Google Pixel 3 review: perfect imperfection

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 8, 2018
  • Pixel 3 review phandroid.com/2018/11/08/pixel-3-review-perfect-inperfection/
    We took a bit of time on our Pixel 3 review since we wanted to make sure we got it right. There's nothing worse than a rushed review - especially when it comes to the Pixel 3 and Pixel 3 XL.
    In our Pixel 3 review, we cover the amazing camera that Google's included, the new software features built into Android Pie, the design of the Pixel 3, its specifications and more.
    If you'd like to read our written review of the pixel 3, check out the link below.

    For more, visit phandroid.com
    Follow us! phandroid
    Circle us! plus.google.com/+phandroid/
    Like us! phandroid
    Follow us! phandroids.tumblr.com/
    Music
    hooksounds.com
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 175

  • Sean M
    Sean M 4 days ago

    Is your nickname "NIT PICKY JONES" ???

  • Christian Jordan Reyes

    Hi Phandroid, sorry for the long comment..
    Went back to your old vids, tried to compare the ultra wide of your pixel 3 vids and the pixel 2 vs pixel 4 front cam..
    Google should've include an ultrawide front cam and an ultrawide back cam. :)
    Thanks Phandroid. If you could do a Pixel 2, 3 and 4 comparison that would be great.
    And a Pixel 2xl vs Pixel 3axl
    And or Pixel 2xl vs 4xl
    Pixel 3xl vs 4xl
    Pixel 2xl vs Oneplus 7T
    Pixel 3xl vs One plus 7T
    Really want to buy a new pixel phone but contemplating if I would go for it or maybe the One Plus 7T, or Asus Zenfone 6(one of the phones I'm wanting to buy, but the motor is something I don't like, but everything else in the phone was like the perfect phone if they had implemented it in the Pixel 2xl device.
    Guess you just can't have am all in one phone.
    But what I think right now Iphone Pro is the best one so far..

  • nathaniel francisco
    nathaniel francisco 2 months ago

    We have the same issue on my pixel 3 like playing on Google play music after you leave the app. The music playing on the background stops automatically.

  • Nefff
    Nefff 6 months ago

    There is no competition against this phone. There is no same sized "small" phones with flagship specs.

  • Weiss
    Weiss 8 months ago +1

    Just ordered the regular Pixel 3 in just black color during flash sales in my country (France) 😀

  • VxBossKroniksxV
    VxBossKroniksxV 9 months ago +1

    Just a tip... Having an ad 2 mins into the vid really disturbs the flow of the video....

  • Jonathan Gonzalez
    Jonathan Gonzalez 9 months ago

    I bought the pixel 3 for the software. There are other devices with better hardware like the one plus or the galaxy. But at the end of the day the hardware without good software support is useless.

  • Kiwanna Brown
    Kiwanna Brown 9 months ago +1

    Pixel 3xl is the best Android phone....less problems than any other phone

  • Aniket Gowardhan
    Aniket Gowardhan 9 months ago +1

    Yes I agree Sir but I love the Google Pixel phones they are expensive but why we purchased a flagship phone bcoz of Camera so I love Pixel3XL and Pixel3

  • status Ambalanjeery
    status Ambalanjeery 11 months ago

    How to get non-white menu background in pixel 3

  • Vadym Marchenko
    Vadym Marchenko 11 months ago

    Have to disagree with review in gestures field. Gestures in Pixel are mess. I absolutely hate them on my Pixel 1. It is good that on older Pixel it can be turned off. That is why I am probably done with Pixel line unfortunately...

  • Always VIRAL
    Always VIRAL 11 months ago

    Can somebody tell me if any android phone is optimised for snapchat?

  • Diego
    Diego 11 months ago

    What about the selfie camera flipping your picture? No one ever brings that up, yet it's so annoying to take a selfie only for the pic to come out flipped and then having to use third party apps to reverse the original. wtf

  • Leo K.
    Leo K. 11 months ago +2

    I'm using the white Pixel 3 now since November 5th. Best phone i've ever had! Wouldn't change for any other phone, even not the XL. It's gorgeous and incredible while using!

  • Nexus Hexus
    Nexus Hexus 11 months ago

    Wow you are one of the only people that says the battery is not that good. Something is telling me you are a outlier. I watch videos on mine for several hours each day and can easily get a day and a half out of my Pixel 3 XL, and saying it would only be slightly better on the XL, without actually using the XL and already making assumptions, not being a good reviewer. Thumbs down from me.

  • kubina28
    kubina28 11 months ago +7

    "Missing it factor"?? What?? (Note: These word fit only for small Pixel 3 (3 XL is a different story, a different phone)
    When you want a small form factor flagship (with width around 70mm (iPhone has 71mm) and height around 145mm. You can choose between three phones:
    S. Galaxy S9, iPhone Xs, Google Pixel 3.
    Pixel 3 is only without compromises: Do you wanna a front-facing stereo speakers, no notch, bokeh effect, Zoom on cameras (Pixel has Super Res Zoom) and the smallest possible camera bump (on the iPhone is seven times bigger), great design (Pixel coating is magnet resistant: Problem solved!) Is also the lightest from this list.
    No wonder, that all flagship are so huge nowadays: Is hard to put all component into limited area. (Is there a reason why S9+ has two lens instead of one, like on the S9)

    I also prepare a small dimensions comparison, for everybody who want to tell, but iPhone has bigger display (not so much).

    Apple iPhone Xs - 143.6 x 70.9 x 7.7 = 78,43cm³ (100%)
    Display area: 80,7cm² (100%)
    Camera bump: 25 x 11 x 1,2mm = 187,88mm³ (100%)
    Hmotnosť: 177g (100%)

    Google Pixel 3 - 145.6 x 68.2 x 7.9 = 78,45cm³ (100,03%)
    Display area: 78,2cm² (~97%)
    Camera bump: 9 x 0,4mm = 25.44mm³ (13,5%)
    Weight: 148g (~81%)

    Samsung Galaxy S9 - 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 = 86,24cm³ (~110%)
    Display area: 85,3cm² (~105%)
    Weight: 163g (~92%)

  • Charlie Brown
    Charlie Brown Year ago

    First thing you videos are amazing ,now I have a Random question ,what font does the pixel 3s use?

  • Patrick Barnes
    Patrick Barnes Year ago

    So I have a Galaxy 6 (yes you read that right) 6 Edge. Will the Pixel 3 make me appreciate new phones? My wife is nagging me to get a new phone and I am thinking about the Pixel 3.

  • MrStarTraveler
    MrStarTraveler Year ago +8

    Those scratches can be easily washed away with water. They aren't really scratches. Basically the etched glass surface acts like a really fine file. When you "scratch" it, it actually shaves off tiny particles off of the material you've rubbed it on. Those particles fill the tiny indentations left by the etching process and give the impression of a scratch. But it's not a scratch and can be cleaned.

  • RightWingKing
    RightWingKing Year ago

    I just want the Galaxy s10 to have stock Android pie.

  • Malcolm H
    Malcolm H Year ago

    This seems pretty negative.. the camera "isn't all that special" !? Um.. I believe it's rated nest cam in a smart phone.. odd thing to say a actually. Agree the video audio is not great.

  • DJ SPY
    DJ SPY Year ago

    I typically go for the XL model because of the significantly better battery life. I'm away from a charger all through my 14hr work day so the battery is the most important thing to me. If you say the 3XL's battery life is only marginally better, that's very disappointing. Tell me, which one has the better battery life, iPhone X or Pixel 3? I'm currently using an iPhone X. Battery life is ok but wished it would be better.

  • JReid2K
    JReid2K Year ago

    With the big top bezels I thought it was one of the new slider phones.

  • gouldin. _
    gouldin. _ Year ago +6

    if your wanting this phone, buy it. tech reviewers look for flaws average consumers don’t have to worry unless something is actually ruining your experience, and the ram management and “Constant crashing” easily fixed with a software update, which one for that is coming in December. you can get it now and wait a couple of weeks for the performance to be showing much more good, or wait til the december update to invest in this product. i really much want this phone, i have an iphone 8, and i really do not recommend this phone (plus is really good though)
    My battery is 1800mah smaller than almost every battery on the market
    the screen is 750x1334 which isn’t even that good. it’s also only 4.7 inches
    software is just fine but when your battery barely lasts 2hours of screen on time, that’s a big deal.
    i usually get about 3hours of screen on time,
    and easily have 8hours of screen off time
    for the pixel 3
    it’s a battery around 2900-2920mah mark
    which is a huge improvement
    the software is much more customizable
    there are features i know once i get them i won’t be able to live without them.
    and i know a youtuber that just hit 1000 subs that loves the phone watch his review Terren Rule
    but i’m definitely purchasing this phone sometime this year or early next year.

  • Jay D' Great
    Jay D' Great Year ago

    it’s just sad that the phone didn’t make the same hype and noise that the pixel 2 did... maybe they need to step it up on the next one

  • Armaan Bhargava
    Armaan Bhargava Year ago +1

    Only major plus points of this phone are stock android and the camera. You can get a similar software experience with the oneplus 6t. Rest everything with this phone is super disappointing. Also you mentioned that you liked the gestures. They are terrible in my opinion especially after using the one on the iPhones. I’m a stock android fan but guess I’m going to wait some more time before grabbing a pixel.

    • Armaan Bhargava
      Armaan Bhargava 10 months ago

      John Cotton No but in this case the gestures are perfect on iOS and no amount of customisation is able to give the same feel on Android.

    • John Cotton
      John Cotton 10 months ago

      Armaan Bhargava yes but can you customise it how you want? Or like apple says you can?

    • Armaan Bhargava
      Armaan Bhargava Year ago

      Having to swipe up twice to get to the app drawer is not ideal. If you haven’t already, try the gestures on the iPhone. They are amazing. Also by swiping left or right at the bottom of the screen only let’s you switch between the last 2 apps on the pixel whereas on the iPhone you can switch between all the apps.

    • Phandroid
      Phandroid  Year ago

      I guess the gestures come down to personal preference. Been using them since the Android Pie beta rolled out for the Pixel 2, so we've gotten quite used to them over the last months.

  • Ponskippa
    Ponskippa Year ago

    Get a 1 inch sensor camera for half the price if you guys want a better camera

    • Phandroid
      Phandroid  Year ago

      Sony's 1-inch sensor camera costs more than the Pixel 3.

  • Christian Gravemaker

    Wanted it badly.. but at the price. Never.

    • Flame
      Flame 11 months ago

      price should be $650 at most

    • Wrigleyville 3423
      Wrigleyville 3423 11 months ago +1

      black friday it was 400 off

    • TheDarkDesync
      TheDarkDesync Year ago +2

      Wait for Black Friday Sale... In my country 200€ discount on Pixel 3/3Xl

    • Ganja Mozart
      Ganja Mozart Year ago

      I agree, if it was priced lower, the price would justify the shortcomings like the mediocre battery, RAM etc. but at the current flagship price it's just not good value.

  • Yourboy Orlandob
    Yourboy Orlandob Year ago +3

    Can it play fortnite 😂

    • xXuidmod
      xXuidmod 5 months ago

      Yourboy Orlandob yes

  • Rayne
    Rayne Year ago +2

    I have yet to see a Pixel device in public. I think it's mostly just RU-cliprs that love it so much. Everyone i see uses iPhones, Huawei or Galaxy phones

    • Dalvecchio Owens
      Dalvecchio Owens 5 months ago

      I totally agree, I'm the only person I know who has one🤳

    • Rayne
      Rayne Year ago

      @Phandroid Ohh i see, that makes alot of sense as to why i haven't seen one then. Do u know if theres any reason in particular as to why Google doesn't sell the Pixel in Europe? I live in the Netherlands.

    • Phandroid
      Phandroid  Year ago

      What country are you from. Since you mentioned Huawei, you are likely in Europe. Google does not sell the Pixel phones in all EU countries, so that could be the reason you have not seen one yet. In the US, the Pixel is getting more popular, but it is still being outsold by Samsung and other brands by quite a big margin

  • Jayel Johnson
    Jayel Johnson Year ago +1

    Another great review!! And thank you I was just about to upgrade from my Pixel 2XL to the 3XL

    • Jayel Johnson
      Jayel Johnson Year ago

      Phandroid I’m hoping one day I can meet you just to get some insight because I want to become a reviewer some day, I know it’s a one and a million chance because I’m in Glendale 🤞🏾

    • Phandroid
      Phandroid  Year ago +1

      Glad we could help.

  • Tom Jones
    Tom Jones Year ago +2

    oh no it closed your twitter lmfao, thats when i stopped listening to this review lol

  • The Fow
    The Fow Year ago

    I like Pixel because a great camera and fast Interface. But i do not like it because of ugly notch, no face unlock or display fingerprint, no headphone jack, not a better battery, no dual sim. The price is to high for all this. Especially the notch and headphone jack piss me off. Some chinese do better copies of Apple than Google.

  • HG504
    HG504 Year ago

    Not worth the price, especially with lack luster features and very minimal upgrades. There are cheaper phones and other phones which do the job far better.

  • ItsMoi Moí
    ItsMoi Moí Year ago +1

    I love this phone. Don't regret leaving my Galaxy s9 on my desk

  • Pao Xiong
    Pao Xiong Year ago +2

    you sound alot younger lolz

  • Harshal Thakkar
    Harshal Thakkar Year ago

    Excellent Quality video. Appreciate it.. I wanted to know if the sound quality through the front firing speakers get loud enough while watching netflix or listening to songs, does it distort or get tinny... I wish i could go for the xl version but its a bit out of reach. so wanted to know if going for a pixel 2 xl would make sense which has a larger screen or save some and go for the pixel 3 non xl version if the price difference does really has that big of a difference in camera and audio quality.

  • wollymolly
    wollymolly Year ago

    I got this phone and it is pretty nice. Camera is awesome, but I'm hoping Google will iron out some of its issues. Most of what people are reporting is true. Eg it overheats on some apps, like when using camera playground. Also the "pill" takes up a big slice of the screen in a lot of apps, effectively making the chin twice as high. On the small pixel 3 that's quite significant. Switching between apps and the swipe up gesture is awkward. You start to get used to it after a while, but it definitely could be implemented better. It was much easier in Oreo. Overall I'm not disappointed, but I really hope Google is listening to all the customer feedback. I think people are complaining because they want this phone to be great.

  • Adrienne Wells
    Adrienne Wells Year ago +1

    I'm torn between this and the note 9. I currently have the original Google pixel. I'm even somewhat curious about the iPhone XS Max. I haven't used iPhone since the 4.

    • Adrienne Wells
      Adrienne Wells 11 months ago

      Update: I went with the note 9. At 1st I kind of regret it because I miss the pixel user face and android Pie. But I fell in love with this phone after a few days. No regrets! And I hear that pie will be coming to Samsung in January 😁.

    • Neeraj Kumar
      Neeraj Kumar Year ago +1

      @Adrienne Wells and also.... just to remind you.... There are android one phones like Nokia. Just rethink if you really want water IP 68 and stuff. And obviously..... if you're constantly snapping pictures.... then these two phones are good choices. But if you just want a memory.... you don't need the best cameras in the world. Choose wisely. Have an awesome life!

    • Neeraj Kumar
      Neeraj Kumar Year ago +1

      @Adrienne Wells choose a phone that speaks to you. Don't move with a herd blindly. Have an awesome life!

    • Adrienne Wells
      Adrienne Wells Year ago +1

      @Neeraj Kumar Unfortunately the one plus 6t isn't supported by my phone carrier :(

    • Neeraj Kumar
      Neeraj Kumar Year ago

      If were you...... I would just pick the pixel 3 if price wasn't an issue. If price is an issue.... then just choose the note 9. Why I say that is is coz you get updates for 3 years minimum. That makes a whole lot difference for me. Why not one plus 6t ? It is better with updates than Samsung

  • Joe 2
    Joe 2 Year ago +9

    I haven't had ANY problems with mine after 2 weeks

  • De U
    De U Year ago +6

    I'm not sure what to think of the pixel 3 right now but it's kinda underwhelming even if it has stock android. Heck I won't spend all time taking pictures to justify selecting this device over similarly priced phones from Android or iOS.
    I guess the key selling point for it will be ergonomics when it comes to using the phone with one hand. But the Samsung Galaxy 9 (which is similarly sized to it) seems to be a better smartphone and better bang for buck without compromises and can be had for less cash on similar configurations right now.
    For the time of the year the pixel 3 smartphones came out, the hardware underneath is not spectacular.
    I guess Google should work on releasing their smartphones along with newer OS versions in the first quarter of the year to increase the appeal and sales volumes of their smartphones

  • selwyn gonzales
    selwyn gonzales Year ago

    Where have you guys been? 8 months between videos wow lol 😒

  • Ivan West
    Ivan West Year ago

    Aww my dude...it's awesome...no slow down...runs Pie, still smooth, great camera..If you Google Pixel 2 XL vs Pixel 3XL you will get good reasons to not by the 3 since you can find the 2 at One+ prices now!! I paid 850$ for mine just last year. Ain't no reason to kick out another 950$ or whatever for the 3 a year later just for what???? Wireless charging?? Come on..and most wireless chargers don't do fast charging unless you kick out another 50-60 bucks for the Google kick stand!!...Get the 2XL!!

  • Hooman Powered
    Hooman Powered Year ago

    So is it worth it to update from Pixel 2 to Pixel 3 or not worth the price to do that? Also some say the scratches at the back disappears when you rub them, is that true?

    • Gustavo Villar
      Gustavo Villar Year ago

      Hooman Powered i havent had any problems. honestly i use a case regardless because it is a glass phone. i think the upgrade is worth it

  • Jeong-hun Sin
    Jeong-hun Sin Year ago

    Oh my god, Robin Williams.

  • Jeong-hun Sin
    Jeong-hun Sin Year ago +3

    This review: honest dishonesty.

  • Cristian Martínez
    Cristian Martínez Year ago +1

    I want a Pixel :')

  • Gene Goldhammer
    Gene Goldhammer Year ago +63

    I’ve had my Pixel 3 for three days now, replacing my Nexus 6P, and couldn’t be happier. First of all, the Pixel 3 form factor is great, and much easier to hold and pocket than the Nexus, while only giving up .2” screen size. Screen is much better than the Nexus. Android Pie is a big improvement over 8.10.
    As someone who believes in the “Less is more” design principles, the Pixel 3 is spot on.The battery easily lasts all day for me as I am not using the phone intensively during the day.
    The sound is great also, particularly better for phone calls than my Nexus, plus much better for podcasts, RU-clip and music. I use maps and play podcasts or music at the same time when driving with zero problems.
    Overall I am very happy with my new Pixel, and glad I went with it instead of the iPhone XR or One Plus6T, both of which I looked at extensively.

    • K Then
      K Then 11 months ago +1

      Just ordered a Pixel 3, replacing my Nexus 6P too haha. Im excited

    • Donald James
      Donald James Year ago +2

      The small form factor is the key reason I went from a Pixel 2 XL to the Pixel 3. The Pixel 2 XL was my first large phone and while I didn't hate it I missed the 5 inch form factor.

  • Richard Servello
    Richard Servello Year ago +2

    Get a OnePlus 6t install Pixel 3 camera....save $350 and get a better phone.

    • John Cotton
      John Cotton 10 months ago

      Richard Servello no waterproofing,no stereo speakers, and waiting around for the latest software ! No thanks

  • vuthina roeun
    vuthina roeun Year ago

    I just switched to an Iphone. M done with the pixel. There's always something with the phone. screen issue, Ram issue, my speakers phone only come out from the button. bye bye Google.

  • Zaayeb Mani
    Zaayeb Mani Year ago

    @phandroid what's the name of the track?

  • John Caban
    John Caban Year ago +1

    Mate 20 Pro review please

  • M.F. Luder
    M.F. Luder Year ago +1

    The price of this phone is just too much and you can’t even buy either of the phones in Finland. I think the Huawei Mate 20 pro or Samsung note 9 is much more appealing than Google pixel 3 xl

  • Ivan West
    Ivan West Year ago

    Using Pixel2xl .........just patiently waiting for Pixel 4 XL 😁

    • Ivan West
      Ivan West Year ago

      @Joseph Vincent Leonero ay man...I replied to you...it's just public...sorry I'm new to utube commenting

    • Joseph Vincent Leonero
      Joseph Vincent Leonero Year ago +1

      How is your 2 XL though? Been considering one now but afraid of any hardware defects 😅

  • Thrustin Von Helmut
    Thrustin Von Helmut Year ago +1

    When you control the hardware and software you do not need the same RAM as hardware manufacturers that don't control both. The RAM lets them be sloppy. This guy is an idiot.

    • Thrustin Von Helmut
      Thrustin Von Helmut Year ago

      @om maity You are just trying to make up for you tiny penis by having a mobile phone with 8gb of RAM when we all know you are getting RAMed by 8 inches by your boyfriend.

    • om maity
      om maity Year ago

      Still doesn't change the fact that the pixel has some pretty awful ram management. It doesn't matter that Samsung or OnePlus are more sloppy with ram management, because they still have better experience with ram management at 6-8gb compared to the pixel at 4gb. It's stupid to think that optimization fixes everything because sometimes (albeit sloppy) more hardware just negates the need for optimization

  • Anthony Parker
    Anthony Parker Year ago +1

    I definitely struggled to see the screen in direct sunlight with the 3xl on full brightness.

  • Anthony Parker
    Anthony Parker Year ago

    The frosted portion scratches have been proven to be removable although I agree it sucks. The white one and not pink don't show marks nearly as much. My clearly white one didn't show ANY fingerprints or scratches and it felt heavenly in my hand. I ended up returning it simply because it wasn't a big enough jump from my 2 xl and that notch continuously annoyed me

  • its just luke Revive

    All I really care about more in a phone is the camera!

  • Louis Caputo
    Louis Caputo Year ago +9

    OMG, that audio! I mean, I understand they're trying to minimize background noise, but it makes everything else sound horribly muted. I'm a Pixel 2 XL user, and I passed on the 3 XL. Instead, I'm testing a OnePlus 6T, and it's actually really nice! But, that Pixel camera...it's SO hard to leave!

    • Louis Caputo
      Louis Caputo Year ago

      @Joseph Vincent Leonero Remember, OnePlus has a 15 day return policy, so take the 6T for a test drive and see what you think. I don't know if they charge a restocking fee, but it was worth the risk to me.

    • Joseph Vincent Leonero
      Joseph Vincent Leonero Year ago +1

      @Louis Caputo Oh man that sure did ease my decision a bit. Guess I'm going with the 6t, with that undeniably affordable price compared to a year old 2 XL, I guess you can never go wrong with that. Thanks for the info man, greatly appreciated! Looks like im gone for the 6T!

    • Louis Caputo
      Louis Caputo Year ago +2

      @Joseph Vincent Leonero Hey, I hear ya regarding that Pixel camera. I'm debating whether I should keep my 2 XL, or keep the 6T I got earlier this week. While the Pixels will take better pictures, the user experience with the 6T is really nice. OnePlus just knows how to make Android better without mucking it up with a heavy UI. I will say this though about the 6T camera...if you don't have a photo from a Pixel sitting right next to a 6T image, you'd probably never know the difference. Pixel peep, and yeah, you'll see differences, but left to stand alone, the 6T takes very pleasing photos.

    • Joseph Vincent Leonero
      Joseph Vincent Leonero Year ago +3

      @Louis Caputo That's good to hear, I'm just terrified I might get a defect on a new unit unfortunately 😔 Been setting my eyes on a Oneplus 6t but I've been a Pixel/Nexus guy for almost forever and leaving that camera from the Pixel line just aint a thing I might jump off from. Google should improve their quality control tbh considering the resources google has.

    • Louis Caputo
      Louis Caputo Year ago +1

      @Joseph Vincent Leonero I had a battery issue with my original unit after a year, but I suspect that was caused by a bad cable or charger. I'm using a refurbished unit from Google now, and it's flawless. In fact, the screen is even better than my original phone. Battery aside, the original unit did not have any issues bogging down over time. It seemed just as snappy as it ever was after a year. It's a solid device, and even more so at a discount.

  • Brootis Rinzler
    Brootis Rinzler Year ago +1

    Dope intro music 👌🏿