      They very do are

  • Twin V-Twizzy
    Twin V-Twizzy 6 days ago

    $272 w tax. Waiting for mines in July

  • Sruly Ziegler
    Sruly Ziegler 6 days ago

    Jk no one has a homepod 😂

  • Jason Lopez
    Jason Lopez 7 days ago

    What about HTC, OnePlus or LG's DAC for audio tuning? Will the headphones respond to the built-in tuning system?

  • Travis Harger
    Travis Harger 7 days ago

    Oh I’m def interested in the “Deep ear penetration”

  • Travis Harger
    Travis Harger 7 days ago

    They are really good.

  • sponge
    sponge 8 days ago

    Skull candy wireless ear buds have 16 hours btw

    • sponge
      sponge 8 days ago

      Eddie Hall because if you’re looking at the galaxy buds one I will agree with you they look gay

    • sponge
      sponge 8 days ago

      Eddie Hall are you looking at the ones that look like AirPods or the ones that look like the galaxy buds

    • Eddie Hall
      Eddie Hall 8 days ago

      And look gay as fack

  • SkyrimXtreme91
    SkyrimXtreme91 8 days ago +2

    What is the range of the bluetooth like?

  • Hellcat
    Hellcat 8 days ago

    5:29
    *heY SiiIrRIIiEeeEeEE*

  • EG1000
    EG1000 8 days ago

    Stopped listening at lightning port.

  • First name Last name

    Well doesn’t the money still go to apple?

  • Zoë MacGregor
    Zoë MacGregor 9 days ago

    Beats are just for apple users now?

  • Crux
    Crux 9 days ago +4

    The Sennheiser is a $150 more not just $50

  • Benito Delgado
    Benito Delgado 9 days ago

    Stick to the script bro. Your not a comedian. Your jokes are horrible!

  • Nolan buhler
    Nolan buhler 10 days ago

    apple beats themselves

  • Mathias Gommerud
    Mathias Gommerud 10 days ago

    Are they comfortable to use over time? 1/3/8 hours?

    • halorocker2
      halorocker2 8 days ago +1

      I just got my pair today. I'll let you know tomorrow after work.

  • John S
    John S 10 days ago

    After waiting so long for these to come out, so Annoyed that they hurt my ears. Have to return them.

  • BiGG_ShadeZ
    BiGG_ShadeZ 11 days ago

    is the new momentum review there yet?

  • Levi Lemieux
    Levi Lemieux 11 days ago

    I find my Powerbeats 3 wireless headphones great for working out, but they are a HUGE problem for me when running. They are always coming loose or falling out and it’s the most annoying thing. Will these have the same problem or are they designed better so that’s not an issue?

  • UMBC Herky
    UMBC Herky 11 days ago +1

    What’s the sound quality difference from the power beat 3’s?

  • Rich Dollars
    Rich Dollars 11 days ago

    Is that a galaxy watch with a fake Gucci strap?

  • Bryan
    Bryan 11 days ago

    For iOS users that have the Powerbeats Pro, you can customize the EQ for Apple Music subscribers in Settings > Music > EQ. That helps customize the sound settings for Powerbeats Pro users. Have Fun!

  • nomnomNACHO
    nomnomNACHO 12 days ago

    Hey! I have a Homepod and I appreciate the effort not to trigger it :P

  • hkistreet
    hkistreet 12 days ago +24

    "Deep ear penetration", my favorite Pornhub category

  • Abhishek Reddy
    Abhishek Reddy 12 days ago

    Senhiser ones plz...

  • Sebastian Bartolomeo
    Sebastian Bartolomeo 12 days ago

    I HATE THE INTRO ANIMATION/SOUNDBITE CHANGE IT PLEASE

  • CMSGraham
    CMSGraham 12 days ago

    Why didnt test bose soundsport free

  • MrFerrari
    MrFerrari 12 days ago

    If you have AirPods or EarPods (with the wire). No need to upgrade. I had my beats for a week and found myself using my earbuds instead! Just more bass with the beats. For $275 the beats were just not worth it! $275 vs $29 EarPods which is actually louder, go with the AirPods or EarPods.

  • Jason Kendall
    Jason Kendall 12 days ago

    Maybe one day he will disappear... just maybe...

  • Gadgets Review
    Gadgets Review 13 days ago

    gadgets-review.com/best-gaming-laptop-under-500/

  • The713Sonic
    The713Sonic 13 days ago

    I use the Bose Sound Sport.

  • Steph Ewing
    Steph Ewing 13 days ago

    Yes do the sennheiser review again pls

  • Ronald Adams
    Ronald Adams 13 days ago

    Where’s that review of the Sennheisers? I would like to see it. I have an over-ear set of Sennheisers that don’t work so well for the gym so I’m looking at the Powerbeats Pro and the Sennheiser Momentums

  • Dommer
    Dommer 14 days ago

    Bellend

  • Anusmit Mazumdar Student

    do the Bose ones

  • DorianDotSlash
    DorianDotSlash 15 days ago

    I just returned these yesterday. Nothing beats my Plantronics Backbeat FIT headphones for sound and comfort, and they last a week with a one hour workout every day, or about 7-8 hours continuous which is more than enough for sports earphones.

  • Christopher Reiner
    Christopher Reiner 15 days ago

    Linus has a crush on Apple...he claims to hate them, yet cant stop talking about them...

  • EM-OH-JI
    EM-OH-JI 15 days ago

    I wish this has also noise cancellation. Mm

  • thefunkyone247
    thefunkyone247 15 days ago

    I didn’t see the t shirt in this video on your Merch shop. When will it be available ?

  • revaldo29
    revaldo29 15 days ago

    Do they go into idle mode if placed in pockets but not into the charging case? I would like to place them in a pouch in my pocket and pull them out throughout the day and leave the case at home or in my bag only for charging overnight. If

  • Shendue
    Shendue 16 days ago

    AHAHAHAH 250 bucks for earbuds to listen to MP3 compressed music. Okay. XD
    Guys, buy decent headphones and a CD player for half the price.

    • Red Hood
      Red Hood 13 days ago

      Shendue I don’t wanna carry cd player while playing soccer

    • Javien
      Javien 14 days ago

      Shendue I can’t use a cd while I’m playing basketball lol

  • Alvaro monroy
    Alvaro monroy 16 days ago

    4:42

  • HoodieSavage 21
    HoodieSavage 21 16 days ago

    Great review

  • CasualMCZ TMC
    CasualMCZ TMC 16 days ago

    I'm the kid of athlete who runs marathons in FPS shooters

  • PaddyLCubed
    PaddyLCubed 16 days ago +1

    I'd rather take the time and money to buy a pair of Bose or something nicer, and get a custom mold of plugs made.
    Even with a custom mold, they still come in as a cheaper alternative with the additional benefit of having easy to replace parts.

    • Sam Pomare
      Sam Pomare 9 days ago +1

      PaddyLCubed you must not hit the gym often.

  • Hannes Unterberger
    Hannes Unterberger 17 days ago +1

    "5 min charging = 1.5h listening
    15min charging = 4.5h listening"
    No shit.

  • Zes Jerome
    Zes Jerome 17 days ago

    no such thing as impresx or not

  • Julian Aguilar
    Julian Aguilar 17 days ago

    Ummm they do isolate sound wdym

  • Logan Littlejohn
    Logan Littlejohn 18 days ago

    2:40 she tried ?

  • BiG DiL
    BiG DiL 18 days ago

    stfu and go do ur windows shit

  • Jason Turner
    Jason Turner 18 days ago

    That case should charge your phone twice.

  • justsendit
    justsendit 18 days ago

    I was wondering: Can the Powerboats Pro be paired to a 2017 LG OLED 4K TV?

    • alfonso lazo
      alfonso lazo 12 days ago

      justsendit yes you can I have the same TV

  • KingOfBlades27
    KingOfBlades27 18 days ago

    Yep. Definitely will buy these :D

  • Non-Tryhard Eiboiy
    Non-Tryhard Eiboiy 19 days ago

    AirPods: nothing
    AirPods: absolutely nothing

    Power beats pro: hold my earlobes

  • Cheap Tech
    Cheap Tech 19 days ago

    Sennheiser follow up please

  • Gene Star
    Gene Star 19 days ago

    What about armor hedphones and jabra true wireless headphones?

  • Commandroid Lee
    Commandroid Lee 19 days ago +1

    06:38 That's what she said. :D

  • David Thomas
    David Thomas 19 days ago

    When you figure out that apple owns beats

  • olly miller
    olly miller 20 days ago

    Are the earbuds standard? As in if i have a batch of powerbeats replacement earbuds will these work with the powerbeats pro?

    • DoNotCare
      DoNotCare 17 days ago

      olly miller you can probably use anything. I lost my powerbeats 3 eartips and I just use eartips I bought from amazon. So they’ll probably work with any eartip

  • Aaron Sohnrey
    Aaron Sohnrey 20 days ago

    I would love to see a review of the Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless once they come in! I've been somewhat partial to Sennheiser for some time now and would love to upgrade my standard cabled in-ear momentums for some wireless ones.

  • codemiester24
    codemiester24 20 days ago

    Hey great review. Just a question. How have you found the durability of the hinge on the Powerbeats case?

  • Walking Zombie
    Walking Zombie 21 day ago

    She tried? 🤔🤔🤔

  • ROSSARAPTOR
    ROSSARAPTOR 21 day ago +1

    if Jamie from the progressive commercials and David Tennant had a kid it would be this guy

  • DJChelski
    DJChelski 21 day ago

    Linus has a jibe at people who wear cargo pants whilst he's there with his socks and sandals!

  • prudhvee reddy
    prudhvee reddy 21 day ago

    Apple is always great true as trashy can

  • Reggie Owens Jr
    Reggie Owens Jr 21 day ago

    Not really if you use Beats with apple

  • Zazou2000
    Zazou2000 21 day ago

    Are you laughing at my cargo pants?

  • Brady Johnson
    Brady Johnson 21 day ago

    You actually annoy me

  • phych
    phych 21 day ago

    I'll take one Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless full review please.

  • Jost Somuan
    Jost Somuan 21 day ago

    Nice review, but why does everyone always alters their voice when they say “hey Siri”? It has a voice recognition. Siri isn’t going to pay attention to anyone else. I don’t understand.

  • Chief Denis
    Chief Denis 21 day ago +3

    i watched this video in 360p and the quality was incredible, looked almost like 720p. The new av1 codec is actually great, i'm convinced now

  • Young Drizzy215
    Young Drizzy215 21 day ago

    I have a HomePod 🤷🏼‍♂️

  • jameswalker199
    jameswalker199 22 days ago

    I'm not sure why I'm watching this since I don't like headphones that you have to remember to charge. That said, these aren't terrible.

  • DeepCupsChan119
    DeepCupsChan119 22 days ago

    Does powerbeats pro gives you cancer like AirPods

    • Ahmed 232
      Ahmed 232 20 days ago

      DeepCupsChan119
      Anything which requires Bluetooth connection do. Also you shouldn’t worry about cancer just don’t use your airpods 24/7 and you’ll be fine

  • Damien jordan
    Damien jordan 22 days ago +2

    i like how everything these days is huge. guess you never had the hi tech sony walkman or discman or heaven forbid a boom box....
    dam im old

  • Kris Daven
    Kris Daven 22 days ago +2

    What do you mean too much bass.!! U're a different applehead breed 🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️😂😂

  • Roger Skagerström
    Roger Skagerström 22 days ago

    Linus making fun of people with cargo pant - is Linus. :P

  • Christopher Parker
    Christopher Parker 22 days ago +3

    Well flossy carter crowned them his favorite so I’m sold

    • bat man
      bat man 20 days ago +1

      Floss approved 🆗

  • EdgyShooter
    EdgyShooter 23 days ago

    I mean I'm not happy losing ports but there are some impressive offerings for TWS earphones. I think it would be great if you could do some comparisons between the big brands' offerings and the smaller ones, like the PAMU slide or the EarFun free, that are quite significantly cheaper with only a few sacrifices and see how they stack up

  • Fox Boucher
    Fox Boucher 23 days ago

    " i guess size does matter "
    Lmaooooo

  • dean perico
    dean perico 23 days ago

    Hi! Are u using samsung watch?

  • Idkwhattoput Boop bop beep bop

    Stop saying rekt you look 40

  • HitmanLAPD
    HitmanLAPD 24 days ago

    Cool click bait. Apple slaps the beats name on everything... That's why you have the title you do? Fuck off