Every other phone is dead to me. - Galaxy Fold Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 28, 2019
  • Get yourself a dbrand skin at dbrand.com/LinusDropTips
    Monitor and manage your PC in real-time with Pulseway! Create your free account today at lmg.gg/pulseway
    While there have been unique smartphone designs out of China in the past couple years, the Samsung Galaxy Fold is the first device since maybe the iPhone 4 to really be a game-changer.
    Buy Samsung Galaxy Fold: lmg.gg/8KVpV
    Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1118274-every-other-phone-is-dead-to-me/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a VPN today with PIA at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Get a Displate Metal Print at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at lmg.gg/8KV1v
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 858

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  2 months ago +605

    Watch until the end for a spooky BONUS scene... 🎃

    • GhanimPlays99 YT
      GhanimPlays99 YT 23 days ago

      Linus, try to unbox samsung foldable fridge.

    • Nate DS
      Nate DS Month ago

      You do know that you can turn off Samsung’s keyboard predictions right?

    • Enter User Name Here.
      Enter User Name Here. 2 months ago

      What if you were to use 2 individual glass screen protectors????

    • Phil J.L Fig
      Phil J.L Fig 2 months ago

      How much did Samsung pay you?

    • Automatiq
      Automatiq 2 months ago +1

      for you people who didnt catch it, the magazine cutout reads: "you are not the ultimate youtuber"

  • Frank AutiWele
    Frank AutiWele 6 days ago

    Icame back towatchthis video just to vaguely hear that the skin they used is "exclusive". Ph well.

  • KK Kapur
    KK Kapur 7 days ago

    not only is the crease the worst thing in the phone, that fact is that it has a bigger screen than the samsung s10 and a lower resolution

  • Marius Muntean
    Marius Muntean 8 days ago

    use it until the fold 2 or...until you manage to scratch that fragile plastic screen with even a fingernail, or dust goes under...

  • awesomeferret
    awesomeferret 9 days ago

    Congrats, you use your phone in a very niche way. Sorry. but this is the real world, and most people don't want plastic screens. That right there is pretty much the only reason that foldable phones have not and will not see mainstream use. And you really can't expect to be taken seriously by endorsing a device that costs so much and has such a low resolution. We know you wouldn't have such a low standard for laptops, so why here? And good luck with an IP rating on a foldable device. I don't see in happening within the next decade, that's for sure. Physics is just too inconvenient for that. Really disappointing to see such a blatantly and openly anti consumer video from LTT.

    • Matthew Frailey
      Matthew Frailey 7 days ago

      you know all the hyper critical comments come from folks who ever held the phone in their hand. it's like giving a car review of a car you never drove before. yeah the phone isn't perfect, we know that, but it's very useful everyone I have showed the phone, which is all hardcore 10 year AAPL fanboys had almost nothing but positive to say about the phone and all really liked it and thought it was very cool

  • Joe
    Joe 11 days ago

    are you guys going to give a long term review of this, i see linus using it alot in new videos

  • Justice Forall
    Justice Forall 16 days ago

    I Agree 🤷🏾‍♂️👍🏾

  • Brebgon
    Brebgon 17 days ago

    God I wish it had a home button on the front and no notch

  • BeastMaster 69
    BeastMaster 69 18 days ago

    Won't really buy it....I'll wait for the FOLD 2
    They need to make it easier to use

  • Bone Dancer
    Bone Dancer 19 days ago

    lol, I'm still stuck with an ancient f&cking Motorola!

  • Rick 'Billy' Rodriguez

    I'll definitely wait for the second version when it ever releases.
    But I'll definitely get the new Motorola Razr flip/smartphone/touchscreen because I have a construction job.

  • Noscopes Allowed
    Noscopes Allowed 22 days ago

    4:00 Yes Linus, feel our painnn

  • Andrew M.
    Andrew M. 25 days ago +1

    What about the camera, Linus?

  • Ammad Khan
    Ammad Khan 26 days ago

    His merch is way too overpriced like literally $50 for a 3 pair underwear set. And $90 for a jacket!

  • Zeyphir
    Zeyphir 26 days ago +1

    What about the camera Linus?

  • Ash Sabre
    Ash Sabre 26 days ago

    how's the camera linus?

  • KoiQ
    KoiQ 26 days ago

    But what about the camera linus?

  • mmm7761
    mmm7761 26 days ago +2

    What about the camera Linus?

  • Smude
    Smude 26 days ago +1

    Hey Linus, why didn't you talk about the camera?!

  • AngryTank Killa
    AngryTank Killa 26 days ago +6

    “What about the camera Linus.” XD

  • Siddharthan Kotravel
    Siddharthan Kotravel 26 days ago +3

    What about the camera Linus?

  • DevoliaEsp
    DevoliaEsp 26 days ago +3

    But Linus ... What about the camera ?
    (I know, I know, I'm so original)

  • CarthagoMike
    CarthagoMike 26 days ago +8

    *But what about the camera, Linus?*

  • Jacob Girling
    Jacob Girling 26 days ago +8

    "What about the camera Linus ?"

  • TheNIX001
    TheNIX001 26 days ago

    4:28 "Even one of my small hands can hold and......" The band aid tells a different story ;-)

  • altgenesis
    altgenesis 27 days ago +1

    Nope. A foldable tablet would make more sense. 6" folding out to 12" would make more sense as a tablet. Electronic keyboard is fine for light text input. You can always add a bluetooth keyboard.

  • ArchGirl
    ArchGirl 27 days ago

    Full screen video on this thing makes zero sense. We ditched 4:3 video years ago, please don't bring it back with gimmicky screens...

  • Dija's Vid Dump
    Dija's Vid Dump 28 days ago

    I just want a folding phone that’s basically like an old razor flip phone, but it‘s a normal sized smartphone on the inside.

  • David Lacziko
    David Lacziko 29 days ago

    Cool

  • Comrade Russkiy
    Comrade Russkiy Month ago

    waiting for ifold

  • Eddie P
    Eddie P Month ago

    Ill never understand how rich youtubers can paint out a 2000 delicate egg to be worth it but not use it as a daily driver. Its insane seeing the amount of youtubers saying a phone like this is amazing but dont keep using it. Im willing to bet youre using ba diff device daily now

  • Baggy Trousers
    Baggy Trousers Month ago

    Now if only it had an S pen.

  • Ryan Patterson
    Ryan Patterson Month ago

    I paid 2934 tax in canadian for mine

  • 14years Gambler
    14years Gambler Month ago

    Hi, is your phone still okay???

  • roy boon
    roy boon Month ago

    huawei way better . they shld not leak the design. they cant go back anymore

  • OVERLOAD949494
    OVERLOAD949494 Month ago

    Motorola got a better form factor

  • Jake
    Jake Month ago

    Just wait till you get dirt inside it.

  • mateusz molenda
    mateusz molenda Month ago

    Nokia bricks dont die.

  • Mike Kleinsteuber
    Mike Kleinsteuber Month ago

    Is that a stick on beard or do you somehow change at night like Dr Jekyll ?

  • Tarek Hassan
    Tarek Hassan Month ago

    huawei mate x is better specially when folded

  • bemersonbakebarmen
    bemersonbakebarmen Month ago

    An experimental product..... nope. But for the tech nerds Its the new Iphone 1

  • Ryan Patterson
    Ryan Patterson Month ago

    Cannot wait until I get mine, such an amazing phone.

  • Erasus
    Erasus Month ago

    Pathetic video as usual

  • Adam McLain
    Adam McLain Month ago

    Damn Linus is like 7 months late on this one. MKBHD released his second review of the new revision of this phone they still gave Linus one of the old defective ones lol wow

  • XIANG HUANG
    XIANG HUANG Month ago

    Is that an Apple Watch on your wrist?

  • AK Man
    AK Man Month ago

    I love my fold.

  • Bikepacking Adventures - Michael Luplow

    What about 16:9 video playback? Why didnt you show this?

  • Sukh Qazmi
    Sukh Qazmi Month ago

    It is like ipad pro mini xp

  • Sukh Qazmi
    Sukh Qazmi Month ago

    89% of population probably cannot afford this n STILL a fold 2 is expected... Sighs...
    Samsung gradually turning into Apple... But with Samsung's faster pace xp
    If only things went vice versa

  • Yasser Hamid
    Yasser Hamid Month ago

    Samsung galaxy fault

  • Planet Fabulous
    Planet Fabulous Month ago

    Can't he show us a damn phone without those stupid skins on them?

  • Peter Kassandras
    Peter Kassandras Month ago +1

    i would love it to have an s pen

  • Abdullah Attieh
    Abdullah Attieh Month ago

    1800 bruh I can Buy a really really good gaming laptop or gaming pc

  • βΣΨΩΠD RΣΔSΩΠ

    Honestly, the Fold looks inferior to the Motorola and Huawei foldable phones.

  • Praecantetia
    Praecantetia Month ago

    This is just a ds with Android.

  • XCALI3UR
    XCALI3UR Month ago

    Wow, your videos have just become one big infomercial. I’m sorry bro but you need to back off on all the ads during your video as it takes away your credibility.

  • gomefun2ify
    gomefun2ify Month ago

    So moving back to 4:3 ratio is advancement from 16:9.
    Strange.

  • Stefan Swanepoel
    Stefan Swanepoel Month ago

    I love your vids mate! I love my fold, I actually end up using the front screen a lot more than I thought. I keep forgetting that I have a big screen a fold away. It took some learning, but the front screen for my is nearly 100% accurate considering I have giant hands :(, but unfolded super useful for my giant hands :)

  • Brandon Lindner
    Brandon Lindner Month ago

    Note 10+ still in my opinion is the best!

  • Therealfactor 57
    Therealfactor 57 Month ago

    I'm more excited for the razr style