Samsung Galaxy Watch Active 2 review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 27, 2019
  • In all my years testing smartwatches, I've landed on a few favorites. There was a time when the Fitbit Versa claimed ownership of my wrist, and for a spell the Wear OS-based Skagen Falster 2 was my go-to. But lately, I've found myself returning to Samsung's Galaxy Watch Active. Over the years, Samsung has refined its smartwatch into a stylish, comfortable and capable wearable. And Tizen OS tends to be more responsive, proactive and useful than the software on many other watches.
    (We described the watch face sizes in millimeters when we meant to use inches. Sorry for the confusion)
    Read our full story on Engadget: www.engadget.com/2019/09/27/samsung-galaxy-watch-active-2-review-price-release-date/
    Get More Engadget:
    • Like us on Facebook: engadget
    • Follow us on Twitter: engadget
    • Follow us on Instagram: engadget
    • Read more: www.engadget.com
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 258

  • Paul Zee
    Paul Zee 11 hours ago

    Another horrible review, if you review a fitness watch YOU HAVE TO COVER ACCURACY of HRM, steps, gps etc.....

  • Dex4Sure
    Dex4Sure 5 days ago

    1.2mm and 1.4mm screens... i'd understand if you said it by mistake once or twice but when you repeat the same mistake 10+ times it makes you look very stupid...

  • MeatorDragon
    MeatorDragon 8 days ago

    this girl has 3inches of makeup

  • Marko Perković
    Marko Perković 8 days ago

    Use milimeters by default...metric measures are official in US since 70's but yeah, 4 square buckets make more sense overe there 😬😁

  • David N.F.
    David N.F. 9 days ago

    Would this be a good tracker for triathlon?

  • Vivek Vitthalrao Patil

    6:23 typical woman

  • Michael Artis
    Michael Artis 17 days ago

    I had this for a couple days then returned it. Even on the strong setting, the vibration is really weak.

  • JoelsterG4K
    JoelsterG4K 22 days ago

    Would this watch work on any Android phone? I have the one plus 7T.

    • JoelsterG4K
      JoelsterG4K 13 days ago

      @Neno Laura awesome, they have it on sale now for $250😃, im about to buy it.

    • Neno Laura
      Neno Laura 13 days ago

      Works with iOS and Android devices.

  • Tory Mihalik
    Tory Mihalik 22 days ago

    Great review !
    I thoroughly enjoyed your review.

  • Adrian Freiburger
    Adrian Freiburger 25 days ago

    How does it compare to the fitbit Ionic?

  • ak101farhan
    ak101farhan Month ago

    Millimetres in my opinion were a bit mixed up with your inches. 1.4"

  • rakesh ramesh
    rakesh ramesh Month ago

    I own a pixel 2 can I still respond to notifications from the watch?

  • Kevin Campbell
    Kevin Campbell Month ago

    I get 2 days from my Watch Active 2.

    • Kevin Campbell
      Kevin Campbell Month ago

      @rakesh ramesh Mine is paired with a Samsung device, but since both are Android devices you should be okay. I would definitely check first BEFORE you purchase.

    • rakesh ramesh
      rakesh ramesh Month ago

      Can I use it with a non Galaxy phone
      and still respond to texts and notifications?

  • julie thornborough
    julie thornborough Month ago

    📲*00212.645.75.23.01* *Whatapps*📲
    شـبـاب🙋‍♂️ صــار لــي بــقــرأ كـثـيـر مــن الــكــومــنــتــات عـن صــغــر الــقــضــيــب وســرعــة الـقـذف
    وأحـب أقـولـكـم بـمـعـلـومـة مـفـيـدة😉 أنـي حــصــلــت عـلـى وصـفـة رهـيـبـة مـن الــدكــتــور👨‍⚕️ الــلــي بــيــتــواصــل مــعــاه كــثــيــر مــن الـنـاس
    وبـصـدق اسـتـعـمـلـتـو كـم أســبــوع وصــار لـي قــضــيــب رهـيـب تـتـمـنـاه أي زوجــة😍
    هــذا رقــم الـدكـتـور عــلــى الـواتـس *00212.645.75.23.01*📲

  • Mohamed Diagne
    Mohamed Diagne Month ago

    You are cute

  • mike786551
    mike786551 Month ago

    This reviewer is always nagging and negative. Ugh

  • mike786551
    mike786551 Month ago

    The reviewer always gripes about products. She failed to mention or know that the 40mm version that she has has a 100mah smaller battery size!! Of course the battery life will not be as good. She should have reviewed the 44mm LMAO

  • Sneak Thief
    Sneak Thief Month ago

    Looks like the most useless thing ever, why not just use your phone and get a normal watch
    Come on people

    • Yolo Piop 2
      Yolo Piop 2 Month ago

      I prefer smart watches for health tracking. You can't really do that well on a phone. Notification are really nice, too

  • That one dude who posted stuff

    I'd rather have a week long battery life, ngl…

  • Steven De Anda
    Steven De Anda Month ago

    Night this thing on this part when and I already scratched it 😭

  • Eddie_OKC26
    Eddie_OKC26 Month ago

    Does anyone know if it'll be released in an LTE version any time this year?

  • 2good2be4gott
    2good2be4gott Month ago

    Can you store songs etc local?

  • Richi Varma
    Richi Varma Month ago

    When you asked Apple fan to review any other brand gadgets. This is the outcome.

  • Ryan
    Ryan Month ago

    It looks great and nice to see a review that points out the positives rather than concluding Apple watches are better. If it had better battery life I would be tempted since I love the Samsung 10 series and Tab S6.

  • Joshua Hiller
    Joshua Hiller Month ago

    DO NOT BUY I'VE HAD IT TWO WEEKS AND IT SCRATCHES SO EASILY HOLY SHIT I'D RETURN THIS IN A HEARTBEAT IF I COULD!

  • Akshansh Kumar
    Akshansh Kumar Month ago +11

    She clearly messed up between the metric and imperial units

  • DUBPGOON
    DUBPGOON Month ago +3

    Can you use Google play music?

    • Patrick
      Patrick 12 days ago

      No unfortunately, there's no Google app compatible

  • Darkwear GT
    Darkwear GT 2 months ago +1

    Girls dont know how to make reviews

  • Mel
    Mel 2 months ago +1

    I still love my gear s2

  • Hadi Ali
    Hadi Ali 2 months ago

    Which Garmin was that with the golden bezel?

  • John Bamber
    John Bamber 2 months ago

    So much detail. I actually enjoyed and appreciated this review enough that I felt compelled to give it a like, a tad uncommon for me.

  • Euan Tabamo
    Euan Tabamo 2 months ago +1

    1.2 mm screen HAHAHA

  • robinson raphael
    robinson raphael 2 months ago

    How can a watch count the respiration during any workouts? Its just a baseless claim... imo 》 useless tactics...
    Samsung refines the usefull features in all its products = thats their MOTO nowadays...

    • Umer Salman
      Umer Salman 26 days ago +1

      I mean... it probably can. There is usually a slight shift in cardiac output during inspiration when venous return rises to the heart. Increasing cardiac output and slight shift in heart rate. The watch probably can pick up those subtle variations. Physicians can do it if there is a pathology associated.

  • Avik
    Avik 2 months ago

    Is this review with the base mofel

  • Greg
    Greg 2 months ago

    I find it difficult to believe this girl works out.

  • empiirik
    empiirik 2 months ago +2

    It seems like another product presentation instead of proper review. Not a single word about GPS ability, one of the main technologies of a sports watch!

  • Manuel Elias
    Manuel Elias 2 months ago

    sure it looks and it probably is great... sadly I cant get the 4g lte version anywhere ughhhh.....

  • David Bozaan
    David Bozaan 2 months ago

    Very good review. Thank you!

  • C7
    C7 2 months ago

    Don't review any more SHIT until you know the measurements of a display screen LOL. such crap

  • Xman Jackson
    Xman Jackson 2 months ago

    Dose Samsung allow a watch trade towards the active 2 watch?

  • Srirag Pradip
    Srirag Pradip 2 months ago

    Does it have google maps?

  • cubeeism
    cubeeism 2 months ago +1

    WearOS will die because of the lagged Qualcomm SOC

  • teto
    teto 2 months ago

    God damn she sucks

  • morison morison
    morison morison 2 months ago

    Only i get day and half

  • JC12
    JC12 2 months ago +4

    after using mine for about 4-5 days my opinion is it is just okay. I like the look of the watch and the battery life is fine for me as i usually charge any of my smartwatches overnight any way. The os feels responsive. Coming from an apple watch I am a little disappointed because it is just no where near that standard and isn't nearly as "fun" to use. It works fine for what I use it for but some OS stuff feels unnecessarily clunky. For example I hate that i can't just swipe up to get rid of a notification immediately after i read it on my watch. I either have to hit the 3 dots and hit clear all or go back to the home screen, swipe over for notifications, then swipe up to dismiss. Also the stock watch faces offered are kind of meh. I am not asking for anything crazy. A simple analog or digital watch face that looks clean with date, time, battery %, and weather on it. Some of the watch face designs look kind of cheap. Ones I do like I can't seem to customize exactly how I want them.

    • Properso :D
      Properso :D 2 months ago

      Theres a store with watch faces. Also when you get notifications I think you can go to the bottom of it and dismiss from there

  • Daniel P
    Daniel P 2 months ago

    Still not as good as Apple Watch

    • SavageArfad
      SavageArfad Month ago +1

      The square screen is horrible on the apple watch.

  • Hibah Sadiq
    Hibah Sadiq 2 months ago

    Does anyone know whether you can receive and take calls on this watch?

  • Caz
    Caz 2 months ago +1

    I went with a Versa 2 over GA2. I think the GA2 has the best form factor on the market and it has the one thing I'm missing from my Fitbit, built in GPS. However, I need a watch that can handle 24-hour HR monitoring and last long enough for me to track my sleep without having to charge it mid-day or immediately after I wake up.. Garmin watches are ugly and the ecosystem is kinda awful. Wear OS watches like the Gen 5 and Vapor X are nice looking and full featured, but the OS needs work and they're all plagued by the same sub-par battery life. I thought about a Ticwatch, but they need another generation or so to perfect their product.

  • pranav703
    pranav703 2 months ago

    Still, it is light years behind Apple Watch!

    • Daniel P
      Daniel P 2 months ago

      Yeah . Samsung needs to step up their smartwatch game if they want to be better than apple

    • Red Harrison
      Red Harrison 2 months ago

      Nope

  • Abdullah Usman
    Abdullah Usman 2 months ago

    How does she not realise it when saying the 42mm model comes with a 1.2 mm screen? :'D

  • Brianna Hargett
    Brianna Hargett 2 months ago +8

    I'm sure RU-clip on the watch can be useful especially if you need both of your hands. If I dont know how to jump a car, let me RU-clip it. Now I can watch the video and use both of my hands. Just because it hasnt been done before, doesnt mean its useless.

  • ChandyTech
    ChandyTech 2 months ago +7

    Damn it misses MST... Samsung bring back MST..

  • Socity 13
    Socity 13 2 months ago

    I get 3 days on my galaxy watch. I'm good for rn.

  • BooBooYup
    BooBooYup 2 months ago

    how did you edit samsung pay out for long holding the back key? because the options you edited was double click not hold.

  • Eduardo A. Álvarez
    Eduardo A. Álvarez 2 months ago +1

    I love my Galaxy Watch, tizen os is great but I'd like to have better apps

  • Eduardo A. Álvarez
    Eduardo A. Álvarez 2 months ago

    Inches

  • Himanshu Raj
    Himanshu Raj 2 months ago +21

    There's something about circular watchfaces.

  • Dharmendar Negi
    Dharmendar Negi 2 months ago

    1:44 Dem that haptic engine :D

  • Ricardo Bohórquez
    Ricardo Bohórquez 2 months ago +1

    She and her reviews... Stinks....😴😴😴😴😴😴😴😴

  • Andrew U
    Andrew U 2 months ago

    Anyone else notice it looked like she was in Vtach?