Biltwell Lane Splitter Helmet Review at RevZilla.com

Share
Embed
  • Published on Feb 27, 2017
  • Biltwell Lane Splitter Helmet Review
    www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/biltwell-lanesplitter-helmet?utm_source=youtube.com&utm_medium=description&utm_campaign=Biltwell_Lane_Splitter_Helmet&utm_term=H919n6_bkh8
    The Lanesplitter is Biltwell’s take on a hugely-popular industry trend of full-face retro helmets for the contemporary rider. Features of the Biltwell Lanesplitter Helmet include a hand-sewn brushed Lycra liner that is removable, a neutral oval internal head shape, and audio pockets for the inclusion of bluetooth communicator speakers.
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 27

  • Road Dawg
    Road Dawg 5 months ago

    Love this look, totally badass, was looking at the Simpson street bandit but i think i am going Biltwell.

  • Indio 129
    Indio 129 6 months ago

    Anyone ride one without the visor? I'm thinking of getting one, but I hate riding with visor.

  • Roger Vallve
    Roger Vallve 11 months ago

    I bought one and here is what i think. It is light, comfortable and great field of vision. looks great. i wish you could close vents. shield seals well. i use fog off spray. wind comes up from bottom too.

  • Paul Braddock
    Paul Braddock Year ago +2

    I bought one of these last week. One thing to note, the chin strap is anchored very far back in the helmet, almost midway, rather than biased towards the front. The result is that it fastens over your Adams Apple, but also, due to the mid point fulcrum, it has too much movement when you lift it at the chin. It really spoils an otherwise perfect fitting helmet, and it's weird to me that no one has mentioned it, in any review I've read.

    • Paulo Matias
      Paulo Matias 3 months ago

      Just got it in the mail and the thing almost tilts back almost 90 degrees when lifting up up from the front. I have a big adams apple and the neck strap definitely is a choker.

  • Half Dog
    Half Dog Year ago

    The HJC punisher fits me well, will this helmet fit me well too??

    • RevZilla
      RevZilla  Year ago

      Yes, both the HJC CL-17 Punisher and Biltwell Lane Splitter have _Round Oval_ internal fits, so the Lane Splitter should fit you. -DrewZilla

  • Lucas Manchego
    Lucas Manchego Year ago

    do the small and medium use different shell sizes?

    • RevZilla
      RevZilla  Year ago

      Yes, the small and medium helmets use different shells. -DrewZilla

  • EvergreenOldboys
    EvergreenOldboys Year ago

    BIG NOGGINS BEWARE: I wear a 2XL in every helmet I've ever owned. I wear a baseball cap between 7 3/4 and 8 (8 is really loose on me though). I own a Biltwell Gringo in 2XL and it fits perfect. The 2XL Lane Splitter is RIDICULOUSLY SMALL. I can't get it past my cheekbones, even with cheek pads off!

  • Simon Houel
    Simon Houel Year ago

    How's the fit compared to an Icon Variant ?
    Some says I should take a size down from my actual Variant (M) ...
    I'm 57.5 cm round ...

    • Simon Houel
      Simon Houel Year ago +1

      RevZilla I'm French, so closer to the European round shaped head.
      Thank you very much,
      Best regards.

    • RevZilla
      RevZilla  Year ago

      My head is also 57.5cm, but I have an intermediate oval head shape. I can put the size small Lane Splitter on, but it immediately gives me forehead pressure. There's plenty of room side to side though. Since you have a rounder oval head shape, you may be able to wear size small comfortably. -DrewZilla

  • DrewTheDestroyer
    DrewTheDestroyer Year ago +4

    HAVE ONE...its loud and the shield fogs up super easy... doesnt seal well..

  • Rendro Schifolli
    Rendro Schifolli Year ago

    ma vaffanculo

  • Carmelo Tansengco

    Looks like Darth Vader.

  • Jolene  Vilis
    Jolene Vilis Year ago +1

    I am old enough to have been riding when Retro was new tech! While all of the cool retro goodies make me want them for recapturing my youth, I can still remember riding in my bad new Arai full face helmet in the early 80's, I go way further back, you know the one made of fiberglass weighing 4lbs and no vents, in the South, in the summer when the temp was 90°f and 90% Humidity. NO WAY AM I GOING TO DO THAT AGAIN, GIVE ME THE HELMET WITH THE BEST VENTING AVAILABLE!!!!

  • Redwood Penguin Club

    Biltwell face sheilds are aweful... they fog up too much... otherwise I would get one

  • Bozo the clown
    Bozo the clown 2 years ago

    hi there, nice review, and breakdown. have to say that I love the face shield and how it changes. changing that would change who buys this lid, it looks cool, real comfy and the price is right on. hope they keep doing the same. just my take on the lid, and yes, I do have a gringo s and I love it!peace!

  • Cristian Pedraza
    Cristian Pedraza 2 years ago +1

    Is it quieter than the Simpson?

    • RevZilla
      RevZilla  2 years ago +1

      It's about the same as the Simpson. -DrewZilla

  • doubledoubleandfries
    doubledoubleandfries 2 years ago +16

    I'm with Anthony with this one. Love it if a company can give us a retro looking helmet with a more features/benefits. Give us a better seal with the shield, easy on/off shields, give us an option to open/close the chin vent, give us a brow vent and I'm sold. Go ahead bump up the price. Would still buy.

    • Mr. Borjas
      Mr. Borjas 11 months ago

      Then get a simpson

    • Andrew Anderson
      Andrew Anderson 2 years ago

      Right there with you. I love these retro helmets however, I ride everyday, year round, rain or shine and the seals on all the retro helmets (even the Bell) are awful. Forced open vents are great on a sunny day. In the rain or a cold day, nah. I will say, for the Biltwell price, I am not too upset, but at the Bell price, I am livid.

  • Chris Smith
    Chris Smith 2 years ago +1

    Just noticed that you posted this video again. Was hoping that meant that they were now in stock. Unfortunately that does not look like the case. Any idea of an ETA?

    • Chris Smith
      Chris Smith 2 years ago

      RevZilla Thanks!

    • RevZilla
      RevZilla  2 years ago

      It's looking like late-April. -DrewZilla
      *www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/biltwell-lanesplitter-helmet