A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 16, 2019
  • Join the Club for only $5 at www.dollarshaveclub.com/linus
    Thanks to our sponsor Dollar Shave Club, new members get their 1st month of the Daily Essentials Starter Set including trial-sized versions of their Body Cleanser, One Wipe Charlies’ Butt Wipes, and Shave Butter along with their Executive Razor for ONLY $5 with FREE shipping
    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
    There’s more than one company that makes its own operating system and hardware, and today, we’re taking a look at System76’s Thelio, an open source design you can build yourself.
    Buy Thelio from System76: lmg.gg/8KVR5
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1073407-a-really-weird-pc%E2%80%A6-system76-thelio-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 352

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  3 months ago +324

    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4

    • C P
      C P Month ago

      HEY LINUS PLIS MAKE VIDEO THAT COMBINE BOOMBOXSPEAKER AND PC IN 1 BOX,,

    • Kian Moore
      Kian Moore 2 months ago

      Do a review on SuperTuxKart. Just so you can be confused

    • midnightwolf
      midnightwolf 2 months ago

      Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.

    • alysdexia
      alysdexia 2 months ago

      @lazypizzaguy gibberish

  • ClobberXD
    ClobberXD Day ago

    Glad to see more Linux coverage in this channel. A pre-built Linux desktop from the ground-up (sorta..?) is a very neat concept. I'm just concerned about the noise, temps, and the massive pricetag...

  • TheMooskyFox
    TheMooskyFox 2 days ago

    just the fact that System76 consists of people truly passionate for the project rather than a bunch of workers doing *something* on an OS completely justifies the price tag for me. (And the fact that it's a fully linux-compatible makes it a perfect computer for me.)

  • Joakim Durehed
    Joakim Durehed 3 days ago

    I''ve been running Pop OS now for six months or so, not on System 76 hardware, but it runs perfect! Think it one of the best distros out there for us who don't have the time to tinker that much.

  • Deadsayer
    Deadsayer 4 days ago

    A lot of LInux distros are a lot more user friendly than they used to be these days. I personally use Mint, which I've also converted my uncle to. He is absolutely a "normie" and almost never uses Windows anymore. The live boot image on the internal storage is very handy but this thing is pretty niche, I think.

  • alone forever
    alone forever 5 days ago

    linux is a peace os shit so is the linux community anyone looking at it will sink into the black hole of finding a perfect linux os they wont and will install windows 10 after admitting defeat linux is quite simply a peace of shit

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 5 days ago +1

      say what you think dude, say what you think

  • Julian Alexander
    Julian Alexander 6 days ago

    Jeez! Who compiles Linux kernel these days!? We are in 2019 Linus!

  • Donny R
    Donny R 7 days ago

    Linux Rocks! I have been using GNU/Linux as my daily driver for over 15 years.

  • boy with lyric
    boy with lyric 8 days ago

    It's like kalk linux

    • boy with lyric
      boy with lyric Day ago

      @Ishan Agarwal thank u bra

    • Ishan  Agarwal
      Ishan Agarwal Day ago +1

      Kali is based in debian and ubuntu is based debian hence they are similar and by default use gnome as DE

  • Magnus Sörensen
    Magnus Sörensen 10 days ago +1

    Btw. I use Arch!

  • MobileDecay
    MobileDecay 11 days ago

    I don't think everyday users care.

  • gordon
    gordon 11 days ago +1

    typical linux fanboys product
    no one except diehard linux enthusiast will buy this piece of fucking poo

  • webb
    webb 12 days ago +1

    I'm glad you assumed we use Gentoo.

  • drpacman579
    drpacman579 13 days ago

    cost is an issue but the idea is pretty good. its implementation is good too

  • Boybacintown
    Boybacintown 14 days ago +1

    What they got wrong? They installed Linux on it instead of windows.

  • Jaime Rios
    Jaime Rios 16 days ago +1

    Well, I’m a macOS user, but this Linux desktop has peaked my interest. Certainly much more reasonable in price than what Apple has recently offered.

  • Joel Robert Justiawan
    Joel Robert Justiawan 16 days ago

    1:15 Linus Tech Tips writes data to your screen! Lol!

  • Loading Official
    Loading Official 18 days ago +1

    Delete System76!

    *It would your compuer faster...*

  • Linux Quest
    Linux Quest 19 days ago

    Pop! OS has become very popular in the Linux community. Their fan-base on the hardware side is growing as well and rightly so, they have great support and make a quality product from every review I have watched. To your points about compiling the kernel etc. those days are long gone, most distros are a breeze to install and set up. Very good and fair review.

  • BlankFX
    BlankFX 20 days ago

    "build from the ground up" != "Using Linux kernel". Linus telling us nonsense yet again.

  • Mark Vickroy
    Mark Vickroy 22 days ago

    Douche

  • Adil Taibasarov
    Adil Taibasarov 23 days ago

    I bet beathesda only use this pc

  • Hanro50
    Hanro50 24 days ago +1

    Personally I am a Linux mint user. I find it a lot more stable than ubuntu, being able to take a considerable amount of abuse without ever really failing.
    Also, installing stuff via the gui without ubuntu's buggy software center is amazing

  • Chilean Guy #6
    Chilean Guy #6 25 days ago

    A ban too, hahaha

  • wUnp
    wUnp 25 days ago

    The most important question is - Can System76 run Fallout76??? xD

  • Prism Glider
    Prism Glider 26 days ago

    What's so bad about windows? Honestly? I've heard so many people say windows is slow or clunky or just bad but nobody's explained their problem with it. I've never noticed that. I like Linux, but I've only used it sparingly. I don't see a reason to move off windows for it though. Windows is where most development for programs is focused, that might be an unfortunate fact but it's true. It's got lots and lots of options.

  • Roberto Campos
    Roberto Campos 26 days ago +1

    The wrong: Price.

    The right: Everything else;

  • Peter Papineau
    Peter Papineau Month ago

    Looks to me like the Brits are better at building computers. Maybe they need to re-invade Canada. ru-clip.com/video/N-z9PidYH4E/video.html

  • Marco R. Cáceres López

    I wonder what would happen to dollar shave club when we are no longer in need of our bodies and our conscious is uploaded to the internet?

  • Reece Scott
    Reece Scott Month ago

    8:45 "github page" hahaha what a novice

  • Paul Debaecker
    Paul Debaecker Month ago +1

    One of the big advantages too is the sheer fact that it comes fully assembled and ready to boot, which for a linux PC is a big thing as far as expanding user shares is concerned

  • Rob Tingle
    Rob Tingle Month ago

    I LOVE Pop Os!

  • Cat V
    Cat V Month ago

    I've been a "normal person Linux user" for years and years. It's a lot more accessible than people seem to think. Even after all this time, I don't know how to do very much in the terminal. I've never really needed to with Mint and Ubuntu, which are my primary distros. I think it's great that it's finally making it out to a wider audience and coming installed on prebuilds and laptops. There's tons of good reasons to use Linux even if you're not a techie, and honestly, I wouldn't go back.

  • Neurotransmission
    Neurotransmission Month ago

    Linus, what do you mean industry standards aren't on the platform? Are you telling me Lightworks isn't an industry standard? What about Maya?
    Is everyone an Adobe junkie these days?

    • Neurotransmission
      Neurotransmission Month ago

      ...I literally have DaVinci Resolve installed natively on Ubuntu right now; and in fact Maya 2019 works in Ubuntu but won't work in Windows 7. Fancy that?

  • techZoNe
    techZoNe Month ago +2

    I love love Linux and Linus💓 ....I use Linux from 3 years and it is improving every update ..

  • m MMM
    m MMM Month ago

    Can you review more linux computers? I'm looking to buy one, but I'm picky.

  • Respawn_Point
    Respawn_Point Month ago +2

    Why don't more computers have wood accents?

  • Py LordVaderX
    Py LordVaderX Month ago

    Linux is the most stupid OS I have ever seen . I was Linux user but now I would use Windows for ever and I would never ever back to Linux

  • Алексей Гриднев

    I don't think that's gonna fly... pretty much anyone who is willing to use Linux in the first place already knows how to install Linux on the machines they already own (it became super easy in modern distros). Also, it's always much safer to install a mainstream distro like Ubuntu/Mint in order to leverage a bigger community in case things go wrong.

  • george coleclough
    george coleclough Month ago +4

    Installing Linux is easier than windows if you pick something like pop os. I don't think even 99% of Linux users have ever compiled a kernel either.

  • Serj Star
    Serj Star Month ago

    Its one of the best distro I ran that on laptop

  • Koytar
    Koytar Month ago

    Windows to linux : "I am a joke to you ?"

  • Saswat
    Saswat Month ago

    Ah Doge writing Doge OS

  • Josh Haas
    Josh Haas Month ago

    Please. It's "oo-boon-too" not "oo-buhn-too". ubuntu.com/about

  • Dandorphin
    Dandorphin Month ago

    I hav ebeen using linux now for the better part of a decade now, and I can say that linux is (in my opinion) the best thing out there. There are some distros that I prefer over others, but as a whole, linux is as solid as a rock. Especially Debian.

  • Richard Treu
    Richard Treu Month ago +1

    That is the most amazing computer case since the Cheese Grater MacPro

  • Dillon Burnett
    Dillon Burnett Month ago +1

    I would love this case if the MB was upgradable.

  • Roach DoggJR
    Roach DoggJR Month ago

    I mean, those are $1,000 better spent than on a shitty stand.

  • Nomad Trails
    Nomad Trails Month ago +1

    tbh, sytem76 nailed it.

  • DAVID GREGORY KERR
    DAVID GREGORY KERR Month ago

    I installed Linux on my ACER COMPAQ TC-220 and the HP computer for my father, I am using Linux Mint 18.3 CINNAMON (Silvia) 64bit edition in Legacy mode disabling UEFI and I have installed Linux Mint 19.1 CINNAMON (Tina) 64bit non UEFI legacy mode as the HP doesn't have a UEFI motherboard, if you want to render video then go for HAIKU a complete rewrite of BeOS and UltraDV which is a rewrite of UltraDV it to run on HAIKU.

  • Torfinn Johnsrud
    Torfinn Johnsrud Month ago +2

    Linux: YES!!!!
    B-roll: Nooooooooo

  • PRIZM CMYK
    PRIZM CMYK Month ago

    It's 2019, and Linux still suxs.

  • BoogerLeader
    BoogerLeader Month ago +1

    Wow, very expensive. Almost 2k for a Ryzen 5 3rd gen and a 2060? That's insane.

  • Lucas Maliszewski
    Lucas Maliszewski Month ago

    System76 is all I use for work. Both a laptop and desktop, the performance is amazing and great for development work (not designer work, stay with Apple's OS or windows).

  • tecnical bomb
    tecnical bomb Month ago +1

    You are hevy duty person

  • C P
    C P Month ago

    HEY LINUS PLIS MAKE VIDEO THAT COMBINE BOOMBOXSPEAKER AND PC IN 1 BOX,,

  • Craig Margelowsky
    Craig Margelowsky Month ago

    Was sad that the discount at Mos is 15% not 20%. Great packs though.

  • GodzillasaurusJr
    GodzillasaurusJr 2 months ago +1

    I really like PopOS (and the case design!), and I'd like to support its development, but I can't, because I live in the wrong part of the world. :(

  • BkS Media
    BkS Media 2 months ago +3

    System76 has been around for a long time. It's nice to see them featured on the channel.

  • Slow_riding
    Slow_riding 2 months ago

    I am more fedora but still nice!