AMD RYZEN 3 REVIEW - Should you buy one?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 27, 2017
  • AMD's Ryzen 3 CPUs are FINALLY here. Should you buy one?
    Attend LTX to enter Razer's "Linus-themed" mousemat contest. Get your ticket: www.ticketrocket.co/event/details/97246/ltx-2017
    Tunnelbear sponsor link: Try Tunnelbear for free at www.tunnelbear.com/LTT and save 10%
    Buy AMD Ryzen 3 CPUs
    Amazon: geni.us/gyuEJ
    Newegg: geni.us/ViAh
    Discuss on the forum: Coming soon
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ru-clip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ru-clip.com/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 723

  • Jason Buben
    Jason Buben Day ago

    Should I save up for a ps5 or build a pc???

  • Righteous Evil
    Righteous Evil 3 days ago

    Need video ard.
    Need overclocking capable mobo.

  • Dimitrios F
    Dimitrios F 7 days ago

    It's $66 on Amazon now! I bought FARCRY 5 and my Phenom x 4 965BE at 4.1GHZ won't run this game due to lack of 4.2a SSE or whatever that instruction set is. Sad that I have to build a new system. Will be building a cheap AMD PC and down the road when I need more muscle I will drop in a Ryzen 8 core which will be dirt cheap in a few years.

  • Odiil
    Odiil 8 days ago

    so...is a ryzen 3 2300u with 8gb ram enough for office stuff? i need a laptop for school and i'm not sure if it's enough or not...

  • Just Me
    Just Me 12 days ago

    amd 9 is out

  • Tefik Sahin
    Tefik Sahin 17 days ago

    Case : Coolmaster 3.1
    Cooler Thermaltake smart rgb 650w
    Motherboard : Asus PRIME A320M-K A320
    Cpu : Amd ryzen 3 1200 + Stock cooler Amd
    Gpu xfx r9 290 4gb
    V Ram : 2x 8gb 16Gb
    I have 2 fans in mijn case : 1 Front Lepa BOL.Quiet PWM Red 120x120x25
    : 2 Standaard fan back orginal Coolmaster 3.1 fan
    When i play the game metro exodus Mine PC going to 68 to 70c Somethimes 72c is this normal? can this also damage mine pc?
    when im on youtube 44c 45c when i gaming end i feel mine pc case its really heat. im litle bit scared 72c

    azerty.nl/product/thermaltake/3121922/smart-rgb-600-w-ventilatorhuis-600w

    azerty.nl/product/cooler%20master/2660003/masterbox-lite-3-1-minitowermodel-micro-atx?gclid=Cj0KCQjwjYHpBRC4ARIsAI-3GkG_ZnZeHKursvUaepy3vMwqdZCX-6xKFIEe_1c8zmQ4f7gmgLzRcccaApoeEALw_wcB

    I would like to hear from you advice and tips from your experience
    Linus Tech Tips

  • Penguinlover 2k19
    Penguinlover 2k19 29 days ago +1

    Can someone tell me if the amd ryzen 3 2300x is good?
    (For a begginers gaming pc)

  • doinks
    doinks Month ago

    Poor gamers only

  • Rob Varde
    Rob Varde Month ago +1

    I love my ryzen 3 1200!

  • Salvatore Butera
    Salvatore Butera Month ago

    Is ryzen 3 2200g good for blender?

  • Tanim Ahmed
    Tanim Ahmed Month ago

    I have heard that ryzen 3 gets hot if we use it for large time.that's why I'm not going to buy it.

    • Tanim Ahmed
      Tanim Ahmed Month ago

      I don't know how long.but if u know something about it please tell me.

    • AverseEX
      AverseEX Month ago

      How long?

  • idonotknowwhyyoutubeletsyou Berwald

    Cage the elefant

  • theaccountwitha really long name

    This processor cost more than my pc

  • Jake Chicarella
    Jake Chicarella Month ago +3

    im still rocking a core 2 duo

  • Used_Napkinn
    Used_Napkinn 2 months ago

    F

  • MIDHUN MK
    MIDHUN MK 2 months ago

    Anybody @this tym

  • JupiOnTheMoon
    JupiOnTheMoon 2 months ago

    I’m sadly not much if a gamer. I work three jobs lol. But I’m working on building a computer for my video editing, and photo editing. Would this Ryzen do well with a person just wanting to edit for work?

  • G1V3ME4CHANC3
    G1V3ME4CHANC3 3 months ago

    can i get atleast 60 fps with the ryzen 3?

  • Pizza PowerXYZ
    Pizza PowerXYZ 3 months ago

    I'm getting a 2700x and I just want something to compare before I get it

  • legend asus
    legend asus 3 months ago +3

    Advantage of AMD
    1.Better price to performance ratio
    2.Better for multi tasking
    3.Better for rendering video faster
    4.Future proof
    5.Overclocking
    6.More cores/thread
    7.For gaming, AMD slightly behind Intel but they get rid of FPS spikes and shuttering issue much better
    Advantage of intel
    1.Better price to performance for lower end Intel cpu
    2.Faster single core performance
    3.Better support for cooling
    4.Better CPU for gaming than amd
    5.Overclock can be done if it's a unlocked version
    6.Less cores/more thread
    7. Most of the game render much better on Intel
    For gaming choose intel
    For overall work choose amd

  • Orangutan Gang
    Orangutan Gang 3 months ago +4

    The R3 1200 is $74 right now.

    • Rickmix
      Rickmix 12 days ago +1

      €46 in The netherlands, SIcomputers.

    • Jorge Majano
      Jorge Majano 2 months ago

      On Newegg, I've seen it for $65

  • Fritz Gillis
    Fritz Gillis 3 months ago

    A Randy Johnson shoutout? Damn. We old brah

  • Sumalatha Balasubramanian

    Do Intel dual 2 core processor with graphics card 2gb

  • Ben Swolo
    Ben Swolo 3 months ago

    Linus is a Serb confirmed. I just now realized that he is holding 3 fingers in the thumbnail

  • Grant Kruger
    Grant Kruger 3 months ago

    3?! I thought it was a Russian "Z" :D

  • Paul
    Paul 4 months ago

    amd athlon x4 845 should i upgrade to this or wait and save up for ryzen 5 1600x?

    • PouCent
      PouCent 3 months ago

      Wait, first of all what GPU do you have? Or are you buying a new one?

    • PouCent
      PouCent 3 months ago

      The ryzen 1200 would probably be 20- 30 fps (guess) when paired with a GPU, however ryzen 1600x provides far superior future proof- ness.

    • Paul
      Paul 3 months ago

      @PouCent I'm just trying to do causal gaming I don't have much time to play since I work but I like to play apex cod and new games that come out

    • PouCent
      PouCent 3 months ago +1

      Then again I guess it could also depend on what you're doing.

    • Paul
      Paul 3 months ago

      PouCent just in time

  • Viraj Singh
    Viraj Singh 4 months ago

    LINUS S STRAIGHT

  • Mouseythegreat
    Mouseythegreat 4 months ago

    Team Blue is IBM

  • Ranjodh Singh
    Ranjodh Singh 4 months ago

    Yesterday i bought hp pavilion laptop ryzen 3 2300u vega8 ram8gb hdd1tb bt pubg is not running when i start it shows downloading failed resources couldn't find can you help me what i have to do using window 10

  • Freezehell
    Freezehell 4 months ago

    whats the total cache of ryzen 3 1200 ?

  • DanielProductions
    DanielProductions 4 months ago +1

    LinusSexTips

  • John Sanabria
    John Sanabria 4 months ago

    my i5-4570 is better than this and its from a office computer

  • Stephen Phillips
    Stephen Phillips 4 months ago

    Are the temperatures for the Ryzen 1200 with the heatsink good?

  • srinidhi gr
    srinidhi gr 4 months ago

    Hey is the ryzen 3 2400g can it code as I am a programmer and also game designer

  • Group Project - In a nutshell

    My specs
    Windows 7
    Geforce 1030
    Ram 8gb
    I3 3.3ghz
    ....can i run battlefield 5 around 30fps ?

    • Group Project - In a nutshell
      Group Project - In a nutshell 3 months ago

      @Will Riehl bro...they dont run same...1060 3gb is massively better than 1050ti...amd yeah 970 and 1060 are almost same...

    • Group Project - In a nutshell
      Group Project - In a nutshell 3 months ago

      @Will Riehl i dont wana run at 1080p...i m happy at 1600x900 or 768....these resolution can run b5 at 70+ fps ...cant they ?

    • Will Riehl
      Will Riehl 3 months ago

      @Group Project - In a nutshell still around the same, both decent cards for 1080. i would reccomend the 6gb if youre going with the 1060 tho, you do lose some speed with the 3. honestly i run a 970 and can play all 1080 games high-ultra settings no problem, and theyre only about 100$

    • Group Project - In a nutshell
      Group Project - In a nutshell 3 months ago

      @Will Riehl well what about gtx 1060 3gb ? I m changing it..

    • Will Riehl
      Will Riehl 3 months ago +1

      @Group Project - In a nutshell at least 1080 medium at 60 i would think. as long as youre not running too many programs since the i3's have less cores. The gt series is a joke

  • Sponsi
    Sponsi 4 months ago

    Ryzen 3 rulz. I combined it with 16GB of RAM (only recently added 2x4 because the prices finally dropped), SSD and 1050Ti - a very nice budget computer.

  • QuadCore Gamer
    QuadCore Gamer 4 months ago

    The ryzen 3 1200 costs around 75.93 USD in India

  • ystijger videos n more
    ystijger videos n more 5 months ago

    I have a i3 7100 and i think im gonna upgrade but i just have one question, Can it run CS:GO on max settings above 60 fps?

  • clash empire
    clash empire 5 months ago

    Tutititu lunus

  • Simonstar
    Simonstar 5 months ago

    This is real now

  • Joey Reactz
    Joey Reactz 5 months ago

    The thumbnail is gonna give me nightmares for 15.55555572 years

  • can i get 696 subs with no vids trump

    cant wait for ryzen -3

  • juanme555
    juanme555 5 months ago

    After 10 years since Phenom II x4 .... i am finally excited about AMD cpus again , difference is now im 22 and i can actually buy one of these , im just gonna buy a cheap A320 motherboard (i dont like to OC my stuff) and a ryzen 1200 , once ps5 releases i'll just upgrade to an R7 2700X and im gonna be fine since theres no way the shitty ps5 has a better cpu than that.
    16GB 3000Mhz and im fine.

  • Rishi Kumar
    Rishi Kumar 5 months ago

    is ryzen 3 good for programing as a collage student

  • Hansi
    Hansi 5 months ago

    There ain't no rest for the wicked, money don't grow on trees! 😂

  • LowPCGaming
    LowPCGaming 5 months ago +1

    Ryzen3 2200g in 2019 is good :)

  • Gianluca Daniele Di Maggio

    Nice Ain't No Rest For The Wicked reference Linus!

  • Awesomemohawk 45
    Awesomemohawk 45 5 months ago

    I’m brand new to this gaming pc thing and I was recommended this core, so I’m happy I found this video 😁

  • ADL KHDR
    ADL KHDR 6 months ago

    Ryzen 3 2200g that would be a fair comparation to intel core 8th generation

    • ADL KHDR
      ADL KHDR 2 months ago

      Edit: I was wrong

  • Sultan Mehmood Ghaznavi

    "Its a big F.U to the team in Blue" no doubt about that! its like having a first gen i7 at 1/3rd the price

  • mirola73
    mirola73 6 months ago

    Damn, tech in the US is almost always cheaper than here in the UK.

  • Name Surname
    Name Surname 6 months ago +1

    Just picked up used 3 1200 for 45 eur. Should be nice upgrade from fx 6100

    • Saynx
      Saynx 4 months ago

      are you able to stream game like apex legends using a gpu alongwith it?

  • Cornflake 25
    Cornflake 25 6 months ago

    Lol R3G is coming now :p

  • DiniGamer_YT
    DiniGamer_YT 6 months ago

    Why did you use 2400 mhz ram, you knew that ryzen works much better with higher latency ram. Ryzen is the best. Can't wait for the 3000 series.

  • Nasmera Nasmera
    Nasmera Nasmera 6 months ago

    Sony remake your cell processor to knockout these mess

  • Sudipto Das
    Sudipto Das 6 months ago +1

    Ryzen 1 will beat intel core i 0.5

  • Laurent Spatola
    Laurent Spatola 6 months ago

    Then AMD will go to 1, then .9, then .7, etc.

  • BrillyWilly - William Ratcliffe

    Thank god. Competition in the market is better for the consumer and technology progression

  • John Conor
    John Conor 6 months ago +2

    Ryzen 3 1200 (4core) < Pentium 4560 (2core), LoL

  • Ze Atheist
    Ze Atheist 6 months ago

    Year later
    red rules 😎

  • riding with Thomas
    riding with Thomas 6 months ago

    Pls

  • riding with Thomas
    riding with Thomas 6 months ago

    Can you do the review of the Ryder 1200 gtx 1050 ti

  • Crystal Heart
    Crystal Heart 7 months ago

    Linus just dropped core i3 blue team on the floor. haha

  • TheJoy OfKush
    TheJoy OfKush 7 months ago

    Can it work with a optiplex 780?

  • Mr&Mrs Morrice
    Mr&Mrs Morrice 7 months ago

    ,y laptop has it as standard, i tweaked it and its fucking amazing

  • NikosKap
    NikosKap 7 months ago +1

    What mobo should I use for a ryzen 3 1200 can someone help me?

  • muad yussuf
    muad yussuf 7 months ago

    Why Capcom?

  • Burning Typhoon
    Burning Typhoon 7 months ago

    can someone explain the valve and capcom references? Half life 3? and.. Marvel Vs. Capcom 3? (it was 11 years since mvc2)

  • victhe great
    victhe great 7 months ago

    sir? im planning to buy ryzen 3 2200g processor. it is necessary to Overclock it? or it is okay if not. because i think if i overclock it, the system will heat fast. need your help sir and positive opinion. thanks a lot

  • diabetes
    diabetes 7 months ago +1

    What about Ryzen 3 2200g? Is it good for cod blackout?

  • h3ll0
    h3ll0 7 months ago

    That Cage The Elephant reference at 0:54 tho :)

  • supergamer1122
    supergamer1122 8 months ago

    Can someone donate me $1650.00 so I can build a pc

  • Subir Dasgupta
    Subir Dasgupta 8 months ago

    Is this just me or Linus has made a video for each and everyone of our doubts

  • Hooper 3k
    Hooper 3k 8 months ago

    Wait so overclocking your CPU, woun't shorten your Pc lifetime ?

    • Shaun Maddison
      Shaun Maddison Month ago

      You will need to upgrade before the cpu will die I overclocked my i5 for 6 year

  • Matthew Reimer
    Matthew Reimer 8 months ago

    Tunnel Bear!

  • kier martinez
    kier martinez 8 months ago

    i wanna switch my i3-7100 gtx 1050ti to an r3-1200 gtx 1050ti, at least i'm not stuck on upgrade 7th gen dead end path

  • generic name
    generic name 8 months ago

    Capcom don't go to 3? But what about megaman and streetfighter?

  • Adreno Gamer
    Adreno Gamer 8 months ago

    AMD IS THE NEW KING!!!!!!!!!!

  • Nabajeet Dutta
    Nabajeet Dutta 8 months ago +2

    Could u do a review on the ryzen 5 2400g please?

  • Nidhin Sajeev
    Nidhin Sajeev 8 months ago

    nitechs.blogspot.com/2018/11/ryzen-3-1200-details-is-it-worth-of.html?m=1

  • TheHellBG
    TheHellBG 8 months ago

    I have i7 2600 should i buy the ryzen?

  • FaZe_Catfish_
    FaZe_Catfish_ 8 months ago

    AMD > Intel
    NVIDIA > AMD

  • Enzo Bandou
    Enzo Bandou 9 months ago

    Guys, whats the lowest level version of Ryzen 3?

  • Owais Ahmed
    Owais Ahmed 9 months ago

    can it work with ddr3

  • ENBO YE
    ENBO YE 9 months ago

    amd yes intel no

  • Serpent115
    Serpent115 9 months ago +2

    1 like for the "team in blue f u'

  • Jonathan Soko
    Jonathan Soko 10 months ago +2

    i just bought a 1050 and ryzen 3 1200. This video made me feel comfortable about my being broke driving my purchase

  • XD VisionZ
    XD VisionZ 10 months ago

    Can ryzen 3 play fortnite with playable frames

  • Cholly Boy
    Cholly Boy 10 months ago

    Sad to say its not ryzen.... its athlon 200ge

  • Nexunbae
    Nexunbae 10 months ago

    Drivers?

  • ronn cano
    ronn cano 10 months ago

    Linus please notice me :(

  • AMIT NISHAD
    AMIT NISHAD 11 months ago

    can Gigabyte A320M s2h motherboard boot without RAM?
    i got ryzen 3 1300x, gigabyte ga A320m-s2h.
    but its not booting with cpu only.
    is there any solution?
    i want to test if my mobo is fine.

  • Pyro Gaming
    Pyro Gaming 11 months ago

    I’ve always way preferred intel thinking amd was scum but here I am building an amd pc

  • Pyro Gaming
    Pyro Gaming 11 months ago

    So if Ryzen 1 goes to war with Pentium,
    Will Ryzen -2 counter the Celeron
    And Ryzen -5 counters intel duo

  • Dany Peter
    Dany Peter 11 months ago

    Ur one of a tech master. I like your explaination. And I found out that 2 channels. Hmm

  • Baltho82
    Baltho82 11 months ago

    hi guys i need and advice i build 2 budget pc one is intell i5 75k with gtx 1060 gpu and 16 gb ram motherboard gigabyte z170mx and the next one is ryzen 3 12k with rx 580 gpu motherboard b350 and 16 gb ram one for gaming and one for streaming pls i just wanna know witch one i should keep for gaming witch one you guys think is better for gaming

  • smnsdndn dhs
    smnsdndn dhs 11 months ago

    low mhz ram.

  • 簡進輝
    簡進輝 11 months ago

    Asked what is only the 7th belt Am4 x4 350 Why not the 7th belt AM4 x4970 Everyone is looking forward to hearing from Taiwan agents Weibo said that you are amd planning why... What is the 7th belt AM4 x4970 everyone is very I look forward to your company's ability to take the 7th band AM4 x4970

  • negerito Pizza
    negerito Pizza 11 months ago

    now you have to remake intel linup video again, i7 has no hyperthreading

  • KHop_YT
    KHop_YT Year ago

    ryzen 999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 incoming, i just feel it