How SSD Technology Keeps Getting WORSE! - Intel 660p Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 12, 2018
  • Visit www.squarespace.com/LTT and use offer code LTT for 10% off
    Pick up PC Building Simulator for only $15 USD TODAY ONLY at www.chrono.gg/ltt
    Get great deals on PC Games at www.chrono.gg/ltt
    Buy Samsung 860 EVO 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/AY94p
    Buy Intel 660p 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/Mdfzw
    Buy Intel 760p 1TB on Amazon: geni.us/xPqbanR
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/994024-ssds-keep-getting-worse/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.com/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 063

  • Shirley Márquez Dúlcey

    Horses for courses. I put one of these in my Ryzen 5 2400G build and it has been serving very well for the things I do with that computer. (Those don't include heavy gaming because of the lack of a discrete GPU, but it's useful for a light summer gaming session when I don't want to heat up the room.) Though it felt a bit weird to put an Intel SSD in an AMD system...

  • rgefan Der erste
    rgefan Der erste 3 days ago

    Wtf the 660p is good for the prise

  • HuginAndMunin
    HuginAndMunin 5 days ago

    my gf has been using the 660p for quite some time now and we've never had any issues, on the contrary, it's been super reliable and fast so far.

  • ENDERwigginMEDIC
    ENDERwigginMEDIC 7 days ago +2

    Does anyone want to buy my 32gb intel slc drive that I bought for $500. I think it is worth $5 now bahaha

  • Apex Apex
    Apex Apex 9 days ago

    How about a small nvme drive just for booting the os, and then SSD for the storage? Since it seems nvme drops to SSD speeds after some time on bigger file transfer? From 1600+ mb/s to 550 mb/s or so.

  • Ismael Rivera
    Ismael Rivera 9 days ago

    So unless you're going to do over 100GB transfers in one shot on a frequent basis, there is no reason to spend extra money on a more expensive NVME ssd pretty much. $100 for a 1TB 660p is pretty freaking awesome.

    • Ismael Rivera
      Ismael Rivera 7 days ago

      @Snorty McGout haven't played any over 40. But under what circumstances would a person need to constantly transfer 100gb games to and from a drive? Downloading from internet is not the same, it's much transfer rate therefore no need for more than 120/MBPS writes maximum on a 1gbps internet. You wouldn't reach the caching thresholds

    • Snorty McGout
      Snorty McGout 7 days ago

      Aren’t a lot of games becoming bigger than 100GB now though?

  • Master Stacker
    Master Stacker 11 days ago +1

    Background music is an unnecessary distraction.

  • Toshiaki Ou
    Toshiaki Ou 13 days ago

    The digital zoom in at the beginning is unnecessary and distracting. But the content is too good and saves the day.

  • Mike Messiah
    Mike Messiah 14 days ago +2

    its costs lesser than some SATA SSDs for the same price.

  • T8PolestarCyan
    T8PolestarCyan 17 days ago

    Now does does this compare to KingSpec SSD (which is TLC) that you've previously tested?

  • turbo bunny
    turbo bunny 17 days ago

    Mine reboots pc when under load

  • Ariano Ângelo
    Ariano Ângelo 18 days ago +2

    My Samsung Evo 850 has 3 years and I didn't even hit the 100 TBs. And it's life expectancy it's of 150 TBW. Let's be honest, the 660p it's an optimal choice for most who don't write 100GBs per day.

  • Roy Evans
    Roy Evans 20 days ago +1

    ok, seen the full vid through and understand what you are saying about it's use for very large file transfers. I'll never use files that big, so I got one on order. 500gb for £59 is a steal. Great vid, answered any doubts I would have had. Thanks.

  • Roy Evans
    Roy Evans 20 days ago

    slower but still 3 times faster than an SSD i read some place

  • jcharmz11
    jcharmz11 21 day ago

    Hey Linus I have the 660p 512 and I installed windows 10 on it. It was horrible the os froze at times I thought it was the processor or the pci express m2 adapter but I just might believe it’s the ssd. Should have gotten the Samsung dvi.

  • BoomWithPeter
    BoomWithPeter 22 days ago

    100€ for 1TB of this badboi

  • animan095
    animan095 27 days ago

    Wew
    I wish youtube had made me watch this sooner
    Alas I now know a bit more about how to treat this little misfit of a SSD a good life.
    I'll make my priority to upgrade it to more reliable one.

  • Klaus Zipfel
    Klaus Zipfel 27 days ago

    I can agree on all parts of the movie. I specificly bought this for my laptop to replace the slow 2TB HDD in it. The intent was to store data ("data grave") and games only. All other stuff like programs or the OS are on a Samsung Pro SSD. There is pretty much only a read-action on it and its soooo much faster than before on the HDD. I will eventually do the same step on my desktop, but only for games (2 TB QLC SSD) and buy a (smaller ~4TB) HDD instead of the current 6 TB monster HDD.

  • David Perry
    David Perry 29 days ago

    My samsung 970 evo plus m.2 SSD is fast enough to tax my ryzen 7 2700x CPU to 100 percent usage when doing a virus scan. I would need a threadripper if I get a 500 dollar 1TB 3D SLC NVME SSD with 3d stacked nand dies on each chip to get most out of it. TLC is bad enough for me in terms of SSD technology. I want my SSD to have so much endurance that the thermal cycling will kill it well before the rewrite cycles do so.

  • Joe Wayne
    Joe Wayne 29 days ago

    A good priced good enough ssd for the masses way better than a mechanical hd

  • Zorrobeat
    Zorrobeat 29 days ago

    So this finally uses Q-bits?

  • VillaMasterSF
    VillaMasterSF Month ago +4

    bought 2tb 660p in august for 166€ its freaking steal in terms of value for money

  • jade007z
    jade007z Month ago

    Great video! Thank you Linus! I have a question:
    I have a Intel 660p 1TB and a Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
    Which one should I use for my OS and which one for 4k video editing?
    Can I use the Intel 660p 1TB
    to put my 4k Media and Projects and edit 4k with Premiere Pro ?

    • jade007z
      jade007z Month ago +1

      @David Fodre Thank you, your help is very appreciated, cheers!

    • David Fodre
      David Fodre Month ago +1

      Not a good idea. Use the 970 Evo as your editing drive because it's much more durable. The 660p is a lot better for read heavy scenarios like booting an OS than constantly writing files to it.

  • Isul Machdar
    Isul Machdar Month ago +2

    Well.... Samsung is still the King of NVMe drives.

    • Dimas Pratama
      Dimas Pratama 26 days ago

      No the king of NVMe SSD for now is Aorus

    • jocie
      jocie 29 days ago +1

      Usually
      Unless you need optane

  • Ramon Zarat
    Ramon Zarat Month ago +10

    Literally 0.1% of users do full drive write. Also, how many time any of us are moving around their 250Gb+ Steam folder? Once in their life? The fact is, the 660p is the perfect balance of performance and cost for the 99.9% of us. It reached the "good enough" level of performance with enormous 2TB capacity at a ridiculously low price. The fact is a regular user/gamer will NEVER see the difference between 660p and an SSD 2 time the price with half the capacity. The only metric that truly matter is 4k 1T 1Q and with that profile, all SDD are practically equal in performance.

    • Wyatt O'Shea
      Wyatt O'Shea Month ago

      @Tobi 660p

    • Tobi
      Tobi Month ago

      I need your help what should I get this 660p Intel ssd or Samsung Evo 860 250 gb Iam building a gaming pc

  • Augustine Delgado
    Augustine Delgado Month ago +1

    I have a 256GB ssdpekkw25 (I'm a bit confused as the box it came in is for a 760p, it reports as a 660p in some programs but the model number is for a 600p. I picked it up at microcenter a year ago sealed in box. by the data it reports like what I'd expect from a 760p under load but it is very strange it reports as prior models none the less.
    I just ran AB SSD Benchmark andy my drive reported:
    Sequential Read: 2618.50MB/s
    Sequential Write: 1262.68MB/s

    I ran it against my 2TB MB2000EBZQC HDD which reported:
    Sequential Read: 134.81MB/s
    Sequential Write: 132.23MB/s

    I ran the benchmark with many background processes open save that I paused my virus protection and shut down som fluff programs that control some of my RGB components like Corsair iCue, Logitech gaming software and the nvidia tray icon. I tested some of my other drives but they actually did worse than the 2TB drive (probably due to being larger capacity).

    Also, the drive you are showing in this video looks nothing like the 660p I have or even the one advertised on newegg (which looks exactly like the one I have).

  • Paul T.
    Paul T. Month ago

    I just bought mine: 90 Bucks at 1TB capacity! I just will not fill it beyond 70% full.

  • ThatFoxGuy30 Watch/Talk/Subscribe

    So it'll work better than my WD Blue from 2010 in loading games faster?

    • Paul T.
      Paul T. Month ago

      Yes, about 3 TIMES to 5 TIMES faster! Just don't fill the SSD to near full capacity.

  • Dat Boii
    Dat Boii Month ago

    it's not ssd tech, it's intel

  • ShinyMooTank
    ShinyMooTank Month ago

    So intel Ssd is great for running an operating system and maybe running games but not for transfer large files.

  • PainBlame
    PainBlame Month ago

    M.2 ssd are suppose to be 2000mbs a second if I'm gonna get a m.2 why would I pay more for the same speed as a 2.5" sata ssd?

    • Stanislav Markov
      Stanislav Markov Month ago

      M2 can be sata or nvme. Both are fine (nvme run hotter, not much faster in real every day use). M2 sata do not cost more than 2.5" sata but lack the need for 2 cables. Z390 Aorus Ultra for example has 3 slots for M2.

    • Fecal Eruptions
      Fecal Eruptions Month ago

      M.2 NVMe drives are not the same speed as a 2.5 SSD. But if you're just playing video games and watching RU-clip, you will not notice a difference besides a few seconds faster for loading a game.

  • Suchi N
    Suchi N Month ago

    Thought I'd add a relevant opinion. I've had a 660p now since launch as a secondary drive. It has gone well and I have had less issues with it than my other drives. It is now a few years old and is regularly around half full. Performance figures as of yesterday follow:
    Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 550.710 MB/s
    Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 525.447 MB/s
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 401.053 MB/s [ 97913.3 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 327.369 MB/s [ 79924.1 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 283.622 MB/s [ 69243.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 262.194 MB/s [ 64012.2 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 39.230 MB/s [ 9577.6 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 105.567 MB/s [ 25773.2 IOPS]
    Seems to be beating my Samsung 850 currently by a hair.

    • Suchi N
      Suchi N Month ago

      @sparkb I am aware of this and it's a fair point.
      The thing is that it is a 1tb ssd which is more than enough for currently played games. I only put games that need fast disk speed on it eg. vr games or games that stream a lot of data. I have a 4tb regular mechanical drive for my other games, a 1.5tb mechanical for data and a 250gb ssd as a boot drive.
      It is unlikely I will ever fill it more than halfway making the drive full point irrelevant. So, for anyone just using these drives in the same way as myself, there will never be a performance disadvantage with a large cost advantage. Agreed?

    • sparkb
      sparkb Month ago

      Wait until you fill it up and see performance degrading to the level of any HDD

  • Snn Krds
    Snn Krds Month ago +1

    Wow. That is the perfect translation from English to Turkish. Who the fuck translated it? XD

  • Orange Black
    Orange Black Month ago

    Wait.. do Canadians use their thumb for counts from 2 to 4 as well? I thought they do it the "american" way..

  • Ton Lop Chanh NY
    Ton Lop Chanh NY Month ago

    sure, all things from intel very bad with high price

    • Esa Tuunanen
      Esa Tuunanen Month ago

      You can stop licking Samsung's butt.
      True sustained write speed of 1TB 860 QVO is equally bad as Intel 660p at around 80MB/s and gets trashed by TLC drives and HDDs:
      www.tweaktown.com/articles/8819/samsung-860-qvo-ssd-review-rip-consumer-hdds/index2.html
      Further 4k random read performance is half of TLC drives, 70% read/30% write mixed load random and sequential read clearly worser.
      Even actual game loading time has difference and PCMark storage bandwidth result is third slower and extended test performance even worser:
      www.tweaktown.com/articles/8819/samsung-860-qvo-ssd-review-rip-consumer-hdds/index3.html
      Also it was Samsung who in its rush pushed out untested planar TLC based 840 Evo, resulting in drives whose data read speed collapsed after a time.
      Simply because those tiny transistors couldn't hold charge state properly and requiring likely multiple read attempts and heavy use of error correction.
      That fault was bubblegum and duct tape fixed with firmware updates making controller regularly "refresh"/rewrite data. (like in DRAM)

    • Ton Lop Chanh NY
      Ton Lop Chanh NY Month ago

      @Esa Tuunanen oh no, other like WD, KINGSTON, KINGMAX have TLC price same QLC of samsung. but when write over 50%, run slow like hdd read and write random.

    • Esa Tuunanen
      Esa Tuunanen Month ago

      Which is moot point when other makers have TLC drives (like Crucial MX500) at price of Samsung's QLC drive.
      Kingston even has TLC NVMe drive (A2000) in same price level as Samsung 860 QVO.

    • Ton Lop Chanh NY
      Ton Lop Chanh NY Month ago

      @Esa Tuunanen but qlc of samsung have speed faster than qlc of intel

    • Esa Tuunanen
      Esa Tuunanen Month ago

      At least Intel prices it little lower per GB than TLC.
      Unlike Samsung selling QLC drives at price of other makers TLC drives.

  • uonadtehrrocks
    uonadtehrrocks Month ago

    I'm worried about the already low durability combined with using the same nand as a SLC cashe...

  • Bonnie Munene
    Bonnie Munene Month ago

    Storage of the future has fewer problems than hdd

  • lilroberto
    lilroberto Month ago

    *hardware not firmware

  • Matt Cooper
    Matt Cooper Month ago +2

    For $130 for 1TB on Newegg right now, not bad :)

    • Crusader B
      Crusader B 15 days ago +1

      @Ticomfreak what are the odds

    • Ticomfreak
      Ticomfreak Month ago +1

      I thought this comment was from me and got very confused.

  • Rufius Baxterousle
    Rufius Baxterousle Month ago

    Thanks for the PSA Linus

  • thenonexistinghero
    thenonexistinghero Month ago +1

    Well, with the Kingston A2000 releasing recently, there is no reason to get the 660p anymore.

  • Springjordan
    Springjordan Month ago

    So I can't use it as caching for a game drive? Well can I at least use it as my primary Windows partition so that my Laptop can finally get more than just 128 GB of storage? Maybe even space for a second OS? Or would that also be a bad idea?

  • Meme Machine
    Meme Machine Month ago +3

    Just bought a new laptop
    The ssd was 90% full with just windows installed
    Returned it

  • Casper de Cocq van Delwijnen

    Fuck me I just bought that one and now I see this

    • Ra awesome
      Ra awesome Month ago +2

      Well, it is not a bad drive

  • Geoffrey Zoref
    Geoffrey Zoref Month ago

    89 bucks for 1tb????

  • SneakZ
    SneakZ Month ago +1

    I just built a pc with a 1tb nvme ssd as only storage. Should I get a second drive and keep the ssd below a certain % to keep speeds good?

  • Tony TheBrave
    Tony TheBrave Month ago

    QLC is shite!

  • Atilla ÜNVER
    Atilla ÜNVER Month ago +1

    thanks to your reviews, manufacturers lowering their price for us because of you, long live linus :)

  • BIOSHOCKFOXX
    BIOSHOCKFOXX Month ago

    you skipped MLC, the thing between TLC and DLC regarding lifespan.

  • 1337
    1337 Month ago

    i am just a gamer, so my system needs to read a lot. In this case this ssd is good?

    • Rik Wisselink
      Rik Wisselink Month ago

      You think you need to read a lot, your drive may disagree. As was mentioned in the game load times: there isn't a whole lot of difference between these drives.

  • free thinker
    free thinker Month ago

    One other thing to remember is that Samsung use ram for caching (lddr4
    Intel 660p does not ! What this mean ? As any ram if your computer turn off you can loose data
    So for cache ? It can create gremlin issue ! With the 660p ? Not a chance since intel is using the nvme it self
    And it’s intended to keep data even if turned off ! This sound stupid ? But I can tell you , for the os ? I would prefer the intel 660p

  • dosduros
    dosduros Month ago

    It used to be pros and cons.
    Now its pros and noobs.

  • David O
    David O 2 months ago

    I feel stupid but in my opinion, 2-4 HDD's in RAID 0 > 1 high capacity SSD

  • ZuRriX
    ZuRriX 2 months ago +2

    7:10

  • David G
    David G 2 months ago +2

    It's insane value for anyone who does casual computing. Anyone who does sequential transfers more than 16gb then this is not for them.

  • Hitman006xp
    Hitman006xp 2 months ago

    i changed from a 960evo 500gb to a 2TB 660p as my Games SSD and i'm happy with it.

    • Honeyball Lecter
      Honeyball Lecter 2 months ago +2

      The 660p is perfect for gaming. Just not for people who are dealing with massive files on a regular basis.

  • Dabombinable Mi
    Dabombinable Mi 2 months ago

    An SSD such as this would only ever be used as an storage SSD by me, since only a few of my games actually make effective use of even my SATA SSD (the 3GB/sec read and 2GB/sec write on my boot SSD is useless)

  • tomato884
    tomato884 2 months ago

    ass ass ass D

  • sirmyself
    sirmyself 2 months ago +1

    The amount of users not understanding the expression "aggressive pricing" is _falalabbergasting_

    • H. R. S. S
      H. R. S. S 2 months ago +1

      I think they mean we are being abused aggressively by Intel prices....? So it's agressive pricing! I get it now!

  • Logan Braveheart
    Logan Braveheart 2 months ago

    get the fuck out here fanboy i can see u didnt talk about the Samsung QVO SSDs that sucks even more balls