2020 Ford Focus ST review - better than a Megane RS? | What Car?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 4, 2019
  • Join us in France for our 2020 Ford Focus ST review. In this video, we'll tell you how Ford's new Focus ST hot hatch squares up against the competition, including the Renault Megane RS and Honda Civic Type R.
    Save thousands on your next new car with What Car? at www.whatcar.com/new-car-deals/
    New videos are uploaded to What Car? each week. Don't miss a single one. Subscribe now: bit.ly/2Obgxjd
    Visit our website at www.whatcar.com/
    What Car? is the UK's biggest car-buying brand and has been helping Britain's car buyers make purchasing decisions for more than 40 years. Our tests are widely regarded as the most trusted source of new car advice.
    This channel brings you trusted reviews on all the new models on the market, all the latest first drives, reader reviews, and great car-buying advice.
    All reviews are available in full online at Whatcar.com - the UK's leading car-buying website, offering trusted reviews and data on every new car. The website also offers advice on car leasing, new car deals and new and used cars for sale.
    Follow What Car? here:
    LIKE What Car? on Facebook: goo.gl/yv5jF8
    FOLLOW What Car? on Twitter: goo.gl/SJzmT8
    Check out our full video catalog: bit.ly/2W81iu9
    #FordFocusST #FocusST #ST
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 152

  • What Car?
    What Car?  5 months ago +8

    Would you choose the new Focus ST? Or would you rather have a Hyundai i30N, Honda Civic Type R or Renault Megane RS? Let us know!

    • EvilGrimreaper
      EvilGrimreaper 17 days ago

      I live in the US and ima be honest i was planning on trading in my 2015 Ford Focus SE Hatchback for a 2020 Focus ST but of course they had to change the idea then i was gonna get the Ford Focus Active since they were only gonna give us that one now of course their not giving it to us at all which sucks too i much rather woulda had this over all these new SUV's their offering I own a 2007 Mustang GT as well and after seeing this new Mustang Mach-E idea they came out with I just thought bleh i much rather woulda had the Ford Focus Active this car is bad ass though love the 2020 Focus ST guess i'm just gonna have to stick to living with my 2015 Focus SE Hatchback and hope one day they bring the Focus back to life here

    • Cedric Decharme
      Cedric Decharme 24 days ago

      I prefer the Veloster N but we can t have it in Europe.
      So i take the Focus ST.
      Very good car for the price.
      But un blue 😉

    • dave j
      dave j Month ago

      2019 mustang GT 6 speed thank you

    • KING0SISQO
      KING0SISQO 2 months ago

      Not the Honda Civic

    • IceCold
      IceCold 3 months ago

      mk3 rs....

  • Whinzey
    Whinzey 20 days ago

    Something feels wierd here.
    Last week i bought the Focus ST as an Estate AND i could add the performence pack. at 6:50 you state that i could not?

  • Schrader Bräu
    Schrader Bräu 2 months ago

    2.3 > 2.0

  • YUF TUF
    YUF TUF 2 months ago

    focus better coz the quality in every part of focus better than the french/but it is more expensive.meganes interior and build quailty terrible

  • karl hewitt
    karl hewitt 2 months ago +1

    you can pick up a I30n brand new for £25/26k
    they keep going on about these cars being everyday cars but the prices are getting way to high

  • xetexuk12
    xetexuk12 2 months ago

    I would rather have this than the Renault and definitely the ugly old Honda, good review.

  • IceCold
    IceCold 3 months ago

    im just going to say it. It looks boring.

  • A smith
    A smith 3 months ago

    I don’t trust your opinion already when you’re talking about links to buy the car.

  • Wio Berger
    Wio Berger 3 months ago +2

    The Focus ST is not in the same class as the Type R
    Type R and Focus RS are in the same class.
    It does make a lot of sense to put them against another,The ST has 280 hp and a Type 350 🤷‍♂️

  • Chris Chris
    Chris Chris 3 months ago

    Megane rs trophy!

    • mad4tar77
      mad4tar77 3 months ago

      Bounce bounce bounce. Laughably bad suspension.

  • Brandon Crabtree
    Brandon Crabtree 3 months ago +4

    Why can’t we get the new ST in North America 😭😭

  • Tosta Details
    Tosta Details 3 months ago +1

    Best hothatch at the moment and best looking one, Hyundai i30 then this focus and the best this is that you can get them manual. The Civic..good car but ugly. But I even prefer the Veloster N to the i30 N.

  • Luis Bahena
    Luis Bahena 3 months ago

    Fuck Ford for this

    • mad4tar77
      mad4tar77 3 months ago

      Ooooh ya. No yanks getting it, happy days.

  • Lensman
    Lensman 4 months ago

    Carbon-fibre effect! Damn the vulgar fools.

  • Ron Lawson
    Ron Lawson 4 months ago

    Does it have a LSD ?

  • modmatt1
    modmatt1 4 months ago

    Very sad that this is not a choice here in the US now as this would be my top pick if it was available. VW Golf GTI would be at the top of my list along with the Mazda3 with the N/A 2.5L in hatch form as the Type R is another $10k on top of these choices. I enjoyed the beautiful roadway and great job on the review!

  • Zane
    Zane 4 months ago +1

    Does anyone know if this has the same seats as the Fiesta ST please? I ask because I have them and they are looking baggy already and I have less than 4000 miles on it.

    • Leon TheProfessional
      Leon TheProfessional 2 months ago

      Zane I’m trading my Fiesta ST in due to the numerous build quality issues. I’ve had 2 new seats both have gone baggy again. I’m collecting the Focus ST next week and yes the seats are the same, so wish me luck! 😳😩🤦🏼‍♂️

  • Mangofresh2012
    Mangofresh2012 4 months ago

    Looks like the last generation pre facelift. Can’t wait for the facelift of this gen now

  • David Terry
    David Terry 4 months ago

    Why have Ford gone for a torque converter (fluid coupling) slushbox auto instead of a dual clutch system which seems the more common choice currently?

  • Andy Clark
    Andy Clark 4 months ago +3

    Montune st upgaded will be awesome. Could be around 320 hp?

    • mad4tar77
      mad4tar77 3 months ago

      No, it'll be 300 and it won't be warranty friendly, so only a fool will consider it.... or be willing to foot some serious bills for any engine problems that arise, be they because of the tune or not

  • elmin
    elmin 4 months ago

    what a joke no custom modes? no rev matching in normal mode

  • M4004139R S203
    M4004139R S203 4 months ago +1

    In the interior the engine sounds like a diesel. Very disappointing.

    • Mogsy28uk
      Mogsy28uk 4 months ago

      that will be the inducted engine noise through the car speakers, been that way since MK3 ST facelift in late 2014,

  • Peter Who?
    Peter Who? 5 months ago

    It looks fugly and very similar to the i30N!

    • Isaac Clarke
      Isaac Clarke 2 months ago

      not really, you just have shit taste.

  • Ed Loomis
    Ed Loomis 5 months ago +6

    Lovely car! Good video, much prefer the Focus styling than the current fiesta

    • What Car?
      What Car?  4 months ago

      Thanks Ted! Glad you enjoyed.

  • Blake Swan
    Blake Swan 5 months ago

    I want to know if this is better driving than the i30 N

  • Stoic44
    Stoic44 5 months ago

    Not coming to the NA?

    • Mogsy28uk
      Mogsy28uk 4 months ago

      nope, Ford stopped all car production in favour of SUV and Trucks only, so not ST or RS in US.

  • Steve
    Steve 5 months ago +1

    i30N

  • mainman2999
    mainman2999 5 months ago +6

    you build a shed or a house, you do not "build speed" most annoying youngism, you ACCELERATE, yes, its an old untrendy word !

  • Silverstone AP2
    Silverstone AP2 5 months ago +2

    Looks like a Hyundai Elentra GT lol

  • Blessing Fumani
    Blessing Fumani 5 months ago +1

    When are these babies coming to South Africa

    • Ronald Ragadza
      Ronald Ragadza 3 months ago

      @Tuka If they are not bringing a regular focus I doubt if we will ever see these on our roads.

    • Tuka
      Tuka 5 months ago +1

      Blessing Fumani that’s what I wanna know as well

  • jamiroquai01fan
    jamiroquai01fan 5 months ago +1

    I would like to know how it does against the I30N more than the Megane RS.

  • Shippey 1970
    Shippey 1970 5 months ago

    Paint it in a light blue and it looks like the Hyundai i30N

    • pops and bangs
      pops and bangs 4 months ago

      Its have the longer hood like the mazda 3 doesn’t mean it’s similar .

    • S
      S 4 months ago

      @pops and bangs I think it's more than a bit similar, the i30 is basically a crossbreed between a Mazda 3 and a facelifted Focus.

    • pops and bangs
      pops and bangs 4 months ago

      Like the Elantra gt 2012 its and the facelifted focus looks similar too .

    • pops and bangs
      pops and bangs 4 months ago

      S its a little bit similar, but it still Hyundai own thing.

    • S
      S 4 months ago

      @pops and bangs the i30N looks like the Focus RS, just look at the front shape.

  • Nermin Viner
    Nermin Viner 5 months ago +3

    Great car. Magnificent scenery. How do arrange for the road to be empty?

  • elmin
    elmin 5 months ago +1

    i30n cheaper louder more track focused being designed by that bmw m guy! ive owned 3 ford focus sts/xr5 feels unrefined just go fast bits on a focus!

    • pops and bangs
      pops and bangs 4 months ago

      Kevin Menken that in your country

    • wantzit
      wantzit 4 months ago

      @elmin full equip i30N 49.000€ and focus ST wagon 46.000€ and better hahahaha trust me xD i30N = no chance

    • elmin
      elmin 4 months ago

      @wantzit i30n cheaper and better!

    • wantzit
      wantzit 5 months ago +1

      full equip @ I30N = 49000€ Focus ST = 46000€ as wagon

  • Thomas Hudson
    Thomas Hudson 5 months ago

    Looks so boring

  • SN Cuts
    SN Cuts 5 months ago +1

    Oh my goodness, is this about the focus st or the civic type r!??
    These are 2 different cars, one can't compare them like this. The focus is responsible grown up young at heart, the civic is an awesome little boy with lots of energy

    • McBaron
      McBaron 3 months ago

      @S
      The Type R is heavier though. And torque is the same.
      This comes with anti-lag, the Type R definitely doesn't.
      I wouldn't be surprised if this gets close to what the Type R can do.

    • S
      S 4 months ago

      Plus that their intended use cases are completely different. This is meant to be an easy sporty daily driver while the Type-R is track focused first and foremost, it still manages to be a good daily but it's not its primary focus.
      There's also a big 45HP difference between the two which might not affect 0-100 time since they're FWD but definitely affects track performance.

  • Azureecosse
    Azureecosse 5 months ago

    so there is a focus STD, that sounds messy and painful.

    • Azureecosse
      Azureecosse 4 months ago

      so just a Diesel taxi tarted up to look like a Focus ST, that sounds like a riot of fun. Not.

    • Mogsy28uk
      Mogsy28uk 4 months ago

      been one since early 2015......though we like to call them ST TDCI's 😊

  • JFomo
    JFomo 5 months ago +4

    Haha i love that you called out the Civic for having a trash infotainment system. Not many journalists have the balls to do that.
    Yes the Civic and the Megane have the absolute worse infosystems on the market.

    • JeeSingh21
      JeeSingh21 5 months ago

      I have one and can honestly say it is a tad slow occasionally depending on what you're trying to do (loading maps etc) but definitely not bad enough to hinder everyday life! Plus none of the reviews to date mention you can change the facia/skin of the infotainment from the admittedly dated red look to a more tablet/ipad esque look. If incould upload a pic i would.

    • Alberto Polanco
      Alberto Polanco 5 months ago

      That has been one of the biggest things I have seen in almost every review about the Type r. Slow/laggy, terrible touch button with no haptic, replacement physical buttons that were not any better, not very intuitive. Honestly for a Type R civic it is pretty high tech on the inside instead of the old Honda weight saving, NVH levels of a track vehicle, simple interior designs of it's brothers.

  • Emma Deeba
    Emma Deeba 5 months ago +1

    This is a nice car for the money! But not in the league of the Type r ! But then you do have focus RS

  • groovejet
    groovejet 5 months ago

    Type R.

  • gpierre90
    gpierre90 5 months ago +1

    Wonder if Ford is going to make a RS version of this car.

    • Mogsy28uk
      Mogsy28uk 5 months ago +1

      they usually do after about 2-3 years after ST release -- wouldn't expect it until 2021, normally towards the end of the Focus MK4 model run. But since the ST and RS won't be sold in US (Ford are nuts), they may want to capitalise more sales, so release it as quick as they can, now that the ST work is done.

  • S
    S 5 months ago +10

    Why do I see this being compared to the Type-R so frequently? They're not in the same class and don't have the same goal.
    The Type-R is a hyper hatch which is meant to perform on a track. The ST is being a fun normal hot hatch that's very easy to daily drive. The ST is also much cheaper, that list price is not realistic (it's a Ford, heavy discounts is just how they work) and as a result we already have German dealerships taking ST orders starting with 26k EUR when it should have started from something like 34k EUR.

  • Sean Amor
    Sean Amor 5 months ago +19

    I don't think comparing the ST to the Type R is that helpful. The Type R is Hondas most extreme hatch, but the ST is not Ford's, that's clearly the RS. The ST is for people who want a quick sporty hatch but don't want anything too extreme in terms of styling or performance. A better comparison is the Hyundai i30 N.

    • A smith
      A smith 3 months ago

      Bruce Lee is your 150 st line manual or auto?

    • S
      S 4 months ago

      @pops and bangs the current gen Focus, which also has an ST variant and which competes with the i30N, is the 2018 Focus. Nobody here was talking about the 2016 Focus RS.

    • clarkeynjc
      clarkeynjc 4 months ago +1

      The I30n is no faster than the ST, the RS would make it look like a joke

    • pops and bangs
      pops and bangs 4 months ago

      S you said corrent gen wich is 2017 focus

    • S
      S 4 months ago

      @pops and bangs we're talking about the new Focus ST.

  • pokest225
    pokest225 5 months ago +2

    As an understated every day sporty car, yes. It's better. In every other department, type r is superior.

  • Robert Marsh
    Robert Marsh 5 months ago +1

    Looks nice but why does it have an audio enhanced engine sound? Stupid annoying and pointless trend.
    Overall seems a good compromise between handling and real life useability but wouldn't tempt me out of a M140i though. Not even close TBH. Just sad that the RWD 6 cylinder BMW is now gone. I'd take old fashioned power over fancy electronics and fake carbon fibre every time. Hey ho.

    • jim papajim
      jim papajim 5 months ago

      Robert Marsh I totally agree about the engine superiority of BMW M140, but, man, it’s practically impossible to have 4 people in it!

  • jim papajim
    jim papajim 5 months ago +5

    I was the happy owner of a 2007 Focus ST, same color. Great car indeed! You said in the video that an automatic version of the 2.3 petrol will be available in August. Are you sure about that? I have asked the week before two Ford dealers when the auto version will be available and they didn’t have a clue. Do you know if it’s going to be a dual clutch? And to answer to your question, I would choose the ST. Type R is as ugly as it can be and definitely less practical. Unless someone can afford having it just for the fun of driving it in circuits!

    • S
      S 4 months ago

      @Jaroslav Záruba this is definitely a metallic color, you can see the metal bits from up close.

    • Jaroslav Záruba
      Jaroslav Záruba 5 months ago

      electric orange is not the same color as this, this one is not even a true metallic but rather flat, yours was few levels better

    • Mogsy28uk
      Mogsy28uk 5 months ago +1

      @jim papajim -- my dealer said Aug/Sept for auto on petrol only and its not dual clutch, same 8 speed auto in regular Focus, but tweaked for ST as they understand it.

  • Dreamliner Steve
    Dreamliner Steve 5 months ago +3

    Gotta be a Honda. That Ford will spend more time in the dealer unfortunately.

    • invisiblekid99
      invisiblekid99 4 months ago

      Gotta get some really dark shades if you get a Type R. My god that thing is FUGLY.

    • S
      S 4 months ago

      @shamong121 to be fair you were probably unlucky with that GTI. Which model year was it?

    • shamong121
      shamong121 4 months ago

      I had fords for 10 years with no problems at all. before going for a Golf GTi last year and had nothing but problems with it. Going back to ford again

    • S
      S 5 months ago +5

      It's really time to put this myth to rest and stop spreading misinformation: www.reliabilityindex.com/manufacturer
      European Fords are quite reliable, and in the event that they fuck up (like the batch of RSes with the wrong head gasket) they seem to replace everything pro-bono.
      The comparison with a Type-R is out of place anyway, that's a hyper hatch while this is a hot hatch.

  • Ауто камере Србија / Dash cams Serbia

    Finally, a non-gay car reviewer.

  • William A-D
    William A-D 5 months ago

    What is the difference between the air con and I don’t know what it’s called but I am calling it the fan system in the car all I know is the fan system in the car allows the same type of air even on a hot day that is coming in the car even when you select the cold position

    • Jimmy King
      Jimmy King 5 months ago

      Air con takes outside air in and cools it down further with the help of refrigeration gases, condensers and compressors. The cold setting on the fan will only blow into the car what the outside temperature is. So on a hot day the cold setting will still be warm at least.

  • Moon Phaser3
    Moon Phaser3 5 months ago +2

    Nice presentation

  • David Hayes
    David Hayes 5 months ago +4

    The 80s and early 90s were the best years for hot hatches, in that you could use ALL of their performance much of the time. All cars are much more powerful now but the roads are worse in every possible way. I am old and I can remember vividly even XR2s as being a bit special. 96 bhp in 870 kg could bounce around all day. My partner, with a Golf GTI performance (only 245 PS), is stuck in traffic every day. At least my 110 bhp 2.7 tonne camper can use all of its power..... even in towns.

  • Glenn Corey
    Glenn Corey 5 months ago +4

    Focus St just seems a bit more refined compared to a Type - R

  • Tony
    Tony 5 months ago +4

    The New Focus ST looks great.

  • Neb Enyap
    Neb Enyap 5 months ago +3

    Focus every time!

  • Azam Chaudhri
    Azam Chaudhri 5 months ago +6

    Type R. It has an engine that pulls so hard to the red line, like a race car that it almost seems the red line is an inconvenient spoilsport.

    • Humain Terrien
      Humain Terrien 5 months ago

      @Intercepting Fist lol Intercepting Fist... you drive it or you are just stupid ?

    • Intercepting Fist
      Intercepting Fist 5 months ago

      Lol "racecar"

  • Malcolm Scott
    Malcolm Scott 5 months ago +1

    Megane RS but I am biased as my RS 265 is so much fun

    • McBaron
      McBaron 3 months ago

      @Malcolm Scott
      Even after 60 it's still lackluster. The new Focus ST matches it in 0-62 times but is even quicker than the mk3 Focus RS in-gear.
      I think the Megane RS suffers from not having the torque like the new ST (and the Type R for example) has.
      I believe there was a drag race already on Carwow with the Megane RS where it performed poorly.

    • Malcolm Scott
      Malcolm Scott 5 months ago

      Thomas Hudson it’s all relative - much more to car than 0-60 time

    • Thomas Hudson
      Thomas Hudson 5 months ago

      It's slow