2018 Harley Davidson Fatbob Review. 107 or 114?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 2, 2017
  • Hey guys as you know I really like the all new 2018 FatBob and since I hadn't got the chance to take it out and enjoyed the 114 I figured I'd take it for a little spin, I wanted to see the difference between the 114 and the 107. And to my surprise I personally liked the 107 better. It felt a little snappier on the throttle and although the 114 may be a much better motor in the long run for performance the 107 was more fun right off the floor. So check it and if you've ridden both the 114 and the 107 tell me what your thoughts were! As always guys thanks for watching!

Comments • 107

  • jim weidaw
    jim weidaw Day ago

    Bought the 107 after riding both. Much better price and smoother than the 114. If I want to go fast I ride my Speen Triple

  • James Menard
    James Menard 27 days ago

    Maybe Harley felt the 107 is a sportier engine that suits the Softail platform better and the 114 is suited for the touring platforms but can easily fit to the Softail platform as well. The 114 in the Softail is a marketing thing in my not so humble opinion. For me I want the smoother power delivery of the 114.

  • Scott Noonan
    Scott Noonan 4 months ago +2

    The only people who like 107s will agree with you. I’m confident my 114 has more snap.

  • photohum
    photohum 5 months ago +1

    Rode both and love the 107

  • Chris Free
    Chris Free 5 months ago

    Why does it sound so muffled ?

    • Hertz Von Renthal
      Hertz Von Renthal 4 months ago

      Standard pipes are quite due to emission and loudness regulations.

  • Lover Boy
    Lover Boy 6 months ago +1

    Good video I'm torn between the 107 and 114 but I'm 6-3 265 lb

  • RDNETWORK
    RDNETWORK 8 months ago +1

    The veins on this mofo

  • Cagefree
    Cagefree 8 months ago

    I’m not an engineer or a physicist. But, doesn’t the longer stroke on the 114 give it more torque but less willing to rev? If Harley used the same gear box for both, the 107 would be slightly quicker I think. I might be wrong. Another thing I noticed was that the stage 4 on the 107 revved higher and had more power than the stage 4 on the 114. Harley has since removed the “Dyno” chart for the 114 stage 4. Honest, I think if I do get a new Harley, it’s the 107 with a stage 3 or 4.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  8 months ago

      Philosorider
      Yeah it's hard to really know with Harley sometimes because they are so secretive lol. But IMO the 107 is a much better ride and gives more throttle response. But their are some typos in the new catalog, those HP numbers are off and so many people have different setups it's hard to get exact numbers without a dyno run. But advice from me if you build the motor, don't overlook the ported heads, they are beasts and be picky on pipes because some Rob power not give it.

  • roy z
    roy z 8 months ago +3

    117 all day long ;0)

  • JP1970
    JP1970 10 months ago

    That's a great vid, buddy! Thank you!

  • Abhinav Tripathi
    Abhinav Tripathi 11 months ago

    Im 5.8 .. is it for me?

  • JP1970
    JP1970 11 months ago

    I am considering trading in my MT-07 Yamaha for one of these Fat Bob's with the 107...not sure as I haven't had a chance to test ride one yet. No ABS with the 107, as I understand. Thanks for the video--I subbed!

  • Christopher Girard

    For touring how would you compare or anyone on here compare the 107 vs 114? I tested the deluxe 107 thought it was snapper and maybe a little smoother then the 114. Just trying to justify the 114 for long distance or bombing around on country roads

  • xdiaz92
    xdiaz92 Year ago

    @Fast-ActionJax If you could give me some advice on my comment below I would really appreciate it. I'm trying to make an informed decision that's right for me. Thanks.

  • xdiaz92
    xdiaz92 Year ago

    +Fast-ActionJax I'm new to bikes and just took that New Riders Course offered by Harley. I watched this video and it was very informative, but I still need some advice. I don't plan on doing crazy long road trips with my bike, mostly just around town. I was looking at the Fat bob, Street bob, and FXDR, because I really like their looks, but I can't decide between whether I need a 107 or 114 motor. Also, I'm 6'0" 215 lbs, and I was looking for something that was really stable and smooth at freeway speeds and faster, but I also want a bike that I could control well, and throw into corners.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago

      @xdiaz92
      Yeah please do! I'd be interested in knowing what bike you decide on :)

    • xdiaz92
      xdiaz92 Year ago

      Fast-Action Jax thanks brother I really appreciate you taking the time to break all of that down for me. I will definitely reach out when I finally purchase my bike.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago +1

      @xdiaz92 A fairing will surely help with buffeting at higher speeds but a good full face helmet would also, if you plan on doing a fairing then the fatbob would be out because you'd have to do a headlight conversion to put a fairing on that bike. They do make a decent looking quick detach windshield for the fatbob that you could install for longer rides and remove for town/city rides though. Have you considered the lowrider? that is my favorite of the new M8 motorcycles, The handlebars are hideous and would have to go immediately lol but it's such a great platform to start with. a simple bar change and fairing on that bike make a world of difference. As far as the CVO, I always try to push people to get what they want, A CVO may seem like a crazy bike to start with for some but the perfect for others, Everyone is a little different. I've seen many people buy roadglides and streetglides as their first bike and absolutely love them. Don't let the size and weight intimidate you. I weigh 145 pounds soaking wet and can ride very aggressively comfortably on those bikes, it's all about what you're used to. the CVO is just a nicer, more 1 off version of a roadglide. The most important thing is to ride them first and take your time with your decision, your future motorcycle will pick you. You'll know which one is for you! I promise :)

    • xdiaz92
      xdiaz92 Year ago

      Fast-Action Jax Fast-Action Jax I’m sorry to hear about your loss. Thank you for taking the time to write me back, I really appreciate it.
      I will definitely have to ride all 3. Overall, would you say the 107 or 114 has a smoother ride? And then I am worried about that “Bobbing” sensation caused by riding a bike that doesn’t have a fairing, on the freeway. Is that a legit concern for all of these bikes? I know that they make quarter fairings for the street bob.
      Lastly, would it be a completely bad idea for me to cash out on a CVO for my first bike? I really like that mako blue road glide or that Black Forest street glide.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago +1

      xdiaz92
      Hey my friend, sorry it's taken awhile to reply, my home was impacted by hurricane Michael and I've been trying to find a new place. I'd absolutely go with the fatbob over the three bikes you like. The street Bob I don't think would satisfy in corners as you get more comfortable on the bike. The fxdr has a 240 rear tire which is hard to throw in corners cause the rear tire fights you and you may not always be comfortable on the fxdr in the slightly more forward position. The fatbob is higher off the ground so it suits taller riders and corners great while you sit in a more upright position which better for a little longer hwy rides. It's s great handling bike. I actually like the 107 fatbob better. Seems a little torquer, could just be me though. But if you like all three ride all three, when you do you'll know which bike is for you!

  • Thomas Elisseou
    Thomas Elisseou Year ago +1

    I drove both and agree the 107 is more snappy throttle....I found the 114 more manageable and preferred it.

  • Thomas R. Smith
    Thomas R. Smith Year ago

    Too bad Harley doesn't have ABS on these bikes yet. Well, they have in Europe since it is mandatory since 2016.

    • Mark H
      Mark H Year ago

      They have abs on both models as stock here in Australia too

    • Thomas R. Smith
      Thomas R. Smith Year ago

      True, I think so do most of the new bikes now even in the US.

    • Zen
      Zen Year ago +1

      The 114 does have ABS stock

  • Thomas R. Smith
    Thomas R. Smith Year ago

    I don't think the 114 is the "Better" Motor. It has smoother roll on performance but the 107 is definitely quicker off the line. So around town I also would prefer the 107 over the larger 114.

  • Pete Busch
    Pete Busch Year ago

    Why have two motors that are somewhat similar?

    • Pete Busch
      Pete Busch Year ago

      Fast Action Jax, thanks and that makes sense to me.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago +1

      Pete Busch
      great question! Harley actually announced they are dropping the 107 in this model and will only be doing it in a 114 starting 19.5, most likely for that exact reason

  • Louis Prioreschi
    Louis Prioreschi Year ago +5

    i love my 107 fxfb great bike I brought mine home today

  • David Ozburn
    David Ozburn Year ago

    Everyone talks about thier hieght. How come they don't talk about thier inseam. I'm short (5'4") with a 28 inch inseam. But, I've ridden 1000 Kawas, old xs 1100, tip toed R600 and 1000. You get used to riding what you like. You adapt and get to know your limitations. Totally see myself on a Fat Bob

  • FatBob Jim
    FatBob Jim Year ago +1

    Bought my Bonneville Salt Denim White Saturday. The foot controls are spot on, I owned 2 Vrods and this bike felt very familiar.... Ride hard or stay home😎

  • Jim Germata
    Jim Germata Year ago

    My style too.... bought a Bonneville Salt Denim White 107 yesterday, just got back with a 300 mile run and love it!😎

  • Jack Rotten
    Jack Rotten Year ago

    I miss PCB man. Took my motorcycle rider course there back when.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago

      it can be a nice place to ride sometimes thats for sure, just wish there was less traffic and more curves lol

  • KaDeuce#
    KaDeuce# Year ago

    Great video 👍🏻

  • Will Furner
    Will Furner Year ago +2

    Just bought the 107, love it! Step up from my 883.

    • LOL
      LOL Year ago

      more like 4 steps up lol. I just traded my iron 883 for a FB114. and its insane. Don't get me wrong I loved my sportster. Will probably buy another someday.

    • Will Furner
      Will Furner Year ago

      Fast-Action Jax yeah the 107 fat bob

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago +1

      oh yeah! I bet you are loving it! you get the fatbob?

  • snakedoctor416
    snakedoctor416 Year ago

    I'm looking at the 114 Fat Bob now, just about to pull the trigger. It will be my first Harley, I'm coming from sportbikes. Would you pick a used Vrod over the 114 Fat Bob?
    I liked your review, it's been the first review to really give me the feeling of being there. It's snowing where I live, so reading and watching is all I can do right now :)

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago

      the fatbob is a whole lot more fun to ride than the Vrod IMO.

    • snakedoctor416
      snakedoctor416 Year ago

      I'm in Canada, and the cost difference between the two is significant (like double). I'm leaning heavily toward the 114, but would really like some valid reasons to help me justify this to myself, and my wife.

    • tuppersdad
      tuppersdad Year ago

      I picked up a 114 yesterday and for me there is no way I would get a used v-rod over this bike.

  • Nathan Roehrs
    Nathan Roehrs Year ago

    Great informatie vid man.. Does Metzeler make a set of tires for this bitch?? ME888?

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago +1

      oh yeah, They have one of largest array of tire sizes and thanks brother

  • Greg Dailey
    Greg Dailey Year ago +6

    I bought the 107 and am glad that I did. My buddys tell me I fucked up but, like you said, the 107 is "snappier." I love it...Excellent power, balance, stance, everything.

  • Tuco Ramirez
    Tuco Ramirez Year ago

    I wish they did ceriani/storz type front ends on the fatboy. I really dig the look of the fatbob, it looks like a futuristic mad max bike. Can You throw a 200 tire on the back with no mods like some of the older fatbobs?

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago

      I have very little knowledge about those types of mods at the moment because not too many people have tried it yet because the bikes so new but personally I think from the looks of it a 200 tire wouldnt have a problem going on. I could be wrong though.

  • Pranav Sharma
    Pranav Sharma Year ago

    Nice review Jax.
    LOVE the look of the bike. Thinking of getting after one.
    Would you advise I learn riding on it, as don't have access to a bike otherwise. Thanks in advance Jax

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  Year ago

      you could learn riding on any motorcycle, I think this would be a really fun bike to learn on, it's all about what YOU are comfortable with and on.

  • Fooki Moto
    Fooki Moto 2 years ago

    2018 Fat Bob has more long term potential of remaining fun, the other bikes not so much lol.

  • Mark McIntosh
    Mark McIntosh 2 years ago +4

    I bought the 114 fat bob and think it is great. My 2017 road king s has the 107 and like you said is so close i think anyone will like either. I enjoy your tests great work.

  • Balachandra Menon
    Balachandra Menon 2 years ago +1

    Great inputs. I ride a Street 750 currently and have booked a 2018 Fat Bob 107 based on reviews like yours. In my part of the world it will only get to me in December. The current option is only 107 with ABS as mandatory here. So I was hesitating since most all reviews are on the 114. Will l be intimidated after the Street 750? My other worry is the ground clearance as the Street is 25mm higher so I had no problems clearing speed breakers and humps.
    Bala from India

    • Balachandra Menon
      Balachandra Menon Year ago

      Mark McIntosh - Thanks

    • Mark McIntosh
      Mark McIntosh Year ago

      Balachandra Menon you will be fine I have a fat bob 114 and clearance in not a problem buy the fat bob and have a great time.

    • Balachandra Menon
      Balachandra Menon Year ago

      Pranav Sharma Hi Pranav, depends on where you are located. Ideally begin with a light bike weight wise and once you get comfortable with riding then go for a HD. Bala

    • Pranav Sharma
      Pranav Sharma Year ago

      Balachandra Menon Hi Bala. Would you recommend I learn biking on a HD . Don't have access to bikes, only cars. Know balancing, and road rules as been driving for 15 years.
      Was thinking of buying a HD directly as don't have money to burn on something lighter

  • Road Toad
    Road Toad 2 years ago

    Rode both today. The 114 didn't feel like it had a lot more pull but I noticed I was going faster. I kind of liked how well mannered the 107 was. Then I rode a 2012 Fat Bob 103 with a Stage One Kit and it was much faster than the new ones so they need to be uncorked. It had a much longer pull in the rev range. My favorite is still the 2014 style. The new one is great but just such a different bike and not as comfy for me (felt too small). Much improved suspension and vibration control though. Just enough rumble at idle. All three generations look great to me.

    • Road Toad
      Road Toad 8 months ago

      Bought a 13 Fat Bob Dyna 103 in Midnight Pearl. Couldn't be happier. The last year of the first generation. Gorgeous ride.

  • DoCtorDestiny Hd
    DoCtorDestiny Hd 2 years ago +2

    I'm getting the 107 next week anyone know any RU-clipr that have bought this bike? I can't stop watching videos on it😂

  • faith biker
    faith biker 2 years ago

    I checked the new Fat Bob out a few weeks ago and it's a nice bike. I own a 2014 Fat Bob and love it. I think Harley really hit a home run with the new bike. Decided to keep my 2014 though. Great review!

    • Mark McIntosh
      Mark McIntosh 2 years ago

      Joe Glenn I was concerned about the small tank when I got my 2018 fat bob. Don't let that stop you I get 160 on a tank.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  2 years ago

      faith biker
      Thank you I really appreciate that! I've just always seen that a lot people never reply to comments and I know that I don't catch them all but I spend time every night to go through my notifications and get everyone that comes through. I think it's important to show that you care about what people have to say and a lot of channels are just in it for themselves. I'm not that guy.

    • faith biker
      faith biker 2 years ago

      Just wanted to tell you that I liked your channel so much and the return comments I subscribed and I will be keeping my eye open for your new videos. Take care. P.S. Regarding your last comment, that's what I did to my 2014 Fat Bob I bought it used with just a few hundred miles on it and saved a lot.

    • Joe Glenn
      Joe Glenn 2 years ago

      I really wanted the 2018 Breakout... but that 3.5 gallon fuel tank was something I just couldn't get over. I'm hoping that HD reconsiders this and puts a larger tank on the bike in 2019. It the do, I'll take another look. In the meantime, I'm loving the Fat Bob.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  2 years ago +1

      Joe Glenn
      Not a thing wrong with that, that's why I won't trade my bike

  • cottoneye joe
    cottoneye joe 2 years ago

    All depends on rider weight!!

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  2 years ago

      Well 4 other people here said the same thing including my service manager and all at different weights, so not likely. It's not going to be that simple.

  • WalkingHeadPro
    WalkingHeadPro 2 years ago

    Youre never going to do the roadster are you heh

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  2 years ago

      I dont have one, I have to wait for one to come in, last week I was going to do it and I couldnt cause a guy was doing an app on it, but he left so I assumed he wasnt going to buy it, but he came back the next day and did so I have no control over that brother. I just have to wait till we get one, I cant wait to do the roadster because Ive ridden it on the track.

  • Ken Cooley
    Ken Cooley 2 years ago +3

    OK, so I owned both the 2015 Heritage and Fat Bob.My Heritage Stage One with Rineharts.
    Test rode this new Fat Bob 114.Twice.
    Test rode the 107.Bought the 107.
    You cannot tell a seat of the pants difference between them.Not worth the near 2K difference in price. Didn't need ABS brakes.
    Received a $1,000.00 discount off MSRP list from my dealer on Bonneville Salt Denim.Bought it.
    Now have 425 miles on my Bob.
    What a bike!
    Can't hardly launch from a stop sign without spinning back wheel.
    Ordered out the electronic cruise control, Fat Bar mini apes, full install and grips.19 inch windshield too.
    Soon ready for a road trip.

    • Greezy_Chef
      Greezy_Chef Year ago

      Ken Cooley go stage 2.

    • tuppersdad
      tuppersdad Year ago

      Picked up the 114 yesterday. I was thinking the same as you. Keep the cash don't need abs for this bike touring or crouch rocket yes but not cruisers. All the dealers by me only stocked 114 for some reason otherwise I would have gotten the 107 I'm only 150 pounds don't need the extra ci. So far I love the bike.

    • Olivier FREMOND
      Olivier FREMOND Year ago

      Hey, how does it feel with the mini apes ? Do you have any pics ? I am 6"3 and I found the stock bar to be a bit of a stretch during my test. I understand it's for the whole "sporty" feeling but still.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  2 years ago

      yeah I liked the 107 more myself, A very fun motorcycle and I actually prefer not to have ABS so my choice would be easy as well, Id keep my extra 2k for other stuff

  • Joe Glenn
    Joe Glenn 2 years ago +1

    I plan on doing some test rides tomorrow. I stopped in at my local dealer late one afternoon and spoke to salesman. He wasn't there today, so I delayed test rides until tomorrow.
    Here is my thinking on the 107 vs. 114 Fat Bob. I am a fan of ABS brakes. Stuff happens and if I have to react quickly and over react, I like the idea of the braking system preventing me from locking it up. The price difference between the 107 and the 114 is $1700. ABS is standard on the 114. If I add ABS to the 107 the price difference is only $900. For $900, I'm going with the bigger motor, if for nothing else resale value.
    When I compare the Breakout 107 to the Breakout 114, the price difference is $1300. I don;t know of anything that comes standard with the Breakout 114 that is an option of the 107. By my way of thinking the price difference between the two should be the same $900 difference the Fat Bob 107 with optional ABS and the Fat Bob 114 with ABS standard. If you know of any differences in features between the 107 and 114 Breakout, please tell us.

    • David Ozburn
      David Ozburn Year ago

      Which ever one I get , I'm installing a Zippers Red Shift cam. Will be responsive enough and a lot more fun. Especially with a performance 2 into 1 and intake.

    • David Cardone
      David Cardone 2 years ago

      Fast-Action Jax...I rode both the 107 and 114 and honestly liked the 107 a little better! Didn’t notice anything crazy in power between the two. I agree with what you said about the 107 being a little more snappy. I noticed the 114 to be a little more linear in the power curve and I’m sure there’s a bit of a difference on the top end but again, nothing crazy. I’d honestly rather get a good set of pipes, filter and tune on the 107 for the difference in money. Anything major that you noticed between the two engines that you liked or disliked? I was only able to go for a short ride on each so I really didn’t have too much time to fully feel them out in comparison. Feedback would be appreciated as I’m trying to decide if I should wait for a 114 or scoop up the 107! I’m not a big guy, 5’10” 150 lbs. That 107 is a pretty potent engine! Especially with a lighter rider on an already light bike!

    • VOODOO CHILD
      VOODOO CHILD 2 years ago

      Joe Glenn
      Wow thanks great, good to you. Enjoy it

    • Joe Glenn
      Joe Glenn 2 years ago +1

      I found an awesome deal on a stock 2016 Fat Bob with 400 miles on it. Saved about $7000 over a new 2018. I couldn't be happier.

    • VOODOO CHILD
      VOODOO CHILD 2 years ago +1

      Joe, I have no intention of doing any type of engine work just a stage 1 (pipe tuner & air clean) to help her breathe better but that's where it will end for me... good luck on your

  • TheMarvelous1310
    TheMarvelous1310 2 years ago +1

    If given a choice between the two motors, I think I would always go with the smaller one for a street bike. There are speed limits, you know? I want to be able to use as much of the motor as possible while still being within the speed limit. That's why I loved my CCW Heist, but I was too big for it in the end.

  • Luke Faulkner
    Luke Faulkner 2 years ago +1

    The dealers down in Oz are getting their demo's in now. You've convinced me to try the Street Bob and the Fat Bob 107. It sounds like you think the 107 is a sweet motor.

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  2 years ago

      it surprised me thats for sure! it's smooth, quick and fun!

  • Lee McDonald
    Lee McDonald 2 years ago

    Love the look of these, went the official launch night at the dealer. Just can't justify it being more than something like a superduke though.

    • jennifer thompson
      jennifer thompson Year ago

      I own a Super Duke (actually my 2nd) and tried out a 114 Fat Bob three days ago. I probably should have ridden my old Gold Wing to the Harley shop because the SD just makes the FB feel so slow. I will say the FB was a nice, relaxing, refined, and even a mellow ride. If I lived somewhere I had to do a bunch of city/suburban riding, I could maybe see a place in my garage for the FB. But living in a small town with a lot of empty roads around me, I just can't see being satisfied with the lack of performance. The other interesting note: the FB is a much more compact bike in terms of the ergos and riding position. The SD is far rangier and more suited for a tall guy like me (6'3). I Guess my bottom line is this: if I were to get a cruiser, it would probably come down to the FB, a late model Honda Valkyrie, or maybe a Ducati XDiavel (I haven't ridden the Duc yet, but the look is excellent and the horsepower outstanding).

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  2 years ago

      you have to ride it though, very fun and nimble

  • Adrian Rubi
    Adrian Rubi 2 years ago +5

    Did somebody from Ducati join the design team? XDiavel had crossbred with the old fat bob.

  • FXFB NYC
    FXFB NYC 2 years ago +10

    Awesome finally an opinion on both motors. I bought a 107 just because of wait time and after a test ride, I had to have it!! It is great fun!!! Great video Jax!!

  • Ed Tuller
    Ed Tuller 2 years ago +1

    I am Looking Forward to meeting you at the end of the Month . I will be down for the Rally Love your Video's

    • Fast-Action Jax
      Fast-Action Jax  2 years ago +1

      Thanks brother I really appreciate it! I'll definitely be here. I work 12 hour days during rally! A lot of fun though!