Disney - Whispering Canyon Cafe - Dining Review - Plus Size, Accessible & Sensory

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 16, 2019
  • Whispering Canyon Cafe at Wilderness Lodge in Walt Disney World is a fantastic spot to grab a great all-American breakfast.
    Join Mark and I as we celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary at this quirky and fun Disney restaurant.
    I'll show you all the details you'll want to know for every member of your family. There's information for kids - strollers, high chairs and booster seats. I'll tell you all about mobility devices and accessibility in the restaurant and I'll show you all the seating options. We'll even review in detail possible sensory concerns.
    And of course we'll share our thoughts on the service, atmosphere and food.
    **************************
    Join the Community
    Website
    PammiePlusParks.com
    Pammie Plus Parks
    P.O. Box 16515
    St. Petersburg, Florida 33733
    USA
    Instagram
    PammiePlusParks
    Twitter
    PammiePlusParks
    *************************
    Support the channel
    Patreon
    www.Patreon.com/PammiePlusParks
    PayPal
    www.PayPal.me/PammiePlusParks
    ***************************
    Shop with me:
    www.amazon.com/shop/pammieplusparks
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 91

  • Shelly Facciola Hassdenteufel

    I definitely see Mark’s point that the atmosphere could overwhelm some people but I think on vacation I’m usually more like Pammie, I enjoy getting in on the fun of the crowd and love theatrics in general, lol!

  • Shelly Facciola Hassdenteufel

    I literally burst out laughing at the way you said “I’m pretty sure bacon has been proven to be the most scientifically delicious food,” it was so genuine but funny too! And I happen to fully agree, bacon is the BEST!!! I prefer mine dipped in syrup! 😋

  • Shelly Facciola Hassdenteufel

    A dining review with Mark should be fun, yay! And happy belated anniversary!!! ❤️

  • Frankie Miller
    Frankie Miller Month ago

    Enjoyed hearing about this! Happy Anniversary!

  • Kali Pappas
    Kali Pappas Month ago +1

    Hahahah, the most ironically-named restaurant in the world. I enjoy the insanity but I can imagine how awful it would be to be paying for club level rooms 25 feet above this place at 7am. The whole freaking hotel starts shaking the second Whispering Canyon opens for the day.

  • joe cascamo
    joe cascamo Month ago

    Happy belated anniversary

  • Puds Deroiste
    Puds Deroiste Month ago

    I think I'm with Mark on this one, I don't mind people interacting but I couldn't deal with all the yelling but that's why the review is good because now we know we can give it a miss

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  Month ago

      Not everyone is a morning person or they like a quiet breakfast and some folks have some significant sensory concerns that might not flow well with the style of service in this restaurant. I hope the review helps people make decisions about the restaurant that will work well for them.

  • Christina C
    Christina C Month ago

    Really enjoyed this review. We ate at this restaurant for my birthday back in 2016 and really enjoyed our time here - We went for dinner and the food was really good for dinner also...Sidenote: you and Mark sat at the same table we sat at!! 😂

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  Month ago

      What a coindedence! Yes, the service there is so much fun but if you are looking for a peaceful meal or have someone in your party with sensory concerns -- you may want to really consider if this restaurant will work for you. The food is excellent!

  • Vincent Parisi
    Vincent Parisi Month ago

    Have you never had the Mickey Waffles at Trail's End? They have a freshly made blueberry syrup to put on them that is so outrageously delicious I couldn't believe it. Nobody told me about it. It was just there and I put it on the waffles and it was like Kaboom! I am there again on my next trip. It doesn't hurt that Trail's End has always been one of my favorite places but this was my first breakfast buffet there.

  • Marissa Roest
    Marissa Roest Month ago

    Happy Anniversary to you both! This was a great informative video and very fun. You made me so hungry! Lol

  • not2old2groove4
    not2old2groove4 Month ago

    Happy Anniversary!!! I've missed watching you!!

  • Annemarie Camilli
    Annemarie Camilli 2 months ago

    Happy Anniversary! My anniversary is in August too. 43 years !

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +1

      Thank you and congratulations. Our anniversary is in June but it took me a while before I could get this video edited and uploaded.

  • Belinda Long
    Belinda Long 2 months ago +1

    I WANT 😀TO SAY!!!.. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY💚 YOU GUYS!. I WANT TO SAY YOU GUYS ARE SO 👍AWESOME AND I LOVE🥰 EVERYTHING YOU EVER POST PAMMIE!. I PRAY FOR💜 ALL THE HAPPINESS😁 IN THE WORLD FOR YOU BOTH!. FUN🤩 TIMES!. AND YES😏 LAID BACK IS GREAT AS WELL!. MUCH LOVE FROM FLORIDA BELINDA LONG! 🍊💚🍊💚🤩🤩🥰🥰😁😁💚

  • Man on the Scene
    Man on the Scene 2 months ago

    I used to drive from Clearwater to Orlando just to have lunch here. Haven't been in awhile but I love this place.

  • Sara Irvine
    Sara Irvine 2 months ago

    Pammie! Sunblock on the neck/chest, ma’am! Want you to be safe! 😉

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  Month ago

      @Sara Irvine the color was off because my camera was on its last legs. I had to do some contrast and color correction in the editing process and did the best I could.

    • Sara Irvine
      Sara Irvine Month ago

      Pammie Plus Parks Good good! Maybe the light gave you a pink glow! I’ve had a few blister burns and I want to make sure everyone is sun safe!!

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +1

      Thanks, I wear it all over my face, neck, chest, arms and any exposed skin every day. I carry it in my bag, keep it in my car and it is a part of my every day life in Florida. In spite of that -- I have permanent damage from time spent outdoors as a child before we knew how important sunscreen is.

  • Sharon Heberling
    Sharon Heberling 2 months ago +1

    Happy anniversary! Love your videos

  • Marianne
    Marianne 2 months ago +2

    Aww Happy Anniversary! Wishing you many more!

  • Rosemary's Life
    Rosemary's Life 2 months ago +1

    Happy Anniversary!!! Thanks for the review guys! Definitely making me hungry for breakfast now! Lol Hope to catch you in the parks in September!!! 🎉❤️😎👍

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago

      Thank you, Rosemary! I have a few trips planned so keep your eye's peeled. You never know where or when you will see me!

  • Aimee Rogers
    Aimee Rogers 2 months ago +4

    Always glad when the chairs are armless

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +3

      Me too, Aimee! They are so much more comfy. But did you know that all of the Disney table service restaurants can provide armless chairs? They have them handy for people who need to transfer from wheelchairs and for larger guests. When you check in for your table, let them know you want an armless chair and Cast Members will be happy to have it in place for you before you reach your table.

  • Mandy Falitico
    Mandy Falitico 2 months ago +1

    Happy anniversary! Thanks so much for all you do.

  • macook987
    macook987 2 months ago +1

    Happy anniversary. So glad I watched this. We are heading there in Sept and I will NOT be going outside more than needed. I HATE snakes.

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +2

      Thanks, mac! Don't worry about that little snake -- they don't attack people and they are good for the environment. Black racers are very helpful to gardens. I have a terrible fear of snakes and even I am OK with them....but if he were near me I would have run. LOL. I have been to Disney around 700 times and that is the very first time I have ever seen a snake that wasn't part of one of the animal exhibits at Animal Kingdom. Please don't worry too much.

  • dawndawn1980
    dawndawn1980 2 months ago +1

    Happy anniversary

  • Janet Theriault
    Janet Theriault 2 months ago +1

    Happy Anniversary

  • TERRI MITOV
    TERRI MITOV 2 months ago +1

    I've been thinking about going there and now it's a for sure! looks like fun too! Im like you, I like it loud and fun. have a great day and thanks for the service that you provide for us. happy anniversary!

  • Jenny M.
    Jenny M. 2 months ago +1

    Now I’m hungry! I really need to make a point of doing some resort exploration next time. I think I would enjoy Whispering Canyon, it sounds like a lot of fun. Still good to know about the quiet area, mind you.

  • Tracy B
    Tracy B 2 months ago +1

    First off, love your vids. Trying to figure out why a grown man at your hubby's age can't loosen up a bit. It has been an ongoing annoyance to me. My father is 70 years old, has had a stroke, and is blind in one eye, but he would have laughed at your waitress. ?

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  Month ago +1

      @Tracy B thank you. I do understand your initial reaction. What my husband deals with.l is incredibly frustrating. There is so much misunderstanding and stigma attached to epilepsy and other cognitive and sensory concerns. We hope to break through a bit of that while openly sharing information that will help people make the most of their travels. Thank you so much for your understanding and for watching.

    • Tracy B
      Tracy B Month ago

      I fully apologize if I seemed insensitive. My heart goes out to anyone with special needs.. I have an older cousin who has had to grow with epilepsy since he was a teenager, so I understand that. My father has special needs as well. Just seemed like your husband looks like he isn't having much fun in most of your vids and maybe it is just his personality and that is quite okay. Love what you do, and never meant to offend him or anyone.❤

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +4

      My husband has epilepsy. His seizures are controlled by medication but he can still be really sensitive to sounds and light -- it can trigger pre-seizure auras -- sort of like warps in perception that can be unnerving. Although it may not look like he is having a good time to someone who doesn't fully grasp a cognitive or sensory condition -- I assure you, he did enjoy himself.
      We included information about his experience for people who have more serious cognitive or sensory concerns so they can gauge if this restaurant will work for them.
      I am immensely proud of my husband for being willing to expose himself to situations that might be uncomfortable for him so that he can provide information to others who share a similar condition.
      Part of the reason why many epileptics choose not to get out into the world and choose not to share about their condition is because they know they will be opening themselves up to criticism from people who don't fully understand their condition. We are hoping that as you see more of Mark in videos and live chats you will see that he is a very happy, well adjusted person who is doing a fantastic job working with his challenges.
      I am sorry that you find the way he presents himself to be an annoyance -- I assure you he's not thrilled with being an epileptic either -- but it is his sincere wish to share his experiences with others in the hope of letting people know more about about the condition and to gain some understanding and acceptance. Thank you so much for watching the videos.

  • Pamela A. Cobb
    Pamela A. Cobb 2 months ago +1

    This is a must eat when in WDW!! Thanks for sharing

  • Karen D
    Karen D 2 months ago +1

    We found the same with our server - she gauged pretty fast that I was into it but my husband wasn't, and made sure that it wasn't overwhelming or annoying for him. I had no idea about the quiet room but that's amazing to know for next time. Thanks for another great video!

    • Karen D
      Karen D 2 months ago

      Pammie Plus Parks I can imagine how hard it must be, and please let Mark know that we appreciate his perspective and it definitely does help.

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +2

      It's not easy for Mark to expose himself to situations where he knows he may be uncomfortable but he does it knowing he can come away with information that will help other people with epilepsy and other cognitive or sensory concerns make the best choices for themselves and their families.

  • Secretly Sim
    Secretly Sim 2 months ago +1

    Great review. I found the few times we were at Whispering Canyon that they quickly realised that my son was more reserved and not into the sassy side and so we didn't get much sas, but enjoyed watching others receive it. When you do dining reviews again, could you ask for an allergy menu too to show us what is on the allergy menu.

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago

      Yes, Sim -- I can look into allergy menus in the future. I am so glad you were able to share your experience and confirm what Mark and I saw -- that Disney Cast Members are amazing at gauging guests and adjusting to their needs.

  • Olivia Thomas
    Olivia Thomas 2 months ago +1

    Haha, that’s just how my husband would respond 😁

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +1

      Mark loved the food and he really liked our server a lot . Wandering Wendy was lovely. We had a great time -- but Mark wanted to make sure other people who have epilepsy like he does, or have other cognitive or sensory concerns know what to expect before trying this restaurant out. Our goal is to help people have the best time possible.

  • Lisa Wright
    Lisa Wright 2 months ago +1

    Happy Anniversary!!!

  • FROMKYLE2U
    FROMKYLE2U 2 months ago +1

    Thank you and Happy Anniversary... I have avoided this place only because, as much as I love Disney, I prefer a more peaceful atmosphere when eating....I'm so glad you showed that quieter area... I never knew it was there...And good job to the waitress...

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago

      I try to think of all the ins and outs. Mark and I both have sensory concerns that are manageable so we like to try new places in the standard seating areas -- but once we find out there is a quieter spot for people with sensory challenges, we will request it when needed. We both understand challenges for people with autism and epilepsy and we try to include information that will help folks with sensory concerns.

  • Joanne_luvsDisney
    Joanne_luvsDisney 2 months ago +1

    Do they have turkey bacon and turkey sausage as a non-pork option?

    • Ease Mom
      Ease Mom Month ago +1

      They did when we were there in May - they brought us both!

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago

      Most Disney restaurants do. I am sure they must.

  • Joanne_luvsDisney
    Joanne_luvsDisney 2 months ago +1

    Looks like a fun place!

  • Joanne_luvsDisney
    Joanne_luvsDisney 2 months ago +1

    Happy Anniversary!!

  • Groot
    Groot 2 months ago +2

    5:48 “Am I gonna be on RU-clip?”

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +1

      In this case, he was trying to be in the video. Many servers stopped by during our meal to interact and try to get on camera. It was neat.

    • Groot
      Groot 2 months ago +1

      Pammie Plus Parks guess it’s the default reaction for when you see someone recording :P

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +1

      😆We had A LOT of that in this restaurant. It was fun.

  • simmonssx2
    simmonssx2 2 months ago +2

    Pammie my hubby is just like yours and I'm just like you. It's true that opposites attract. We've been married 17 years.🤗🤗

    • simmonssx2
      simmonssx2 2 months ago

      @Pammie Plus Parks this is exactly how we are...we have the same values and goals but the approach is very different. I guess we just balance each other out.

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +1

      That is beautiful! I love to hear about happily married couples. On the outside we are very different -- I tend to tackle life like it is a challenge that I plan to win and Mark takes on the world like he is wrestling a tiger, LOL --- but when it comes to our core values and principles we are on the same page. Is that what you and your husband are like -- you approach life differently but share the same goals? Our differences keep life lively and fun -- that is for sure!

  • Mary Vallas
    Mary Vallas 2 months ago +1

    $21pp for breakfast is not reasonable!!! I know it's Disney, but good Lord, that's a 300% mark up!

    • Taylor Harris
      Taylor Harris 2 months ago

      Mary Vallas $21 dollars is a lot but many of the Disney restaurants are around the same price, that’s why I think she said it was reasonable. Places like crystal palace, Chef Mickeys, and Ohana are a lot more than that. Disney dining gets really expensive! We always make sure we are really selective about which restaurants we want to go to so we aren’t wasting money on places we don’t really care about.

  • Groot
    Groot 2 months ago +1

    The best place for breakfast. You ever try the French Toast there?

  • Adiel Alfonso
    Adiel Alfonso 2 months ago +1

    I'm with Mark, I like peace and quiet when I'm eating.

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +2

      @Diana Smith thank you for sharing your perspective. I appreciate learning more about people's challenges so I can provide more detailed information in future videos. I will take noise levels like this into consideration when I review restaurants and attractions.

    • Diana Smith
      Diana Smith 2 months ago +1

      Deafness in one ear makes a noise level like that unbearable. All the sounds assault the good ear and I can't filter it. Someone at a table nearby will sound like they are right next to me yet I can't hear the person who actually is next to me.

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago +1

      Many people like a peaceful morning meal which is why we covered the ups and downs of the restaurant.

  • Susan Bundy
    Susan Bundy 2 months ago +1

    Happy anniversary! I luv that restaurant, they are very good to the gluten free visitors 😊

  • Candace Cherry
    Candace Cherry 2 months ago +1

    Souds delishus what woued we do with out you

  • Buddy L4
    Buddy L4 2 months ago +2

    You had to ask for ketchup LOL 😝

    • Groot
      Groot 2 months ago

      Next you gotta “Steal” a bottle of ketchup.

    • Pammie Plus Parks
      Pammie Plus Parks  2 months ago

      Yep. Poor Mark. He had NO idea.

  • Tarla Glumac
    Tarla Glumac 2 months ago +1

    Happy Anniversary to you guys.

  • LoveToRead3
    LoveToRead3 2 months ago +1

    "Hey, where'd that lady go?" 1:22 Lol Great job, Pammie!