Porsche Made a LAPTOP?? - Book One Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 14, 2017
  • Check out the new wireless headband from AIAIAI for their modular TMA-2 headphones at geni.us/AdasB
    The Porsche Design Book One Laptop could be the closest thing to Macbook Pro build quality on a Windows machine. Or it's a waste, LOL
    ZOTAC's ZBOX Mini PCs are great for gaming, streaming, or general use. Check them out here: geni.us/Z3cs
    Buy Book One on Amazon: geni.us/aVslDId
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/873305-porsche-made-a-laptop-%E2%80%93-book-one-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.com/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 500

  • Lolly Stacey
    Lolly Stacey 11 days ago

    microsoft did it better 🤷‍♂️

  • David H'ee
    David H'ee 14 days ago

    Dual core for 2500. No discrete gfx. Extortion.

  • Arty Guy
    Arty Guy 19 days ago

    To be honest, as long as it’s functional I don’t care what it looks like

  • See Nomore
    See Nomore 27 days ago

    ...I BUY THESE BY THE BOXES AS GIFTS. ...THE CHILDREN LOVE THEM!!

  • CRAZY KITTY CAM
    CRAZY KITTY CAM Month ago

    Will Porsche make candy next ?

  • Ecktor
    Ecktor Month ago

    That $200 nail clipper though... 🤔

  • Govind Goyal
    Govind Goyal Month ago

    it isn't even a good experience, a shitty keyboard which flexes and a noisy touchpad. the screen also has a enormous bezel. the speakers weren't mentioned.

  • Benis
    Benis Month ago +1

    The "specs don`t matter" arguments works better for smartphones, not PCs

  • Threelly AI
    Threelly AI Month ago

    www.threelly.com/ Get instant access to exotic insights in any video like Faces, Labels, Keywords, Sentiments, People, Emotions, Brands, Timeline Translation to 30+ Languages
    - in 3 Mins or Less!

  • Matthew Schwartz
    Matthew Schwartz Month ago

    Linus....Por-shuh!

  • Parth Pro
    Parth Pro Month ago

    Disliked, just because you said Porsch, not Porsche

  • Dragunov Bushcraft
    Dragunov Bushcraft Month ago

    NOPE! Raw horsepower RULES!. I don't own any laptop without a dedicated graphics chipset, and at LEAST the ability to upgrade to a quad core CPU.

  • Nic Altwasser
    Nic Altwasser Month ago

    You're prouncings Porsche's name wrong. Two syllables, not one. Let me guide you through it. Repeat after me, Por-shuh.

  • ATIF ADIB
    ATIF ADIB Month ago

    Pretty fingers at 3:41 :P

  • Jayblue873
    Jayblue873 2 months ago

    GAHHH! NO DEDICATED GPU ON A 2500$ LAPTOP?!!??! NOOOO. 1 STAR

  • ryan olson
    ryan olson 2 months ago

    Grown ass man saying he has dainty fingers that get tired typing? Try turning wrenches in a car dealership ya pussy.

  • ryan olson
    ryan olson 2 months ago

    Camfers? You mean chamfers? As in rounded edges?

  • Speed Pasadena
    Speed Pasadena 2 months ago

    Surprisingly affordable

  • Chester Stallone
    Chester Stallone 2 months ago

    No graphics card....Porche cars aint gonna run in NFS u know...

  • Camiel Thierry
    Camiel Thierry 2 months ago

    Hey, it's 1300 now, should i get it?

  • Carsyn Green-Sillers
    Carsyn Green-Sillers 2 months ago

    honestly horse power before design all the way i would set my whole pc internals on top of a cardboard box if my budget did'nt fit a case into it, i would'nt lower any of my specs for something thats not going to improve my computer performance unless it's the psu or something.

  • pv_plays games
    pv_plays games 2 months ago

    If the MacBook and surface book has a baby

  • Apras48 YT
    Apras48 YT 2 months ago

    4:52 raymond and nick’s podcast

  • FarhanBD
    FarhanBD 2 months ago +1

    *When a car company makes a laptop*

  • Pasta Sarmonella E-Specialé

    Once I saw that design cue at the mouse pad, please no not the aping by the chinese of the Macbook´s design language again.

  • Pencil Master
    Pencil Master 2 months ago

    A year later but it's porsh uh

  • YaYeetEatFeet
    YaYeetEatFeet 2 months ago

    Porsche laptop? No, less janky surface book 2. They literally compared it to the surface book 2 most of the time

  • EnchantedOcelot
    EnchantedOcelot 2 months ago

    I'm getting the 15" i7 that's the same price as this one. Has the 1060.

  • Jopaxx
    Jopaxx 2 months ago

    Porsch.. PORSCH EEEE

  • Cool Pup Gaming
    Cool Pup Gaming 2 months ago

    The puns are perfect.

  • Mr Mr Jims
    Mr Mr Jims 2 months ago

    Porshe Design is a different brand from Porshe, they are not related

  • Wallee Naym
    Wallee Naym 2 months ago +1

    HorseShit!

  • Sennyah
    Sennyah 3 months ago

    I bought it yesterday for 1250 and I'm more than happy *****

  • McKay Cheatham
    McKay Cheatham 3 months ago

    I'm all for the desktop in a backpack ideology.

  • OuanouaChannel11TH Gamer
    OuanouaChannel11TH Gamer 3 months ago +1

    dafuq

  • something not fishy
    something not fishy 3 months ago

    lol ferrari also made its own laptop.. but long time ago, dont know now thry still produce it or not

  • msi
    msi 3 months ago

    Well there is also car brands parfume soo

  • Raditya Athalla Rafi
    Raditya Athalla Rafi 3 months ago

    You can now play a german tank like it's meant to be played

  • Nathan Gunawan
    Nathan Gunawan 4 months ago

    From porsche making cars to making crappy ww2 tanks to now making laptops

  • Angry Irishman
    Angry Irishman 4 months ago

    My uncle had a few Porche cars at one point... all of them spent more time getting fixed than being driven.

  • Bernice Panders
    Bernice Panders 4 months ago

    I'm sticking with my much more common sense Surface Pro 5, at 1/4 the cost...

  • Brian H Poor Boy Garage
    Brian H Poor Boy Garage 4 months ago +1

    which one would i lean to ? Neather i don't have that kind of money. my laptop is jacked. none of the ports work anymore and if i unplug it it just turns off. But it still gets the job done.

  • H. A.
    H. A. 4 months ago

    3:40 I didn't know Linus had woman hands...

  • A TZ.
    A TZ. 4 months ago +1

    #ATZ7111418
    #SEBASTIANZ305 ....?

  • Ben deManincor
    Ben deManincor 4 months ago

    I’m sorry, but the music didn’t fit the video at ALL
    It sounded like it was from a video game

  • TheStenius
    TheStenius 4 months ago

    This huge edge under the screen isn’t just a small drawback, it’s a pain in the ass!

  • Aronas king
    Aronas king 4 months ago

    plz try

  • Aronas king
    Aronas king 4 months ago

    best is asus zenbook flip s

  • Astonishment of Africa
    Astonishment of Africa 4 months ago

    Do you like? My CAR?!

  • Timon
    Timon 4 months ago

    Judging by the comments, most here don't even realize what Porsche's targeted audience is. This laptop is made for businessmen, managers, chairmen and so on, not for Gamers. It's made for the people who actually buy their cars. Of course you can get a lot of better laptops for the same money (not like the people who buy this laptop would really worry much about money), but the laptop isn't designed to be the best laptop on the market. It's pretty much for lifestyle. Opening a Porsche laptop is a completely different feeling and makes a different impression, than opening your everyday Apple and Windows laptops.

  • Zachary Woodman
    Zachary Woodman 4 months ago +1

    Let's face it, the only reason this exists is so ultra-rich sports car enthusiasts can get it as a collector's piece.

  • Benjamin Mackie
    Benjamin Mackie 4 months ago +1

    There is a highly profitable market segment call R&S: rich and stupid. It's full of LV bags and the like... and this product.

  • Kevin Lel
    Kevin Lel 4 months ago

    Am I the only one who likes the Surface Book's hinge better

  • NewKingofControversy P Kelley.

    Richard Hammond just ordered one.

  • CluelessDragoon
    CluelessDragoon 4 months ago

    When you say you own a porsche

  • Asher Mickey
    Asher Mickey 5 months ago +1

    Even being a Windows guy, id say buy a macbook pro for the same price if ur going for looks. Or ya know, be practical and dont pay a premium for aluminum and go with good ole ugly gloss black with good specs for around half the price

  • Ali Youssef
    Ali Youssef 5 months ago

    After buying this device, I've realised that Prosche did not made it by itself, it just made the design idea. The actual company which made this device is called "TrekStor". To be honest, I tried using the device with some programs that requires higher graphic cards, and it worked well. For sure I do not recommend it for gamers, but it's not that bad as explained in this video. It's kinda fast and durable device and it currently costs nearly 1300 EUR.

  • Akash Guha
    Akash Guha 5 months ago

    Yes thunderbolt

  • WaHtY
    WaHtY 5 months ago

    Maby if you connect it to a porsche car it gives the computer gets the power of a gtx 26482763662737466627 ti

  • oldnotweak
    oldnotweak 5 months ago

    i would rather have a desktop/laptop that looks like a burnt milk carton covered in shit, but it runs 10% better than have a nice looking one that runs 10% worse

  • PapaTrench
    PapaTrench 5 months ago

    Can you do a review on the msi gv62

  • Parallaxis
    Parallaxis 5 months ago

    Linus nitpicks

  • Francis Tremblay
    Francis Tremblay 5 months ago

    I would go either with Apple or Surface from Microsoft

  • arsenicc
    arsenicc 5 months ago

    Linus, can you do a review of Asus' zeph s 531? I'm debating between the g35 and that and there's few reviews worth a salt on it.

  • Gavino
    Gavino 5 months ago

    ru-clip.com/video/Im2eYuGdmfY/video.html You need this.

  • Justus Whittington
    Justus Whittington 5 months ago

    I have a gaming PC to play games and I have a laptop to do school work, I don’t want a surface pro 2 because I don’t see the need to combine them. if I wanted to combine them then you would most likely see me carrying around a razor laptop, but that is just me I suppose.

  • George Tawadros
    George Tawadros 5 months ago

    This just needs a GTX 1080 TI, 16 or 32 bg of intel Optane, and an intel core i9 9980XE

  • Dark lord
    Dark lord 5 months ago

    Naaah ! I will just stick to my Honda civic laptop

  • GhostWeirdo
    GhostWeirdo 5 months ago

    Watching this video on the Porsche Laptop. Great device

  • Adlyn Mas1293
    Adlyn Mas1293 5 months ago +1

    so the book 1 has no graphics card
    that means it maybe has intel hd r graphics

  • Hans Nyström Pastor
    Hans Nyström Pastor 5 months ago

    looks actually like a laptop and not like some thing to hold paper

  • Mad Science00
    Mad Science00 5 months ago

    I’ve got a Porsche external hard drive

  • maclennanld
    maclennanld 5 months ago

    When ever they have the hands shown for the typing experience segment I wonder if it's actually Linus's hands with painted nails

  • Kyler Vallee
    Kyler Vallee 5 months ago

    This video is sponsored by me
    After vid
    Linus: where’s my money
    Me: here (gives 14 mil LTT coins)

  • Stan Torren
    Stan Torren 6 months ago

    Linus the way you pronounce is por-shuh not porsh

  • Alex V
    Alex V 6 months ago

    I saw thunderbolt 3, so if u have the cash for a 2500 dollar laptop, u could probably buy an enclosure for a gpu

  • Fury Gaming
    Fury Gaming 6 months ago +2

    Dell made a car...!!!!

  • TheWhiteWolf
    TheWhiteWolf 6 months ago

    Did you paint your nails specially for this video. Suits you.

  • pingwalk
    pingwalk 6 months ago

    >2,500 U$D
    >no integrated graphics
    ok

  • Pedro Mello
    Pedro Mello 6 months ago

    I'll choose the porshe

  • Tranime Girl
    Tranime Girl 6 months ago

    My laptop is chunky, big, heavy, and I love it. It's got horsepower to spare, discreet graphics (although I wish I could switch to integrated when on battery, but that didn't come till the next versions)
    I hate this pretty but weak trash companies are putting out

  • Oliver Trower
    Oliver Trower 6 months ago

    [insert cheesy car joke here]

  • DarkStigmata
    DarkStigmata 6 months ago

    Zotac is garbage

  • Stronkest Icefairy
    Stronkest Icefairy 6 months ago +9

    HE PRONOUNCED IT AS PORSH AND NOT PORSHA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111!!!!!!!!!!!11111!!! T

  • M_Meg
    M_Meg 6 months ago

    This costs the same as 2 RTX 2080 TI's

  • Romner_set
    Romner_set 6 months ago +1

    No thanks, I would rather buy a Bugatti laptop.

  • N F
    N F 6 months ago

    How to skip linus advertising tips ads!
    Step 1: when the ad is about to play, skip 10 seconds ahead or double tap the right of the video
    Step 2: yay no ads

  • Friskplaysgames
    Friskplaysgames 6 months ago +1

    If I'm paying 2500 dollars for a laptop, then it BETTER have a discreet graphics card.

  • Shiv17 Kapoor
    Shiv17 Kapoor 6 months ago

    I still love the surface book 2 13"

  • reychop_EXE
    reychop_EXE 6 months ago +1

    It’s por-shuh. Not porsh. No matter how you pronounce it, porsche is two syllables.

    • Stan Torren
      Stan Torren 6 months ago

      Since it was named after a person

  • Triparadox Clifford
    Triparadox Clifford 6 months ago

    Fps = frame per second.. 0 to 60 fps in 2.2 seconds? Hmm... good joke tho

  • Melih Çelik
    Melih Çelik 6 months ago +1

    While no GPU makes sense in this type of laptop, where design and usability is the first two things BUT if you only care about those two and no performance or no price at all, why dont you just go to the nearest Apple store and buy yhe most juiced up MacBook Pro instead of this thing. It a cool look, but honestly keyboard and the general design of the macbook pro looks better in my HONEST opinion.

  • Michael Kilsdonk
    Michael Kilsdonk 6 months ago

    Does the Thunderbolt 3 port support PCIe?

  • max
    max 6 months ago

    IT IS PORSCHE, NOT PORSCH

  • very punny human
    very punny human 6 months ago

    I would rather buy a real car with that

  • Leo Fung
    Leo Fung 6 months ago

    i have people offer me 1380USD now .... it make me feel a bit attractive

  • bigdud
    bigdud 7 months ago

    does it require a key to start it?

  • Alias Fakename
    Alias Fakename 7 months ago

    People who buy this most likely do not own a Porsche

  • Grammar nazi
    Grammar nazi 7 months ago

    From tanks to cars to laptops

  • Mr Guest
    Mr Guest 7 months ago

    You are pronouncing it wrong it's "porsch-a"